Austin Texas Dwi Lawyers by KusnulMarudin

VIEWS: 11 PAGES: 2

More Info
									DWI is treated as a serious crime in Texas. Texas DWI-DUI laws provide
for punishment that includes significant fines, jail time, license
suspension

The Legal Limit in Texas .08 BAC In Texas the legal limit for
intoxication is .08 blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Although the limit
is .08, any driver can be stopped and cited for impaired driving due to
alcohol or other drugs regardless of BAC. Texas If you are under 21, it
is illegal to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol. Any amount of
beer, wine or liquor will trigger the penalties that typically include
(1) 30-day driver’s license suspension (2) up to a $500 fine (3) 8 to 12
hours of community service

What can happen when you're stopped by an officer who suspects your are
DWI.
A law enforcement officer may ask you to do a field sobriety test and/or
take a breathalyzer .A breathalyzer is used to measure how much alcohol
is in your system,

DWI Penalties --- First Offense:
• up to a $2,000 fine
• 72 hours to 180 days in jail
• driver’s license suspension: 90 days to 1 year

DWI Penalties ----- Second Offense:
• up to a $4,000 fine
• 30 days to 1 year in jail
• driver’s license suspension: 180 days to 2 years

DWI Penalties ----- Third Offense:
• up to a $10,000 fine
• 2 to 10 years in penitentiary
• driver’s license suspension: 180 days to 2 years


Under 21
If you are under 21, it is illegal to drive with any detectable amount of
alcohol. Any amount of beer, wine or liquor will trigger the penalties
that typically include (1) 30-day driver’s license suspension (2) up to a
$500 fine (3) 8 to 12 hours of community service.

If you’re under 21, the mere possession of alcohol is illegal. Penalties
that can be imposed include
• 60-day driver’s license suspension
• up to a $500 fine
• 20 to 40 hours of community service
• mandatory attendance in alcohol-awareness classes

A second offense leads to greater penalties.
Over 17 and DWI

If you are over 17 and you are DWI (driving while intoxicated) ie. your
BAC is .08 or higher, penalties under the Texas DWI can include:
• up to a $2,000 fine
• 72 hours to 180 days in jail

driver’s license suspension of 90 days to one year

source : http://www.austin-tx-dwi-attorney.com/view/General-Articles/DWI-
News/TEXAS--DWI----LAWS/

								
To top