Pub. 248 (2-12)
Table of Contents
I: How Did I Get Here? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
II: How Points Add Up . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
III: Safe Driving Tips and Information . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
IV: Making Safe Driving Decisions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
V: Summary: Protecting Your Driving Privilege. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17
VI: Test Procedures . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18
I. How Did I Get Here?
About the Special Point Examination
If you have six (6) or more points on your driving record for the first time, Pennsylvania
law states you must take and pass a written Special Point Exam. You must pass this
exam within 30 days of notification by PennDOT to keep your driving privilege. The
exam tests your knowledge of information and concepts contained in this study guide.
PennDOT’s goal is to help you improve your driving to avoid future violations.
Steps you must take:
1. Study the information in this guide; review and answer the sample questions to test
2. Schedule your exam at www.dmv.state.pa.us or by calling 1-800-523-5542 and have
the following documents with you when you report for the exam:
• Official Notification Letter and/or Restoration Requirement Letter
• Valid or expired driver’s license or other acceptable proof of identification
3. Take and successfully pass the exam.
4. Obey the law, make better driving decisions, and drive safely.
Only you can earn your way out of points on your license!
II. How Points Add Up
Pennsylvania Driving Laws
The Pennsylvania Vehicle Code sets rules for obtaining a driver’s license. It also
defines violations, points for violations, and sanctions. Sanctions include exams,
hearings, and suspension of driving privilege.
PennDOT administers the rules established by law. PennDOT does not have the
authority to change the penalties imposed by law for individuals committing violations.
The Pennsylvania Point System
PennDOT maintains detailed records for all drivers convicted of violations in
Pennsylvania, whether or not they possess a PA driver’s license.
Records show that drivers who must take the Special Point Examination typically have
two, 3-point violations. Speeding is the most common violation. For speeding violations,
points range from two (2) to five (5), depending on the number of miles per hour (mph)
traveled above the posted speed limit. For example, driving six (6) to 10 mph over the
posted speed limit results in two (2) points on your driving record, and driving 11 to 15
mph over results in three (3) points. Any driver in PA who acquires six (6) or more
points for the first time, regardless of the type of violation, is required by law to take a
Special Point Examination.
The chart below shows the most common violations and the number of points added to
a driver’s record for each violation committed:
VIOLATION VEHICLE CODE NUMBER OF POINTS
Exceeding maximum speed 3362 2 to 5
Failure to stop for a red light 3112(a)(3)(i) 3
Failure to stop for stop sign 3323(b) 3
Driving too fast for conditions 3361 2
Improper passing 3307 3
Failure to yield 3322 3
Two years after getting his license, This example shows how Joe Driver
Joe Driver was convicted of his first reached six (6) points and why he
violation, speeding 12 mph above the was required to take the Special Point
posted speed limit. PennDOT added Examination.
three (3) points to his record. If Joe Driver does not take and pass
Six months later, Joe failed to yield at the Special Point Examination within
a YIELD sign and PennDOT added three 30 days, PennDOT will send a notice to
(3) more points to his record. Because him telling him that his driving privilege
Joe reached six (6) points on his driving will be suspended in 30 days. If he still
record, PennDOT sent him a written notice does not take the exam, his driving
to take a Special Point Examination. privilege will remain suspended until
●●● he takes and passes the exam and
pays a restoration fee.
Consequences of Your Point Total: Exams, Hearings and Suspensions
PennDOT takes corrective action based on violations and point totals. (The next
section of the study guide explains how to reduce your point total.) There are three
categories of sanctions:
Examinations include the Special Point AVOID THE
Examination, required when a driver’s record SUSPENSION HOLE
reaches six (6) or more points for the first time. If you do not take and pass the
Drivers who receive a Special Point Special Point Examination within
Examination notification letter and this study 30 days of notification, PennDOT
guide have 30 days, from the date of the
will begin the process of
notification letter, to pass the exam. Drivers who
suspending your driving privilege.
pass the Special Point Exam within 30 days of
If you are convicted of driving
notification receive a two (2) point credit on their
while suspended, PennDOT
driver records. PennDOT will suspend the
will suspend your driving
driving privileges of drivers who do not take
and pass the exam within 30 days of notification privilege for one year.
until they pass the exam.
A second type of examination, the Special On-Road Driver’s Examination, may be
required when a driver’s record is reduced below six (6) points and then for a second
time reaches six (6) or more points, or a driver is convicted of a high speed violation.
A Departmental Hearing requires a driver to meet with a PennDOT Examiner. Drivers
receive a written notice detailing the date, time and location of the hearing. The
Pennsylvania Vehicle Code defines several types of hearings and possible outcomes,
depending on a driver’s violation(s), point total, and driving record:
• A Type II Hearing occurs when a driver’s record is reduced below six (6) points
and then because of additional violations and points, again reaches six (6) or
more points. Possible penalties include a 15-day suspension of driving privilege,
a Special On-Road Driver’s Examination, and a knowledge test. A driver who
is convicted of another point violation within 12 months of passing the Special
Point Examination will be required to attend a Type II Hearing.
FAILING TO ATTEND A TYPE II HEARING WILL RESULT IN A
60-DAY SUSPENSION OF YOUR DRIVING PRIVLEGE.
• A Type III Hearing is required when a driver’s record is reduced below
six (6) points and, for a third or subsequent time, reaches six (6) or more points.
A possible outcome includes a 30-day suspension of driving privilege.
FAILING TO ATTEND A TYPE III HEARING WILL RESULT IN
A SUSPENSION OF YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGE UNTIL YOU
ATTEND THE HEARING, SURRENDER YOUR LICENSE
AND PAY A RESTORATION FEE.
• A High Speed Hearing occurs when a driver is convicted of traveling 31 mph
or more over the posted speed limit. Possible outcomes include a 15-day
suspension of driving privilege, a knowledge test, and/or the Special On-Road
Driver’s Examination. A driver under age 18, traveling 26 mph or more over the
posted speed limit, will receive an automatic suspension of at least 90 days.
FAILING TO ATTEND A HIGH SPEED HEARING WILL RESULT
IN A 60-DAY SUSPENSION OF YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGE.
A suspension of driving privilege, commonly known as a License Suspension, is
imposed when a driver fails to attend an exam or hearing as ordered, when a driver’s
record reaches 11 or more points, or when a driver is convicted of driving under
suspension. Also, convictions for unsafe driving practices, such as those listed below
result in an automatic suspension:
• Failure to stop for a school bus with flashing red lights
• Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs
• Exceeding the speed limit in an active work zone by 11 miles or more
• Fleeing from a police officer
• Racing on highways
REMEMBER: IT IS AGAINST THE LAW TO DRIVE
WHILE YOUR LICENSE IS SUSPENDED.
If your driving privilege is suspended, it is very important to surrender your driver’s
license or acknowledge your suspension. If you fail to do so, you will not earn credit
toward your suspension. Not driving while suspended is important, but not the only
thing you need to do. You must acknowledge the suspension!
Point Removal for Safe Driving and Sanction Compliance
As required by law, PennDOT imposes sanctions on drivers who commit violations.
The law also provides drivers with ways to reduce the number of points on their
records. The only way to reduce point totals are listed in the chart below.
Sample Situations When Points are Removed from a Driver’s Record
SITUATION POINTS REMOVED
A driver passes the Special Point Examination within 30 days
of notification by PennDOT.
Exception: If a driver is suspended or pending suspension, 2
the two (2) point deduction would be applied after serving the
A person drives 12 consecutive months (from the date of the
last violation) without a violation that results in points, license 3
suspension, or revocation
When a driver successfully passes the Special Point Examination within 30 days of
notification, PennDOT will remove two (2) points from the driver’s record. If the driver
continues to drive violation-free, he or she will eventually regain a “clean” driving record
of zero (0) points. Once a driving record is reduced to and remains at zero (0) points
for 12 consecutive months, any further accumulation of points is treated as the first
accumulation of points.
Safe driving earns you a point-free record – it’s up to you!
This example shows how Jane Driver reduced the points on her driver’s record through
Five years after getting her driver’s license, Jane Driver was convicted
of failure to stop for a red light. PennDOT added three (3) points to
Jane’s driving record. Since the violation, Jane drove safely with no
further violations. Once 12 months passed since the violation date,
PennDOT removed three (3) points from her driving record.
Jane Driver now has no points on her driving record.
Common Misunderstandings about the Pennsylvania Point System
Many drivers are unaware of how their actions will affect their driving privileges. Below
are some common misunderstandings:
YOU MIGHT SAY… …BUT REMEMBER:
You should act now! You must pass the Special Point
Examination within 30 days of notification from
PennDOT. If not, PennDOT will suspend your driver’s
“I’ll worry about the Special license until you pass the exam. Driving under
Point Exam later.” suspension is against the law and could result in a
one-year license suspension. Pass the exam and
avoid the suspension hole!
