Document Sample
3-110926_PresentationofEFFLAforERAC Powered By Docstoc
					       European Forum on Forward Looking Activities (EFFLA)
                        Update for ERAC

1. Creation of EFFLA

The flagship initiative "Innovation Union", adopted by the Commission in October
2010 and endorsed at the European Summit in February 2011, announced the
creation of a European Forum on Forward Looking Activities (EFFLA) to bring
together existing studies and data and involve public and private stakeholders to
improve the evidence base of policies.

The European Forum on Forward Looking Activities (EFFLA) was launched in
Brussels on 23 September 2011. Its next meeting will take place in Warsaw, on 16-
17 November 2011.

2. Objectives

      Advise the Commission on the early identification of emerging or disruptive
       grand societal challenges;
      Within the selected grand challenges: detect the missing research and
       innovation challenges;
      Detect the needs for further forward looking activities;
      Advise the European Commission on how to embed forward looking activities
       in (R&I) policymaking.

3. Governance

The Forum brings together a set of high-level experts and decision makers from
academia, industry, government, European and international organisations, NGOs
and think tanks, with very diverse profiles, able to mobilise the best available
expertise and interact with broader networks.
EFFLA is animated by a dedicated Bureau interacting with the Sounding Board and a
wider circle of Invited members (experts and stakeholders). The Bureau and the
Sounding Board have permanent members, whereas the invited members will
change according to specific needs.

The Bureau consists of a Chair and 10 high-level experts. It ensures the interface
between the Commission and the Forum. The Sounding Board has 15 members,
including representatives of European and international organisations and
associations. They meet with the Bureau two to four times per year to debate in-
depth the selected forward looking activities and contribute to the recommendations.
The Group of Invited Members consists of maximum fifteen experts selected when a
particular expertise is required for topics in a meeting's agenda.
The Bureau is chaired by Prof. Peter Piot (BE), Professor of Global Health and
former Executive Director of UNAIDS (1995-2008). The other Bureau members are:
    Dr. Charlotte Brogren (SE)
    Prof. João Caraca (PT)
    Prof. Luke Georghiou (UK)
    Dr. Riikka Heikinheimo (FI)
    Prof. Michal Kleiber (PL)
    Dr. Philippe Kourilsky (FR)
    Prof. Athena Linos (GR)
    Ms. Gill Ringland (UK)
    Dr. Horst Soboll (DE)
    Dr. Matthias Weber (AT)

The Sounding Board members are:
    Mr. Jeremy Bentham (UK)
    Prof. Rob de Wijk / Prof. Valerie Frissen (NL)
    Dr. Kerstin Cuhls (DE)
    Mr. Geoff Mulgan (UK)
    Dr. Barrie STEVENS (INT)
    Mr. Peter Paul VAN DE WIJS (INT)
    Mrs. Joke van den BANDT-STEL (NL)
    Prof. Rolf HEUER (CH)
    Mr. Brian AGER (UK)
    Mrs. Elisabeth MONARD (BE)
    Prof. Jean-Marc RAPP (FR)
(more members are still being appointed)

There is for the moment one external expert:
    Dr. Teresa Ribeiro (INT)

4. Output

Concise and sharp briefs will be addressed to the Commissioner and the cabinet. A
work plan for these briefs is now being discussed by EFFLA.

The European Forum on Forward Looking Activities will issue "Future Horizons", a
series of briefs aimed at becoming a reference for the communication of outstanding
results from forward looking activities to European decision makers.

The Forum will also publish a short annual report and will decide on other reports
regrouping the outcome of specific workshops.


Shared By: