Learning Center
Plans & pricing Sign in
Sign Out

France France The French Republic or France French République


The French Republic or France (French: République française or France) is a country
whose metropolitan territory is located in Western Europe, and which is further made up
of a collection of overseas islands and territories located in other continents.[1]
Metropolitan France extends from the Mediterranean Sea to the English Channel and
North Sea, and from the Rhine River to the Atlantic Ocean. Because of its shape,
Metropolitan France is known by Frenchmen as "the Hexagon". It is bordered by the
United Kingdom (land border inside the Channel Tunnel), Belgium, Luxembourg,
Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Monaco, Andorra, and Spain. The French Republic also
shares land borders overseas with Brazil, Suriname, and the Netherlands Antilles.

France is a democracy organised as a unitary semi-presidential republic. It is a developed
country with the fifth-largest economy in the world in 2004.[2] Its main ideals are
expressed in the Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen. France is one of the
founding members of the European Union, and has the largest land area of all members.
France is also a founding member of the United Nations. It is one of the five permanent
members of the United Nations Security Council wielding veto power, and it is also one
of only eight acknowledged nuclear powers.

The name France comes from the Franks, the Germanic tribe that occupied the region
after the fall of the Roman Empire, and, more precisely the region around Paris called Île-
de-France which was the centre of the French royal dominion.

While the main territory of France (metropolitan France; French: la Métropole, or France
métropolitaine) is located in Western Europe, France is also constituted from territories in
North America, the Caribbean, South America, the western and southern Indian Ocean,
the northern and southern Pacific Ocean, and Antarctica (sovereignty claims in Antarctica
are not recognised by most countries, see Antarctic Treaty System).

Metropolitan France possesses a large variety of landscapes, ranging from coastal plains
in the north and west, where France borders the North Sea and the Atlantic Ocean, to the
Pyrenees mountains in the south-west and the Alps in the south-east, the latter containing
the highest point in western Europe, Mont Blanc at 4810 m. In between are found other
elevated regions such as the Massif Central, the Jura, the Vosges, or the Ardennes which
are quite rocky and forested, as well as extensive river basins such as those of the Loire
River, the Rhône River, the Garonne and Seine.

Due to its numerous overseas departments and territories scattered on all oceans of the
planet, France possesses the second-largest Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) in the
world, covering 11,035,000 km² (4,260,000 mi²), just behind the EEZ of the United
States (11,351,000 km² / 4,383,000 mi²), but ahead of the EEZ of Australia (8,232,000
km² / 3,178,000 mi²).[3] The EEZ of France covers approximately 8% of the total surface
of all the EEZs of the world, whereas the land area of the French Republic is only 0.45%
of the total land area of the Earth.
Eugène Delacroix - La liberté guidant le peuple, Liberty leading the People, a symbol of
the French Revolution of 1830

The borders of modern France roughly align with those of the ancient territory of Gaul,
inhabited by Celts known also as Gauls. Gaul was conquered by the Romans in the first
century BC, and the Gauls eventually adopted Roman speech and culture. Christianity
also took root in the second and third centuries AD. Gaul's eastern frontiers along the
Rhine were overrun by Germanic tribes in the fourth century AD, principally the Franks,
from whom the ancient name of "Francie" derived. The modern name "France" derives
from the name of the feudal domain of the Capetian Kings of France around Paris.
Existence as a separate entity begins with the division, in 843, of Charlemagne's
Carolingian empire into eastern, central and western parts. The eastern part (which would
soon unite with the central portion as the Holy Roman Empire) can roughly be regarded
as the beginnings of what is now Germany, the western part, that of France.

Charlemagne's descendants ruled France until 987, when Hugh Capet, Duke of France
and Count of Paris, was crowned King of France. His descendants, the Capetian, Valois
and Bourbon dynasties unified progressively the country within the royal dominion after
a sequence of wars and dynastic inheritance. The monarchy reached its height during the
17th century and the reign of Louis XIV. At this time France had a tremendous influence
over the European politics, economy and culture. France was then the most populous
state in Europe and the third in the World after China and India (see Demographics of
France). The monarchy ruled France until 1792, when the French Revolution established
the French First Republic. Napoleon Bonaparte seized control of the Republic in 1799,
making himself First Consul. In the course of several wars, his armies conquered many
countries and established new kingdoms, with Napoleon's family members being
appointed as monarchs. Following his defeat in 1815, the French monarchy was re-
established. In 1830, a civil uprising established the constitutional July Monarchy
followed by the Second Republic in 1848. The short-lived Second Republic ended when
the late Emperor's nephew, Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte, was elected President and
proclaimed a Second Empire in 1852. Louis-Napoléon was ultimately unseated following
the Franco-Prussian war in 1870. The Third Republic was then established.

Although ultimately a victor in both World War I and World War II, France suffered
extensive losses in its empire, comparative economic status, population, and status as a
dominant nation state. After World War II, the Fourth Republic was established. In 1958,
the current semi-presidential Fifth Republic was established under the leadership of
General de Gaulle.

In recent decades, France's reconciliation and cooperation with Germany have proved
central to the political and economic integration of Europe, including the introduction of
the Euro in January 1999. France has been at the forefront of European states seeking to
exploit the momentum of monetary union to advance the creation of a more unified and
capable European political, defence and security apparatus. However its population voted
against ratification of the European Constitutional Treaty in May 2005.

To top