Your Federal Quarterly Tax Payments are due April 15th Get Help Now >>

Ecosystem-based Management DGS by s2939Sm

VIEWS: 6 PAGES: 6

									Ecosystem-based Management DGS
Over the last decade there have been a wide range of efforts to
implement ecosystem management in various systems (e.g., the
Everglades, the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem, the Interior Columbia
Basin, The Serengeti-Mara Ecosystem, the Great Barrier Reef). While
there have been several recent reviews of ecosystem management,
these have not been quantitative or deeply analytical. We employed a
distributed graduate seminar model, used successfully in previous
NCEAS activities, to synthesize and analyze information regarding past
ecosystem-based management efforts (e.g., explicit goals, key
elements and sequencing of the process, institutional attributes,
implementation, degree of integration of science and decision-making,
and outcomes. Faculty and graduate students from seven universities
collaborated to assess successes and failures, evaluate why particular
efforts succeeded and failed, and, importantly, identified lessons
learned for management of coastal-marine systems. Locally,
participants in each seminar collaborated to synthesize data for a
particular example of ecosystem-based management and to develop a
database of EBM activities and attributes. A final working group
meeting, involving 43 graduate students and faculty members from
each university was held at NCEAS in February of 2005 to conduct a
grand synthesis of information from all case studies.

Participant Universities:

      Ben Gurion University, Israel
      Florida International University
      University of New Hampshire
      University of Queensland, Australia
      University of California, Santa Barbara
      University of Washington
      Virgina Institute of Marine Science

Ben Gurion University, Israel

Faculty

Moshe Shachak, PhD
Professor, shachak@bgumail.bgu.ac.il

Avi Perevolotsky, PhD
Professor, avi@agri.gov.il
Graduate Students

Efrat Sheffer
Graduate student – Mitrani Department of Desert Ecology,
efratshe@bgumail.bgu.ac.il

Moran Segoli
PhD student – Mitrani Department of Desert Ecology,
levymora@bgu.ac.il

Henri Rueff
PhD student – Mitrani Department of Desert Ecology, rueff@bgu.ac.il

Yuval Berger
Graduate student – Mitrani Department of Desert Ecology,
bergeryu@bgu.ac.il


Florida International University

Faculty

Dan Childers
Associate Professor, Department of Biology, Southeast Environmental
Research Center, childers@fiu.edu

Graduate Students

Jeff Wozniak
PhD Student – Biology, wozniak@fiu.edu

Bryan Dewsbury
MS Student – Biology, juice_berry@yahoo.com

Patrick Gibson
MS Student – Biology, gibsonp@fiu.edu

Chuck Goss
MS Student – Biology, cgoss001@fiu.edu

David Green
MS Student – Biology, david.green@fiu.edu
David Iwaniec
MS Student – Biology, iwaniecd@fiu.edu

Kathryn Stanaway
MS Student – Environmental Studies, kathryn.stanaway@fiu.edu

University of New Hampshire

Faculty

Andy Rosenberg
Professor of Natural Resources Policy and Management EOS
Department of Natural Resources, andy.rosenberg@unh.edu

Jeb Byers
Assistant Professor, Department of Zoology, jebyers@cisunix.unh.edu

Graduate Students

Jamie Leff
PhD Student – NRESS, jleff@cisunix.unh.edu

John Meyer
PhD Student – NRESS, jjmeyer@unh.edu

Erika Zollett
PhD Student – NRESS, ezollett@yahoo.com

Sarah Teck
Graduate Student – Zoology, steck@unh.edu

Irit Altman
Graduate Student – Zoology, irit.altman@unh.edu

University of Queensland , Australia

Faculty

Hugh Possingham
Professor, Director, The Ecology Center, hpossingham@zen.uq.edu.au

Gradute Students
Kerrie Wilson
PhD Student – Environmental Science, k.wilson2@uq.edu.au

Michael Bode
Graduate Student – Spatial Ecology, mbode@maths.uq.edu.au

Vanessa Adams
Fulbright Scholar, v.adams@uq.edu.au

University of California, Santa Barbara

Faculty

Sandy Andelman
Principal Investigator/Faculty Leader, Deputy Director,
National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis,
andelman@nceas.ucsb.edu

Steve Gaines
Professor / Faculty Leader, Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology,
Director, Marine Science Institute, gaines@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Christopher Costello
Assistant Professor / Faculty Leader, Bren School of Environmental
Science and Management, costello@bren.ucsb.edu

Organization

Josh Metz
PhD student – Bren School of Environmental Science, EBM Graduate
Seminar Coordinator, metz@nceas.ucsb.edu

Shaun Walbridge
EBM Project Information Manager, National Center for Ecological
Analysis and Synthesis, walbridge@nceas.ucsb.edu

Graduate Students

Sarah Abramson
Graduate Student – Bren School of Environmental Science,
abramson@nceas.ucsb.edu
Katie Arkema
Graduate Student – Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology,
arkema@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Sarah Lester
PhD Student – Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology,
lester@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Elizabeth Madin
PhD Student – Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology,
madin@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Julio Lorda
Graduate Student – Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology,
lorda@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Thomas Young
Graduate Student – Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology,
young@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Sean Watts
PhD Student – Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology,
watts@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Robin Pelc
Graduate Student – Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology,
pelc@lifesci.ucsb.edu

University of Washington

Faculty

Julia Parrish
Associate Professor, Department of Biology,
jparrish@u.washington.edu

Terrie Klinger
Assistant Professor, School of Marine Affairs,
tklinger@u.washington.edu

Jennifer Ruesink
Assistant Professor, Department of Biology, ruesink@u.washington.edu

Graduate Students
Kirsten Evans
Graduate Student – School of Marine Affairs,
evanske@u.washington.edu

Kirstin Holsman
PhD Candidate – School of Aquatic and Fisheries Sciences
kkari@u.washington.edu

Summer Morlock
Graduate Student – School of Marine Affairs,
smorlock@u.washington.edu

Virgnia Institute of Marine Science

Faculty

Carlton Hershner
Professor, Director, Center for Coastal Resources Management,
carl@vims.edu

Chris Pyke
Global Change Research Program, National Center for Environmental
Assessment, pyke.chris@epa.gov

Graduate Students

Lindy Dingerson
Graduate Student, lynne@vims.edu

Matt Strickler
Graduate Student, mjstri@wm.edu

Jie Huang
Graduate Student, maryh@vims.edu

Funded by The David and Lucile Packard Foundation

								
To top