If you pass the Special Point Examination within
30 days of notification, PennDOT will remove two (2)
“I passed the Special Point points from your driver’s record. But remember, just
Exam, now what?” one more violation within the next 12 months will
trigger a Type II Hearing and a possible 15-day
If your driver’s license is suspended, you must
surrender it to PennDOT. Credit for a suspension
will not begin until you surrender your license to
“But I thought I already
PennDOT and receive a confirmation. Driving under
served my suspension!”
suspension is against the law, whether you have
surrendered your license or not. Driving under
suspension could result in additional suspensions.
Yes! By law, you must notify PennDOT of your new
address within 15 days of moving. Call PennDOT
or file a change of address at PennDOT’s website
“I’m moving, do I need to
(www.dot.state.pa.us). Providing a forwarding address
to the U.S. Postal Service does not relieve you of your
obligation to notify PennDOT directly – the U.S. Post
Office will not forward PennDOT correspondence.
Finally, it is also important to note, insurance companies have their own standards for
how long convictions are considered when setting insurance rates. Safe driving will
save you money, and not just on your insurance rates, but in gas, wear and tear on
your vehicle, avoiding fines and other ways.
III. Safe Driving Tips and Information
In 2009, there were nearly 14 reportable crashes every hour, on average, and more
than three (3) people were killed in those crashes every day in Pennsylvania. In fact,
vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for everyone between the ages of one
(1) and 34. Vehicle crashes are within the top five (5) causes of death for all other age
Speeding and Aggressive Driving
FACT Thousands of drivers die each year in speed-
Studies show that speeding related crashes in the U.S. Speeding reduces a
is a contributing factor driver’s ability to handle curves and move around
in 30 percent of obstacles. It takes longer to stop a vehicle that is
all fatal crashes. moving at higher speeds. Do your part to save
lives by obeying posted speed limits.
Aggressive drivers change lanes frequently, tailgate other drivers, speed, and become
frustrated with other drivers. This combination can be dangerous and even deadly. Plan
ahead so that you do not feel pressured to drive aggressively. Here are some helpful
tips when you see aggressive drivers:
• Let aggressive drivers pass you; do not challenge aggressive drivers by
• Do not make eye contact with aggressive drivers
• Ignore gestures and do not gesture back
• If necessary, call the police, if you can do it safely
• If an aggressive driver follows you, drive to the nearest police station
Cell Phones and Other Driving
Studies show the key to Drivers can become distracted in many ways.
driving safely is keeping Cell phone use is a very common distraction.
your eyes on the road. Dialing, talking, texting and listening hurt your
ability to focus on the road. Hands-free cell phones
may seem safer, but recent studies show they are
not. These studies show that conversation distracts your brain from the task of driving
and slows your reactions to hazards.
Research shows that if you text message while driving, your risk of crashing increases
by more than 20 times compared to non-distracted drivers. At 55 mph, a texting driver
can travel the length of a football field without looking at the roadway. Pennsylvania
adopted a new law - effective March 8, 2012 - that bans any driver from texting while
driving. The penalty is a $50 fine, plus costs.
Here are some more facts about risks of cell phone use while driving:
• Dialing a cell phone makes you 2.8 times more likely to crash than a
• Talking and listening on a cell phone makes you 1.3 times more likely to crash
than a non-distracted driver.
• Reaching for a cell phone or other electronic device makes you 1.4 times more
likely to crash than a non-distracted driver.
Remember: Anything that takes your focus from the road is dangerous. There are
many more distractions inside and outside the vehicle than just a cell phone. Driving is
not a time to multi-task – lives depend on you remaining focused on the task of driving
and doing so safely.
Distracted drivers often do not react to dangerous conditions until it is too late. Even
the most alert and attentive drivers take about one and a half seconds to recognize and
react to a hazard – at 55 mph, you travel about 120 feet in that time. Be safe, plan
ahead, and focus on the task of driving when behind the wheel.
Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs
The penalties for driving while under the influence
of alcohol or drugs are severe. In Pennsylvania, if
you are of legal drinking age (21 or older), you are
considered to be driving under the influence (DUI) Every 40 minutes and nearly
if your blood alcohol count (BAC) is .08 or higher. 40 times a day, someone
You also may be convicted of DUI at lower BAC in the U.S. dies in an
levels, if police stop you for driving erratically. alcohol-related crash.
Pennsylvania’s Implied Consent law says that just
by being licensed to drive in Pennsylvania, you
have agreed to take a chemical test, if the police arrest you for driving while under the
influence of alcohol or drugs. If you refuse to take one or more chemical tests of breath,
blood, or urine, your driving privilege will be automatically suspended for a minimum of
If you are under age 21, Pennsylvania's law prohibits the use of alcohol, and doing
so can result in a DUI conviction.
Medications can also seriously affect your ability to drive safely. Talk to your doctor
or pharmacist and follow all precautions when taking prescription drugs or over-the-
counter medications. You can be convicted of DUI even if you are on prescribed
Seat Belts and Child Safety Seats
Seat belts save thousands of lives each year. They reduce injuries by preventing
occupants from being thrown from the vehicle. By law, all drivers and front seat
passengers in Pennsylvania must wear seat belts. Seat belts should fit snugly and
properly over your shoulder and hips.
By law, child seats must be properly installed for
FACT all children under the age of four (4). Children
aged four (4) to under eight (8) must be buckled
Drivers thrown from their into an approved booster seat. Passengers
vehicles in a crash are 25 between the ages of eight (8) and 18 must wear
times more likely to die. a seat belt, no matter where they ride in the
Some of the most deadly crashes occur when a driver falls asleep at the wheel.
Even drowsy drivers have an increased crash risk. It takes longer to react and make
decisions when you are tired. Make sure you are well rested before driving.
Tips for Young and New Drivers FACT
Among all age groups, young drivers have the
highest risk of being involved in and dying from a Traffic crashes are the
crash. Lower seat belt use, distracted driving and leading cause of death
driving under the influence of alcohol all contribute for teenagers in the U.S.
to this increased risk.
Research also shows the more passengers in the car with a new driver, the greater
the crash risk.
Young drivers can reduce their likelihood of crashes and injury by:
• Always wearing a seat belt
• Not using a cell phone or text messaging while driving
• Avoiding any amount of alcohol
• Traveling with a fewer number of passengers
Tips for Older Drivers
About 13 percent of the U.S. population is age 65 or older. As people grow older,
vision and hearing, physical agility, and intellectual skills important to safe driving may
decline. Thus, older drivers are encouraged to:
• Attend special training events for older drivers
• Talk with family, partners, and friends about safe driving options
• Find a comfortable vehicle that fits their needs
• Self-assess their driving abilities over time
• Consult a driver rehabilitation specialist for a formal assessment
• Talk with their doctor about medical conditions that may affect driving
Overall, regular assessments of one’s fitness to drive and open discussions with
family and friends about mobility options will help older drivers make sound decisions
concerning their transportation needs.
Special Driving Situations
Pennsylvania laws help make the roads safer. Avoid fines and do your part to keep
yourself and other drivers safe.
Steer Clear Law
Police, fire, or other emergency personnel may be near the roadway. By law, you must
move into a lane that is not next to the emergency response area. If you cannot move
over, you must reduce your speed. Failure to move over or slow down can result in a
summary offense that carries a fine of up to $250. In addition, fines will be doubled for
traffic violations occurring in work zones areas. If that violation leads to a worker being
injured, a 90-day driver’s license suspension could result.
Headlight and Windshield Wiper Law
By law, any time you use your windshield wipers, you must turn on your headlights and
taillights. Daytime running lights are not enough. Motorists who do not comply with the
law could face a fine of $25, but with fees and other associated costs, the penalty could
Snow and Ice Removal Law
Remove all snow and ice from your vehicle before driving. This is important for good
visibility and safety. Snow or ice that falls from a moving vehicle can cause injury or
death to pedestrians and other motorists. By Pennsylvania law, the operator of the
vehicle from which the snow or ice came could face a fine of $200 to $1,000 for each
Violations in work zones often carry heavier penalties including higher fines and
driver’s license suspensions. Fines will be doubled for traffic violations occurring in
work zone areas. Also, remember that you must turn your headlights on when driving in
an active work zone no matter what time of day. Daytime running lights are not enough.
IV. Making Safe Driving Decisions
This section shows examples of situations that require you to make safe driving
decisions. Making safer driving decisions will help you avoid crashes, violations and
additional sanctions. Read each scenario and answer the question that follows. In each
scenario, you are Driver X. Answers and explanations are on p. 17. The Special Point
Examination includes similar scenarios that test your knowledge of safe driving
Look at the situation shown below in Diagrams A1 and A2.
Assume that you are Driver X.
Situation: You (Driver X) see a green light while coming to an intersection. Driver Z is
coming to the intersection from the opposite direction. The light turns yellow, and Driver
Z turns into the intersection. At the same time, you and Driver Y are hurrying to get
through the intersection before the light turns red. Driver Z sees you coming and stops
in the middle of the intersection. You swerve to the right to avoid hitting Driver Z. Driver
Y crashes into you.
Question: TRUE or FALSE:
You should have decided to stop the moment the light turned yellow.
Look at the situation shown below in Diagrams B1 and B2.
Assume that you are Driver X.
Situation: Driver Z is speeding up on an entrance ramp to the highway and has the left
turn signal flashing. Driver Y wants to exit the highway and has the right turn signal
flashing. You (Driver X) attempt to exit and turn sharply from the left lane toward the
exit. Driver Z hits the brakes to keep from hitting you. Driver Y crashes into Driver Z.
Question: TRUE or FALSE:
Your decision to pass in front of Drivers Z and Y to exit the highway was
the most unsafe act in this situation.
Look at the situation shown below in Diagrams C1 and C2.
Assume that you are Driver X.
C1 C2 W
Situation: You (Driver X), Driver Y, and Driver Z are following a truck uphill on a two-
lane highway. Driver Y decides to try to pass you and Driver Z before the no passing
zone begins near the top of the hill. Driver W appears suddenly at the top of the hill.
By this time, Driver Y is in the left lane and you have narrowed the gap with Driver Z.
Driver Y reacts to Driver W by trying to return to the right lane, but crashes into you.
Question: TRUE or FALSE:
You acted safely in this situation.
Look at the situation shown below in Diagrams D1 and D2.
Assume that you are Driver X.
Situation: Driver Y is traveling in the right lane and notices a work zone sign indicating
that the right lane will end soon. You (Driver X) are traveling in the left lane about even
with Driver Y. Driver Z is following closely behind you. Driver Y signals and turns toward
the left lane, but puts on the brakes, seeing that you are not slowing down. You and
Driver Z maintain your speed as the road narrows. Driver Y has no choice but to
swerve back to the right and skids into the traffic cones that mark the lane closure.
Question: TRUE or FALSE:
Because Driver Z was following right on your bumper, the safest driving
decision you could make was to maintain your speed as Driver Y tried
to move in front of you.
Answers To Safe Driving Scenarios
EXAMPLE A: TRUE.
When you (Driver X) first saw the light turn yellow, you had not yet entered the
intersection. Your choices were to “go for it” or to slow down and try to stop. This
decision should have considered the movement of Driver Z and the fact that Driver Y
in the lane next to you had you “boxed in.” There would be no room to maneuver if
Driver Z turned. In this situation, “driving smart” means that you recognize at least two
things that increase the chances of a crash. First, if you don’t stop when the light turns
yellow, you and Driver Z will try to pass through the intersection before the light turns
red. Second, the signal turning from green to yellow may lead Driver Z to assume that
you will stop. Driver Z is more likely to make the turn and less likely to yield to you.
This does not excuse the unsafe decision of Driver Z to turn across your path, but it
shows how your decision to stop could have avoided the crash.
EXAMPLE B: TRUE.
Even though you (Driver X) escaped a crash, your unsafe and illegal decision
increased the chances of a crash between Drivers Z and Y. You should have
considered this before you decided to turn across the path of Driver Y. The example
stresses the need to recognize possible traffic conflicts with any vehicles, not just your
own. Although you managed to avoid a crash in this example, the next time may be
different. Driver Z could speed up to avoid Driver Y and end up crashing into you.
Think about these possibilities before a dangerous situation arises.
EXAMPLE C: FALSE.
Although Driver Y caused the crash, you (Driver X) could have been more aware of the
situation and reacted accordingly. Once Driver Y began to pass, you could have slowed
down to allow the person to return safely to your lane. Other drivers could have made
safer decisions as well. Driver Y could have anticipated the no passing zone and
waited for a safer place to pass. Driver W could have slowed down so that the other
drivers would have more time to react. Driver Z could have sped up to allow more
space for Driver Y. As this example shows, the chances of a crash are greatly reduced
when all drivers work together to make safe driving decisions.
EXAMPLE D: FALSE.
Even though Driver Y made an unsafe driving decision, you (Driver X) contributed to
the crash by deciding to maintain your speed. Although Driver Z was following close
behind, you could have attempted to slow down carefully to allow Driver Y to pass
safely. Monitor your surroundings and help other drivers avoid crashes through safer
driving decisions. If all drivers work together, next time it could be you that is saved
from a crash.
For more information on any of these topics, refer to the Pennsylvania Driver’s Manual
or visit www.DriveSafePA.org.
V. Summary: Protecting Your Driving Privilege
The previous sections provide information about Pennsylvania driving laws, the
Pennsylvania Point System, and tips for safer driving. In summary, you should:
PASS THE SPECIAL POINT EXAMINATION.
1 Remember that you have 30 days from the date of notification from
PennDOT to pass the Special Point Examination. Study the information
in this guide to prepare for the exam.
UNDERSTAND THE PENNSYLVANIA POINT SYSTEM.
2 Learn the details of the Pennsylvania Point System to see how certain
violations affect your driving privilege.
AVOID THE SUSPENSION HOLE.
3 The most common way that drivers earn multiple suspensions is by not
responding to PennDOT correspondence. Pay attention to PennDOT
letters and closely follow all instructions.
LEARN THE SAFE DRIVING TIPS.
4 Many crashes and fatalities occur because the driver was speeding,
distracted, tired, and/or under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Pay
attention to the safe driving tips. Learn from the example scenarios and
make safe driving decisions.
DRIVE SAFELY AND EARN A POINT-FREE DRIVING RECORD.
5 You must pass the Special Point Examination because of your past
violations. By passing the exam and continuing to drive safely, you can
eventually earn your way out of the point system.
VI. Test Procedures
How to Schedule Your
Examination Appointment DrIVErS wITH
The Special Point Exam is given by SPECIAl nEEDS
appointment only. You can make an
appointment in one of two ways: If you require a version of the
examination that is spoken, offered
1. Schedule your exam online at: in Spanish, given using sign
www.dmv.state.pa.us language, or given in other
languages contact PennDOT
immediately to make an
OR appointment and discuss
2. Call 1-800-423-5542 PHONE: 1-800-932-4600
TDD (in PA): 1-800-228-0676
TDD (non-PA): 1-717-391-6191
Arrive at the examination location 15 minutes early. A PennDOT Driver Safety
Examiner will give the exam. Upon arrival, you must show the Driver Safety Examiner
• Your notification letter or restoration requirements letter
• Your driver’s license
If you do not have a valid driver’s license, you may bring another form of identification
from the following list:
• Other photo ID card or photo welfare card
• Military, bank, employee, or school photo ID or out-of-state driver’s license
• Passport, citizenship or naturalization papers, or weapons permit
• Medicare card, voter’s registration, vehicle registration, Pennsylvania Learner’s
Permit, or Temporary Driver’s License
If you arrive late, you will not be permitted to take the examination. No one but you
may enter the examination room. Children are not permitted. No one under the
influence of alcohol or drugs will be admitted. Eating, drinking and smoking are not
allowed at the examination location.
About the Examination
PennDOT will provide the exam materials, including the examination
booklet, answer sheet, and pencils. The examination will contain 20
questions. For each question, you will read a statement and be asked to
indicate whether it is TRUE or FALSE based on your knowledge of the
information in this study guide. You may take up to 45 minutes for the
You will not be permitted to use this study guide or any other notes during
the examination. Talking is not allowed during the examination. You may
not leave the room during the examination. If the Driver Safety Examiner
feels you are disruptive or cheating, you will fail the exam and must leave
After you finish the examination, you must return your answer sheet
and examination booklet to the Driver Safety Examiner.
All Special Point Examination questions are based on the information in
this study guide.
Review the following sample test questions. The format of these questions
is similar to what you will see on the actual Special Point Examination.
1. TRUE or FALSE: If a driver does not pass the Special Point
Examination within 30 days of notification from PennDOT.
PennDOT will send them another letter informing them that their
license will be suspended. (Answer: TRUE)
2. TRUE or FALSE: Driving while tired has no effect on the risk of
a serious crash. (Answer: FALSE)
You should also expect TRUE or FALSE questions that are based on
driving scenarios similar to those found in this study guide.
Scoring and Results
The PennDOT Driver Safety Examiner who gives the exam will score it for
you after you finish. If you pass within the allotted timeframe, PennDOT
will remove two points from your driver’s record. If you fail, you must
reschedule your examination using the same instructions found above.
You must still pass the exam within 30 days of notification from PennDOT
or you will be notified that your driver’s license will be suspended. You may
not take the exam again on the same day.
Study this guide, pass the exam.
Drive safely, earn a point-free driving record.
It’s up to you!