Docstoc

One nj car insurance

Document Sample
One nj car insurance Powered By Docstoc
					Chapter One




 The New Jersey Driver   Miss. Panno

    License System
        Objectives
Students will be able to summarize and
      explain following topics:
    The NJ Driver License System
       Digital Drivers License
     Commercial Drivers License
       6 point ID Verification
     Graduated Drivers License
   •Legal name changes MUST be reported to
                the MVC within 2 weeks.

 • Legal residence changes must be made
                    within 1 week.

•To get a basic driver’s license you must
          be 18 years of age.

 •When going for a road test, a driver who
    has been licensed for 3 years must
  accompany the driver. This person must
            also be over 21 years old.


 •If you possess a license from out of state,
you have 60 days to apply for a New Jersey
    license, or until the out-of-state license
                     expires.
PG: 6-7
             Digital Driver License



• http://abclocal.go.com/wabc/video?id=8125235
•In 2004 NJ stopped using laminated paper licenses
• DDL Has Two Dozen security features
• Motorists under 21 are issued a distinctive vertical-format
  DDL
• An Altered DDL can result in loss of driving privileges &
  $1000 fine
• Getting a license illegally can result in loss of driving license, a
   fine of $200-$500, and imprisonment of 30 to 90 days
                                                         PG: 8
              RESTRICTIONS
Restrictions on licenses appear on license in a coded form
  Restrictions include:
     • 1 - Corrective Lenses

     • 2 - Prosthetic Device
     • 3 - Mechanical Device
     • 4 - Hearing Impaired
     • 5 - Attached Restrictions
     REQUIRED DOCUMENTS




•     Motorist MUST always carry a valid driver or probationary
•      license, a current vehicle registration and proof of valid
•      liability auto insurance while operating a vehicle on New
•      Jersey roadways
•      http://www.ehow.co.uk/video_2201793_pulled-over-driver_s-
    license_.html
•   If you move from out-of-state into New Jersey you have up
    to 60 days to apply for a new license. Commercial drivers
    have 30 days.
   TYPES OF LICENSES


Can you come of with 7 different
    types of driver licenses?
      TYPES OF LICENSES (cont.)

   Class D: Basic Driver License. For all types of motor vehicles
    except motorcycles.
   Class A, B, C: Commercial Driver License. Driving lager trucks,
    buses, and vehicles that move hazardous materials.
   Class E: Motorcycle License. Class M if Driver holds a Basic
    License
   Class F: Moped license. For unlicensed drivers 15 and older. Not
    needed if driver already has class A, B, C, D, or E license.
   Class G: Agricultural license. Farming purposes only. May obtain
    at 16 and 17
   Boating License which doesn't have a class. Only needed in non-
    tidal water
                                                                 PG: 9
       Commercial Driver License
               (CDL)
   There Are Three Classes of a Commercial License: A,
    B, C
   Class A: Necessary for tractor trailers or any truck over
    with a (GCWR) of 26,001 pounds or more
   Class B: Necessary for any vehicle with a (GVWR) of
    26,001 pounds or more
   Class C: Necessary for any vehicle with a (GVWR) of
    less than 26001 pounds, used & placarded to transport
    hazardous material
   PG: 24 - 25
         Lost or Stolen Licenses
What do you do if your license is lost or stolen?




  If your license is lost or stolen you report it to the
  Police. To obtain a new license go to an MVC agency.
  Your new license will be labeled as a duplicate.
                                  •Class E
   •Class A,B,C                   •Holder must have basic drivers license
   •Large trucks, buses, HAZMAT   •Class M if holder already holds a Basic
                                   Driver License




                                      •Motorboats in non tidal waters
•Class G
                                      •16 years old
•Holder must 16-17 years old
Brainstorm words you associate with
           car accidents

                 CAUSE
                   #1




      CAUSE      CAR      CAUSE
        #2
              ACCIDENTS     #3




                 CAUSE
                   #4
               The 6 Point I.D
             Verification Program
   In order to obtain your driving permit you must have
    identification that total up to 6 points.
   They must verify your age, name, address, and social
    security number (SSN).
   Such as your birth certificate, social security, passport,
    or your citizenship.
       At Least One Primary Document
       At Least One Secondary Document
       At Least Six Points of ID
       Proof of Address
PG: 11
  Examples of Primary Documents



• Valid Birth Certificate (4 points)
• US Passport current or expired less than 3 years (4 points)
• Current NJ Digital Driver License (4 points)
• Current NJ Digital non-driver ID card (4 points)
• Current NJ Digital Boat license (4 points)
• US adoption papers (4 points)
  Examples of Secondary Documents




• Civil marriage, domestic partner, or civil union certificate issued by the
municipality where the ceremony occurred (3 points)
• Ordered or decree of divorce, dissolution or termination (3 points)
• Court order for legal name change, signed by judge or court clerk (3 points)
• US School photo ID card with transcript or school records (2 points)
• US College photo ID card with transcript (2 points)
• Bank statement or record (1 point - CANNOT use more than 2 of these)
• Social Security Card (1 point - CANNOT use more than 2 of these)
Examples of Proof of Address




 • Utility or credit card bill issued in past 90 days
 showing your name at current address
 • Checking or savings account statement from a
 bank or credit union issued in the past 60 days
 • High school or college report card containing
 your address within the past 2 years
 • If you are under 18 a parent or guardian
 certification that verifies you are living with a
 parent or guardian
Graduated Driver
License Program
   GDL Roll Call Video
Graduated Driver License (GDL)
   Presents driving privileges for first-time drivers
    and applicants that are under 21 years old.
   Available to applicants who are 17 years old and
    passed MVC's knowledge and vision tests
     Step 1 – Get a Special Learners Permit
     Step 2 – Practice With An Adult Supervising Driver

     Step 3 – Get a Probationary License

     Step 4 – With A Probationary License

     Step 5 – Get The Basic Driver License
    PG: 16 - 17
    Special Learners Permit Driving
              Restrictions
   No driving between 11:01 PM – 5:00 AM
   Drivers may not use hand held electronic devices. Passengers
    must be from the driver's household. One friend may be allowed
    to take a ride
   Everyone is required to wear a seatbelt under GDL holders must
    be accompanied by an Adult Supervising Driver, in the front
    seat, who has a valid NJ driver license, be at least 21 years old
    and licensed for 3 years. All student examination permit
   Passengers are limited to any parent, guardian, or dependent of
    the special permit holder and one additional passenger
   Must display decals on license plates
PG: 20 - 21
    Examination Permit Restrictions
   Available to any NJ resident who is at least 17 years old and is not
    in suspension status. No driving between 11:01 AM – 5:00 AM.
    Passengers should be from the driver's household along with one
    more friend. If permit holder is 21 years of age or older, passenger
    and hour restrictions do not apply.
   All examination permit holders must be with a supervising driver,
    in the front seat, who has a valid NJ driver license with three years
    of driving experience, and is at least 21 years old. Drivers must
    not use any hand held devices. Seat belts are a must.
   Passengers are limited to dependents of the permit holder and one
    additional passenger unless accompanied by a parent/guardian
   Must display decals on license plates
                                                                PG: 20 - 21
         Probationary Driver License
                 Restrictions
   Available to any NJ resident who is at least 17 years old and is not
    in suspension status. No driving between 11:01 AM – 5:00 AM.
    Passengers should be from the driver's household along with one
    more friend. If permit holder is 21 years of age or older, passenger
    and hour restrictions do not apply.
   All Probationary Permit holders must be with a supervising
    driver, in the front seat, who has a valid NJ driver license with three
    years of driving experience, and is at least 21 years old. Drivers
    must not use any hand held devices. Seat belts are a must.
   Passengers are limited to dependents of the permit holder and one
    additional passenger unless accompanied by a parent/guardian
   Must display decals on license plates
                                                                  PG: 20 - 21
             GDL Exemptions
   GDL drivers under 21, all hours-related
    exemptions for employment or religious
    reasons must come with a legible certification
    to confirm this need on the letterhead of
    employer organization or religious institution,
    with signature of certifying official above title,
    address and telephone number.
                                                PG: 20 - 21
Getting a Special Learners Permit
   Must be at least 16 years old
   Must have signed parent or guardian consent
   Must be enrolled in approved behind-the-wheel driving
    training course through the NJ Department of
    Education or Commercial Driving School
   Must pass MVC's knowledge & vision tests
   Must pay required fee

                                                     PG: 21
             Kyleigh’s Law




http://www.redlasso.com/ClipPlayer.aspx?id=acd7c
  983-2a78-4fa0-8d46-ac9f0172ea27
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9SMfzhPeygA
Changes in Graduated Driver License

         GDL changes effective May 1, 2010
   GDL Drivers under age 21 who possess a permit or
    probationary license are required to use decals
   All permit or probationary (formerly provisional)
    drivers under age 21 must display a reflectorized decal
    on the top left corner of each license plate (front/back)
    of any motor vehicle they operate
       Non-Driver ID & Hearing
        Impaired Designation
 Individuals 17 years old or        Special license for
  older, who does not possess         hearing impaired is
  a valid drivers license may
                                      provided by MVC
  apply for a non-driver
  identification card.
 Must Show Proof of Age

 Must Provide 6 Points of ID
  Verification
 Must be surrendered when
  Individual receives a License
PG: 24
    Commercial Driver Exemptions
   Taxi drivers, ride-sharing van drivers, funeral
    procession drivers, operators of rescue, first-aid
    squad or firefighters apparatus, farmers hauling
    their own products & equipment within 150
    miles of their farms, non-civilian operators of
    military equipment & operators of construction
    equipment not designed for operation on public
    roads are exempt and need not apply for a
    commercial driver license.
   PG: 25

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Categories:
Tags:
Stats:
views:7
posted:4/9/2012
language:English
pages:28