Spain Spain Geographically

Document Sample
Spain Spain Geographically Powered By Docstoc

Geographically separated from continental Europe by the Pyrenees, Spain is one of the
oldest inhabited regions on the planet.
Colonized, invaded and ruled by many cultures over the centuries, its survived its share
of military dictatorships and internal war to become one of the major players on the
world stage.
Spain is famous for bullfights, the resorts of the Costa del Sol, flamenco dancing, great
food and weather, museums, the stylish cities of Barcelona and Madrid, a wide variety of
wines, and of course...the friendly, gregarious Spanish people.

Spain, justifiably so, enjoys a very positive reputation with worldwide travelers, and is
one of (if not the) most visited country.

The Spain pages are currently being revised, but you can find additional information
about this fascinating country

Quick Facts and Figures

 Official Name Kingdom of Spain
 Capital City Madrid (5.13 million)
 Languages Castilian (official), plus the (3) recognized regional languages of Basque,
               Catalan and Galecian
 Latitude/Longitude 40° 00'N, 4° 00'W
 Official Currency: the Euro,
 Religions Catholic
 Population 41,547,000
 Land Area 499,440 sq km (192,584 sq miles)
 Landforms Spain is dominated by a central, elevated plateau (The Meseta), averaging
2,000 ft. (610m). It's surrounded by mountains.
In the northeast the Pyrenees (with many peaks over 9,000 ft.) form Spain's border
with France and the rest of Europe. The lower Cantabrian Mountains cover the
northwestern coastal areas.

To the immediate north of Madrid, the Sierra de Gredos and Sierra de Guadarrama
mountain ranges stretch from Portugal to the Mediterranean Sea.
In the south, the Sierra Morena and Sierra Nevada ranges dominate the landscape. The
highest point is Mt. Mulhacen, at 11,408 ft. (3,482m).

Major rivers include the Douro, Ebro, Guadiana, Guadalquivir and Tagus
 Land Divisions 19 autonomous communities, including: Andalucia, Aragon, Asturias,
Baleares (Balearic Islands), Ceuta, Canarias (Canary Islands), Cantabria, Castilla-La
Mancha, Castilla y Leon, Cataluna, Communidad Valencian, Extremadura, Galicia, La
Rioja, Madrid, Melilla, Murcia, Navarra, and Pais Vasco (Basque Country).

Shared By: