Minister of Justice Award by Tw7269Hb


									           Frank Carrington Crime Victim Attorney Award – ABA Criminal Justice Section
Award Name: The award is designated the Frank Carrington Crime Victim Attorney Award. The late attorney Frank
Carrington had a tremendous impact on the crime victim movement in this country. Mr. Carrington founded and
served as Executive Director of the Victims Assistance Legal Organization (VALOR) in Virginia, was a Director of
the National Organization for Victims Assistance, and was a member of the California Attorney General’s
Commission on Victims. Following his service on the Attorney General’s Task Force on Violent Crime (1981), he was
appointed to the President’s Task Force on Victims of Crime (1982). From 1980-82, he was Vice-Chair of the ABA
Criminal Justice Section’s Victims Committee and was its Chairman in 1982-83 when the ABA approved a
comprehensive set of Guidelines for Fair Treatment of Crime Victims and Witnesses that subsequently served as a
significant basis for the reconsideration of the interests of victims by both state and federal governments.
Class of Individuals Qualifying for the Award: Awardees will be attorneys or legal service providers (including
organizations) who have either directly represented specific victims in criminal, juvenile, or appellate courts or who
have worked to promote or implement policies to improve the treatment of crime victims in the criminal justice
Detailed Criteria of Selection: Criteria for selection will consist of the following factors:
A. Contributions of the nominee over the course of the nominee’s career to improve the rights of crime victims in
   the system.
B. Contribution of outstanding legal scholarship or legal advocacy to improve the rights of crime victims in the
C. Provision of volunteer efforts to victims or efforts beyond the normal employment obligations.
D. Provision of leadership or major role in the advancement of the rights of crime victims in the system.
Nominating Procedures: Solicitation – Nominations shall be solicited through notice sent to Section membership
and placed in the Section’s electronic weekly newsletter, Leadership Connection; quarterly periodical, Criminal Justice
Magazine; and the Criminal Justice Section Newsletter. The call for nominations will also be sent to equivalent state bar
association criminal justice organizations, law schools, ABA Center for Pro Bono, National Legal Aid and Defenders
Association, the United States Office for Victims of Crime, equivalent state offices for victims of crime, and major
national crime victims’ organizations.
Nomination – Nominations should include a letter addressing the award criteria listed above, the nominee’s resume,
and any other supporting documentation of the nominee’s achievements in the criminal justice field, and sent to:
Stacey Brown, Membership/Marketing Associate, ABA Criminal Justice Section, 740 15th Street, NW, Washington,
DC 20005, Should no qualified candidate be identified in a particular year the
award will not be presented that year. Nominations are due December 17, 2012.
Persons Qualified to Submit Nominations: Nominations of qualified candidates will be received from any member
of the ABA.
Award Committee: All nominations shall be submitted to and reviewed by an award committee. Committee
members are not eligible to receive the award. The selection committee will submit the name of the prospective
nominee to the Council of the Criminal Justice Section for final approval.
Past recipients: 2008 Frank Carrington (posthumously)                   2011 Susan Herman, Brooklyn, NY
                 2009 Richard D. Pompelio, Whippany, NJ                 2012 Mary Haviland, Brooklyn, NY
                 2010 Jay C. Howell, Jacksonville, FL
Award Frequency: The award may be bestowed annually. However, there is no requirement that the award be
bestowed every year.
Award Description: The award shall be a crystal vase (individual memento) and a perpetual plaque which can be
displayed, from the date of the presentation of the award until the next award is given, at a suitable public location
(e.g. a courthouse, library or law school). The recipient will have costs defrayed to attend the meeting at which the
award will be presented.

To top