Docstoc

Informational Websites for Job Seekers

Document Sample
Informational Websites for Job Seekers Powered By Docstoc
					                                                                                                     
                                           Updated: June 07, 2011                                    
                 Informational Websites for Job Seekers
                                   
General Career Search Sites (Legal & Non-Legal)                                 Job Hunt on

AAR/EEO – Affirmative Action Register – aarjobs.com
AllStarJobs.com – jobs.allstarjobs.com/index.php
America’s Job Bank – jobbankinfo.org
Attorney Job Store – attorneyjobstore.com
Attorney Jobs – attorneyjobs.com
BCG – bcgsearch.com/joblistings.php
Best Jobs USA – bestjobsusa.com 
Beyond Hearsay – http://www.beyondhearsay.com/
Career Builder Network – careerbuilder.com
Career.com – career.com
Career City – careercity.com                                        REGIONAL JOB POSTINGS
Career Magazine – careermag.com                                     ON TWITTER:
Career Rookie – careerrookie.com 
Chambers Associate – chambers-associate.com                         twitter.com/LawJobsNewYork
Counsel Net – counsel.net                                           New York legal jobs (#1)
C-Span Interactive Employment Network – c-span.org
Daily Journal – dailyjournal.com                                    twitter.com/jobs_NY_Legal
DICE – dice.com                                                     New York legal jobs (#2)
Employment Guide – employmentguide.com
FindLaw Employment Listings – careers.findlaw.com                   twitter.com/nyclegaljobs
Glass Door – glassdoor.com                                          New York City legal jobs (#3)
GoInHouse – goinhouse.com 
                                                                    twitter.com/Jobs_SF_Legal
Goliath Jobs – goliathjobs.com
                                                                    San Francisco (and nearby
Headhunters.com – headhunters.com
                                                                    area) law jobs
Heiros Gamos – hg.org
Hot Jobs – hotjobs.yahoo.com                                        twitter.com/socalLawCareers
Indeed – indeed.com                                                 Southern California Career
Idealist – idealist.org                                             Opportunities in Law
Internships USA – internships-usa.com                               (Chapman Law students &
JD Huntr – jdhuntr.com                                              alums: This may be especially
JD Job List – jdjoblist.com                                         relevant to you!)
Job Bank USA – jobbankusa.com
Job Circle – jobcircle.com                                          twitter.com/jobs_sat_Legal
Job Fox – jobfox.com                                                Washington state legal jobs
Job Hunt – job-hunt.org
Job Hunters Bible – jobhuntersbible.com                             twitter.com/jobs_DC_Legal
Job Thread – jobthread.com                                          Washington, DC legal jobs
Job Web – jobweb.org
Jobing – jobing.com                                                 GENERAL JOB SITES ON
The Ladders – theladders.com
Jobs Law 360 – jobs.law360.com/jobseeker/jobs.aspx                  TWITTER:
Law Ladders – law-jobs.theladders.com                               twitterjobsearch.com 
Law Match – lawmatch.com                                            jobshouts.com/ 
Legal Employment Search – legalemploy.com                           jobangels.org/ 
LawCrossing – lawcrossing.com
Law Employment Center – lawjobs.com
Law Forum, The – lawforum.net
Law Info Center – lawinfo.com
Law Jobs – lawjobs.com
Law Link – lawlink.com/index.aspx
Legal Jobs Post – legaljobspost.com
Legally Minded – jobs.legallyminded.com
Legal Staff – legalstaff.com
Lexis-Nexis Jobs – lexis-nexis.com
Los Angeles Bar Career Center – lacba.legalstaff.com
Los Angeles Times (Job Section) – latimes.com/classified/jobs/
Martindale-Hubbell – martindale.com
Monster Board – monster.com
MonsterTrak – monstertrak.com
NALP – nalp.org
National & Federal Legal Employment Report – attorneyjobs.com
NationalJob, Inc. – nationjob.com
Net-Temps – net-temps.com
Now Hiring – nowhiring.com
Posse List – posselist.com
Real Match – realmatch.com
Simply Hired – simplyhired.com/
Simply Law Jobs – simplylawjobs.com
Smart Brief Jobs – jobs.smartbrief.com/action/seekerviewindustries
Summer Clerk – summerclerk.com
Tip Top Job – tiptopjob.com
USA jobs – usajobs.opm.gov
Vault – vault.com
Wall Street Journal Career Center – careerjournal.com
Yahoo! General Employment Index – yahoo.com

ADR & Mediation

American Arbitration Association – adr.org 

Alternative Careers

 General Sources for Alternative Careers
Chapman CSO Resources – chapman.edu/law/career/students/resources/jobSearch.asp
O*NET – online.onetcenter.org/
                                                               What is an “alternative career”?
Opportunity Knocks – opportunityknocks.org
The Riley Guide – rileyguide.com                               An alternative career is any job that
The Thomson Corporation – thomsoncareers.com                 does not follow the “traditional” path of
WetFeet – wetfeet.com                                         the law school graduate in practicing
                                                                         law (and not just as litigators).
 Accounting & Tax
Chapman CSO “Tax & Estate Planning Practice Guide” –
chapman.edu/law/career/students/resources/additional.asp
American College of Trust & Estate Counsel – actec.org
Careers in Finance – careers-in-finance.com
Tax Talent – taxtalent.com

 Academic
“How to Become a Law Professor” – chapman.edu/law/career/secure/lawprofessor.pdf
The Association of American Law Schools – aals.org
Academic Employment Network – academploy.com
Academic Keys – academickeys.com
Chronicle of Higher Education – chronicle.com
Higher Education Jobs – higheredjobs.com
Jurist – jurist.law.pitt.edu/
Law School Admissions Counsel – lsac.org
 
 Advertising, PR & Communication-Related Industries
American Marketing Association – marketingpower.com
The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) – prsa.org

 Business, Management
American Banker Online – americanbanker.com
Institute of Management Consultants USA – imcusa.org
Management Consulting News – managementconsultingnews.com
The Association of Management Consulting Firms – amcf.org
The American Production and Inventory Control Society – apics.org
The American Society for Training & Development – astd.org
The Society for Human Resources Management – shrm.org

 Career
Nat’l Association for Law Placement – nalp.org

 Health Care
Chapman CSO “Health Care Law Practice Guide” –
chapman.edu/law/career/students/resources/additional.asp
American Health Lawyers Association – healthlawyers.org
Health Leaders – healthleaders.com
Medical Group Management Association—mgma.org
National Institutes of Health—nih.gov/sigs/bioethics
The American College Healthcare Executives– ache.org
The Healthcare Financial Management Association – hfma.org

 Lobbyist
American League of Lobbyists – alldc.org/ 
 
 Paralegal
Nat’l Federation of Paralegal Association – paralegals.org 
Nat’l Association for Law Assistants – nala.org

California/Regional

California
Cal Law Legal Classifieds – law.com 
California State Personnel Board – exams.spb.ca.gov/exams/staffcounsel
State of California Jobs – jobs.ca.gov/CASPB/sup/images/default.asp

Regional
Bay Area Jobs – bayareacareers.com

Criminal Law

Chapman CSO “Criminal Law Practice Guide” –
chapman.edu/law/career/students/resources/additional.asp
Association of Federal Defense Attorneys – afda.org/
California Attorneys for Criminal Justice – cacj.org
International Criminal Law Society – icls.de/
Nat’l Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers –
nacdl.org/public.nsf/freeform/publicwelcome?opendocument
Nat’l Criminal Defense College – ncdc.net/
National Legal Aid & Defender Association Job Opportunities – nlada.org/jobop.htm 

Constitutional Law

First Amendment Lawyers – firstamendmentlawyers.org

Corporations

Commercial Law League of America – clla.org
Hoover’s Online – hoovers.com
Human Resource/Labor & Employment – hreonline.com

Elder Law

Commission of Legal Problems of the Elderly – abanet.org/aging
Nat’l Association of Elder Law Attorneys – naela.org

Employment Data

Find Law – findlaw.com                                                                                                                             
Law Info – lawinfo.com
Payscale – payscale.com
US Federal Judiciary – uscourts.gov
The University of Notre Dame – law.nd.edu/careers/employment-data/
VaultReports – vaultreports.com

Employment Law

Chapman CSO “Employment Law Practice Guide” –
chapman.edu/law/career/students/resources/additional.asp
California Employment Lawyers Association – cela.org
Employment Law Jobs – employmentlawjobs.org
Union Jobs Clearinghouse – unionjobs.com

Entertainment & New Media Careers (Legal & Non-Legal)

Chapman CSO “Entertainment Law Practice Guide” –
chapman.edu/law/career/students/resources/additional.asp
CAA* – no content on website; contact HR dept. by visiting: caa.com
Entertainment Careers – entertainmentcareers.net 
GamesIndustry.biz – gamesindustry.biz/jobs/?search=2598  
Gersh Agency – no content on website; contact HR dept. by visiting: gershagency.com
Work in Sports – workinsports.com/usrHome.asp

Environmental/Energy Law

Chapman CSO “Environmental and Energy Law Practice Guides” –
chapman.edu/law/career/students/resources/additional.asp
Eco Employ – ecoemploy.com/
Environmental Chemistry – environmentalchemistry.com/careers/type/environmentallaw.html
Environmental Law & Policy Center – elpc.org/category/jobs
Environmental Protection Agency – epa.gov
Energy Law Jobs – energylawjobs.com
Green Jobs – greenjobs.com/public/indes.aspx
Green Careers Guide – greencareersguide.com/Environmental-Lawyer.html
Los Angeles County Bar Association, Environmental Law Section Career Page –
lacba.org/showpage.cfm?pageid=4097
National Resources Defense Counsel – nrdc.org/jobs/default.asp

Family Law

Chapman CSO “Family Law Practice Guide” –
chapman.edu/law/career/students/resources/additional.asp
National Association of Counsel for Child Job Search – naccchildlaw.org/networking

Fellowships

American Civil Liberties Union – aclu.org/careers/3
Equal Justice Works – equaljusticeworks.org 
Fulbright Fellowships – iie.org/fulbright 
PSLawNet – pslawnet.org 
Skadden – skaddenfellowships.org 

Government – General, Local/California, Federal/Military, Internships, International, Judicial

General
Careers in Government – Careersingovernment.com
Get the Job – getthejob.com 
USAJobs.gov – USAjobs.gov
Office of Personnel Management – OPM.gov
Nat’l Association of Attorney Generals – naag.org
PSLawNet – pslawnet.org/internationalresources

Local/State
District Attorney/Public Defender/County Counsel/City Attorney – Please check individual
county websites.
National Legal Aid & Defender Association Job Opportunities – nlada.org/jobop.htm

Federal
Agency Websites – Please explore individual agency websites. To identify federal agencies of
interest, please visit USA.gov or Westlaw.
America Job – americajob.com
Federal Jobs – fedjobs.com
Federal Jobs Digest – jobsfed.com 
Student Jobs – studentjobs.gov 
USA.gov (list of all agencies) – usa.gov/Agencies/Federal/All_Agencies/index.shtml
US Senate – senate.gov 
Westlaw (Career Focus>Law Student Jobs Online>Federal Careers for Attorneys) –
lawschool.westlaw.com

Internships
The Washington Center for Internships & Academic Seminars – twc.edu 
USAJobs.gov – USAjobs.gov/studentjobs/
US Senate – senate.gov 
International
Overseas Jobs Express – overseasjobs.com
PSLawNet – pslawnet.org/internationalresources
United Nations – jobs.un.org/elearn/production/home.html

Judicial
“Chapman Law Judicial Clerkship Handbook” – chapman.edu/law/career/jClerkship.asp
American Judicature Society – ajs.org 
Online System for Clerkship Application and Review (OSCAR) – federal and some specialty
court clerkships – oscar.uscourts.gov
Federal Magistrate Judges Association – fedjudge.org
Guide to State Judicial Clerkship Procedures and other state court clerkship resources –
chapman.edu/law/career/jClerkship.asp
National Center for State Courts – ncsc.org/Information-and-Resources/Browse-by-
State/StateCourtWebsites.aspx
California Judicial Branch Career Opportunities – courtinfo.ca.gov/jobs 
Hiring Practices of Administrative Law Judges (ALJs) – nalp.org/aljclerkshipinfo
ALJ Contact Information and Hiring Preferences Survey – northeastern.edu/law//pdfs/career-
services/admin%20law%20judge%20hiring%20info.pdf

Military
Department of Defense – defense.gov (Links to each branch of the military)
Joint Chiefs of Staff – jcs.mil (Military)

Healthcare Law

Chapman CSO “Health Care Law Practice Guide” –
chapman.edu/law/career/students/resources/additional.asp
American Health Lawyers Association – healthlawyers.org
American Agricultural Law Association Job Postings – aglaw-assn.org/jobs.htm
American Association of Nurse Attorneys Job Listing – taana.org/Public/jobs.asp
Flipdog – flipdog.com/jobs/legal/healthcare/
Food and Drug Law Institute Job Board – fdli.org/jobs
Health Care Compliance Association Job Postings – hcca-info.org
Health Care and Social Law – hg.org/health-law.html

Immigration Law

Chapman CSO “Immigration Law Practice Guide” –
chapman.edu/law/career/students/resources/additional.asp
American Immigration Lawyers Association – aila.org 

In-House Counsel

The Association of Corporate Counsel (ACC) – jobline.acc.com
General Counsel Consulting – gcconsulting.com
Nat’l Association of College & University Attorneys – nacua.org 

Intellectual Property (IP)

American Intellectual Property Law Association – aipla.org 
Intellectual Property Law Server – intelproplaw.com/
Nat’l Association for Patent Practitioners – napp.org
International Law

Chapman CSO “International Law Practice Guide” –
chapman.edu/law/career/students/resources/additional.asp
American Society of International Law – asil.org/career-post-overview.cfm 
PSLawNet – pslawnet.org/internationalresources
UNjobs – unjobs.org/themes/international-law
United Nations – jobs.un.org/elearn/production/home.html
World Bank – worldbank.org/

Public Interest

Chapman CSO “Public Interest Law Practice Guide” –
chapman.edu/law/career/students/resources/additional.asp
Alliance for Justice – afj.org
Equal Justice Works – equaljusticeworks.org 
Idealist – idealist.org/ 
National Legal Aid & Defender Association Job Opportunities – nlada.org/jobop.htm
PSLawNet – pslawnet.org
Public Interest Crossing – publicinterestcrossing.com/lcsearchtips.php
Public Service Careers – publicservicecareers.org/?pageid=616
United States Public Interest Research Group – uspirg.org/jobs

Tax/Estate Planning

Chapman CSO “Tax & Estate Planning Practice Guide” –
chapman.edu/law/career/students/resources/additional.asp
American Academy of Estate Planning – aaepa.com 
American Bar Association, Section of Taxation – abanet.org/tax/lawstudents/jobs/joblisting.html
American College of Trust & Estate Counsel – actec.org
Careers in Tax – careersintax.com
Tax Talent – taxtalent.com

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Shared By:
Categories:
Tags:
Stats:
views:34
posted:4/6/2012
language:
pages:7