What Every Elevator Owner Needs to Know Licensing and Inspection Information The Laws of Florida have changed concerning ownership of an elevator or other type of vertical conveyance in the State of Florida. The Florida Legislature made certain revisions to Chapter 399, Florida Statutes, known as the Florida Elevator Safety Act, in recent years that require the owner/operator ensure the elevator meets all safety requirements on an annual basis. It is now the owner’s direct responsibility to schedule an annual safety inspection to ensure the safe operation of their elevators before obtaining a Certificate of Operation. In previous years, the Bureau of Elevator Safety conducted all required inspections; this is no longer the case. Elevator maintenance companies now complete the required annual safety inspections and tests, upon request of the elevator owner/operator. Each elevator owner/operator is responsible for ensuring that their elevator is in compliance with the Elevator Safety Code. Your elevator inspector or service company can explain the inspection process and required tests. The required annual safety inspection must be completed by a Florida Certified Elevator Inspector. Inspection Reports can be submitted electronically or by mail. A list of Florida Certified Elevator Inspectors can be found online on the department's public records page. Elevator Inspection Reports (DBPR Form HR 5023-003) may also be found online on the division's forms and publications page. Chapter 399, Florida Statutes, specifically Sections 399.061 and 399.07, explain the requirements for annual inspections, correction of violations, and payment of fees in order to be licensed. You may view the statute online from our administrative rules and statutes page. Two factors can prohibit license renewal: a failed annual inspection and/or non-payment of fees. A current satisfactory inspection for safety must be completed within the previous 12 months and contain no violations. Please note: a failed inspection containing violations must be corrected within 30-days of the inspection and a re-inspection or callback inspection must be performed. Remember, to become a licensed elevator operator in the State of Florida you must: 1. Pay the annual fee. 2. Have a current, annual satisfactory inspection performed by a certified elevator inspector. A link to the website for the Florida Bureau of Elevator Safety is located in the box located at the bottom right on the National Elevator Services “Customer Resources” page.
Pages to are hidden for
"What Every Elevator Owner Needs to Know"Please download to view full document