Learning Center
Plans & pricing Sign in
Sign Out
Get this document free

Media Relations Office


									Media Relations Office                    Washington, D.C.            Media Contact: 202.622.4000                                                   Public Contact: 800.829.1040

                  IRS Announces New Advisory Council Members
      IR-2011-125, Dec. 27, 2011

      WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service today announced the selection of
      seven new members to the Internal Revenue Service Advisory Council (IRSAC), which
      provides an organized public forum for IRS officials and representatives of the public to
      discuss key tax administration issues.

      Members are selected to represent the tax-paying public, tax professionals, small and
      large businesses, and the payroll community. The council provides the IRS
      commissioner and division leadership with important feedback, observations and

      IRSAC meets periodically and will submit a report to the agency in November 2012 at a
      public meeting. IRSAC members generally serve three-year terms with a possible one-
      year extension. The seven new members will join 17 returning members in 2012.

      The new members are:

      John G. Ams, JD, of Alexandria, Va., is an Executive Vice President and Chief
      Operating Officer for the National Society of Accountants (NSA). He is responsible for
      all operations and provides information, education and guidance to his membership
      regarding IRS regulations and administrative concerns, including the new IRS tax return
      preparer requirements. He has presented testimony to IRS on numerous occasions and
      most recently testified in support of Circular 230 proposed regulations, where he raised
      a number of implementation concerns.

      Tara Anthony of Detroit is a Manager/Tax Practitioner for Popular Ventures. She is a
      chartered tax professional and has completed courses in individual and small business
      income tax preparation. She works with seniors and low income taxpayers in a large
      urban metropolitan area, and assists students with their tax filing requirements and tax

      Linda S. Harding, CPA, of Alachua, Fla., is a Director of Tax for CPAmerica
      International, a national association of independent CPA firms. She is a member of the
      American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), and a member of the AICPA
      Tax Policy and Legislation Committee and the Florida Institute.
Fred F. Murray, JD, CPA, of Washington, D.C., is a Managing Director with Grant
Thornton, LLP, U.S. member of Grant Thornton International. He is a recipient of the
2010 Grant Thornton Tax Outstanding Performance Award. He is an Adjunct Professor
of Law at Georgetown University Law Center and is a member of the American Bar
Association (ABA), Committee on Administrative Practice (Chair 2009-2011). He is a
Fellow of the American Law Institute, and a member of the American College of Tax
Counsel, AICPA and the Federal Bar Association.

Paul O’Connor, LLM, JD, CPA, of Billerica, Mass., is the Vice President, Head of U.S.
Tax for EMD Millipore Corp. He has 32 years in taxation in the technology, software,
and bioscience fields. For more than two decades, he has been chief tax officer for
Millipore Corp. (now EMD Millipore, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Merck KGaA,
Darmstadt, Germany), a company engaged in bioscience research, chemical and
pharmaceutical production. He is a member of Tax Executives Institute (TEI) and
served as the International President from 2010-2011.

Andre’ L. Re, of McDonough, Ga., is the owner of Andre’ L. Re. He is a tax consultant
and has represented large and medium size corporations before the IRS regarding
complex issues at the group and Appeals level. He worked as a VITA volunteer and
has assisted taxpayers with offers in-compromise, installment agreements and other
individual and small business tax issues.

Janeen Ryan, EA, of Aurora, Colo., is the owner of Janeen Ryan. She is the Past
President of the Colorado Society of Enrolled Agents (COSEA) 2009 and 2010 and is a
current member of the board. She is a member of the National Association of Enrolled
Agents (NAEA) and Public Accountants Society of Colorado (PASC).

The 2012 IRSAC Chairman is Christopher Riley, CPA, of Decatur, Ill. Riley served as
vice-chair of IRSAC for 2011. He is the Director, State Government Relations for Archer
Daniels Midland Co. He specializes in Excise Tax, Employment Tax, Foundation and
Partnership Returns, including its participation in the IRS’s Compliance Assurance
Process (CAP) program. He is a member of Tax Executives Institute and previously
served as Chair of its IRS Administrative Affairs Committee. For more information on
IRSAC, please visit the Tax Professionals page on

   Related Items:

         IRSAC Members Deliver 2011 Public Report


To top