Civil Rights Movement � Timeline

Document Sample
Civil Rights Movement � Timeline Powered By Docstoc
					Civil Rights Movement – Timeline
1948 – Truman signs law to desegregate in the armed forces

1954 – landmark case, Brown vs Board of education – unanimously agreeing that
segregation in public schools is unconstitutional.

1955 – NAACP member Rosa Parkes refuses to give up her seat in a bus in
Montgomery, leading to a successful year long bus boycott by the black community.

1956 – Victory for the bus boycott and desegregation of buses in Montgomery

1957 – ‘Little Rock Nine’ students are blocked from entering a formerly ‘white only’
Central High School by State Troops. US president Eisenhower sends in The National
Guard to support the students action.

1960 – Student sit-ins at Lunch counters and public places

1961 – ‘Freedom Riders’, on interstate buses in the South, test out the new laws
prohibiting segregation.

1963 – Protests marches against segregation in Birmingham get international attention
when the police use police dogs and hoses against civil rights protesters.

1963 – March on Washington – Martin Luther King delivers ‘I have a dream speech’

1964 – ‘Freedom Summer’ – civil rights movement to register black voters.

1964 – Civil Rights Act comes into law, prohibiting discrimination in public places..

1965 – Selma to Montgomery March to support voting rights. Attacked by police.
‘Bloody Sunday’

1965 – Voting Rights Act passed. Tests used to restrict black voting are made illegal.

1968 – Martin Luther King is shot.

Shared By: