DOC - The Minnesota Hospital Association - Welcome to Minnesota

Document Sample
DOC - The Minnesota Hospital Association - Welcome to Minnesota Powered By Docstoc
					NEWS RELEASE                                                   CONTACT: Jan Hennings, APR
Jan. 27, 2009                                                  o) (651) 641-1121 or
                                                               c) (612) 804-2250

  Northwest Medical Center leader named to
       Minnesota Hospital Association board
                Jodie R. Torkelson is also TRF city administrator

ST. PAUL, Minn. — Thief River Falls city administrator Jodie R. Torkelson, who is also
a board member of MeritCare Thief River Falls Northwest Medical Center, was recently
named to the Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA) board of directors.

The organization represents Minnesota’s hospitals and health systems.

The hospital association depends on wise leadership from members like Torkelson, said
MHA President and CEO Lawrence Massa.

“Jodie is a dedicated health care executive with a valuable expertise,” Massa said. “We
know her insights and skills will only add to Minnesota hospitals’ tradition of

Torkelson has an extensive background in public and nonprofit service, medical center
materials said. Before moving back to her hometown of Thief River Falls, Torkelson was
the vice president and chief operating officer of the Children’s Defense Fund in
Washington, D.C. There, she directed a multi-million dollar fund-raising operation while
overseeing fiscal and general matters.

Before that, Torkelson was the chief of staff and senior advisor to the director of the
Voice of America. The organization’s radio network broadcasts news and information
worldwide in 53 languages. While there, Torkelson directed the introduction of
broadcast-quality television into the organization, and she managed VOA’s transition into
an independent federal agency, materials said.

Torkelson joins five other new members of the 31-member hospital association board.
All of the new 2009 board members are:

Standing Director
      Kenneth Paulus, president and COO of Allina Hospitals & Clinics of
At-Large Directors
    Daniel D. Odegaard, CEO of Bigfork Valley Hospital
    Rachelle Schultz, president and CEO of Winona Health
Regional Directors
      Carl Vaagenes (Region 3), CEO and president of St. Gabriel’s Hospital in Little
    Frank Lawatsch (Region 5), CEO of Swift County-Benson Hospital
Trustee Director
      Torkelson

The complete 2009 board roster is available at
Most MHA board members serve two three-year terms.

The Minnesota Hospital Association is a trade association representing Minnesota’s
hospitals and health systems.


Minnesota Hospital Association, 2550 W. University Ave., Suite 350-S., St. Paul, Minnesota
55114-1900; (651) 641-1121; Fax: (651) 659-1477;

Shared By: