doc7 by ersglazty


									Zodiac In Astronomy
In early 2011 it seems the news about “changing the zodiac” to the
attention of many people. The center of attention is the “change of the
zodiac” relevant date of birth or fortune-telling related to the fate of
the style of astrology.

Then what about astronomy? Changes in the zodiac which is said to be a
surprise at the beginning of 2011 was not a surprise. The news has
repeatedly come to the issue of the existence of Ophiuchus as “zodiac to-
13″, and then a warm conversation whether the “zodiac” someone changed it
or not. And the astronomers also questioned why his opinion can change
and what to do with the zodiac astrology zodiac known so far.

In reality there is no connection between “change” it with astrology and
fortune tellers. But for the moment let us try to know what zodiac.

History of Zodiac
Zodiac comes from the Greek meaning zoidiakos small animal sign. In the
Latin words became zodiacus. Zodiac itself is defined as the area of the
constellations visible from Earth is crossed by the sun every year.
Classical zodiac is divided into 12 constellations.

In the past, sky watchers often make an imaginary line between the stars,
which then forms sebuat constellations that have a certain image to the
constellation Leo the lion example. Well, they not only classify the
stars into a constellation, but also divides the ecliptic (the area
crossed by the Sun in its yearly cycles) into 12 areas with the same
amount that is 30 degrees.

The twelve areas were then filled each by a constellation of stars known
as the Zodiac constellation. If the sun moves at the same speed so it
will enter the new constellation every 30 days so it can be said to the
Sun will be in each constellation for 30 days or one constellation for
one month beginning with the position of the Sun at the Vernal Equinox,
which at that time is when the Sun located in the constellation Aries.
The 12 constellations are: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo,
Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces

The division of this area facilitate the work of the observers sky to
record the position of the Sun, Moon and planets in the presence of the
reference points of stars. And this system into the sky coordinate system
first created and then evolved into a coordinate system that we know
today (equatorial coordinate system).

The division was first created by the Babylonians in the early / mid
first millennium BC (626 BC – 539 BC). Zodiac is also derived from the
modification MUL.APIN catalog containing 200 astronomical observations
include measurements related to a constellation. MUL.APIN catalog system
is believed to be the range of 1370 BC, but there are also sources that
mention the circa 1830 BC.

Babylonian star catalog is then entered in Greek astronomy in the 4th
century BC and later used by the Romans. Depiction of the zodiac are then
appear in the Al Magest Star Catalogue (130-170 AD) made by Ptolomy of
Alexandria in describing the geocentric theory

In the modern constellation mapping, a term still used for the zodiac
constellations on the ecliptic. A little different, after restricting the
area of each IAU constellations, each constellation did not inhabit the
same area. And this happens with every constellation in the zodiac.

If the first division of the Babylonians simplify by dividing each area
to be 30 degrees then the outcome for the region based on “the existence
of each of the constellations in the zodiac” indicates that the total
area is not the same for each constellation. Thus the constellation which
is crossed by the Sun in its yearly cycle that includes the 13
constellations which Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra,
Ophiuchus, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.

At this modern constellation Ophiuchus later emerged as one of the
constellations in the area crossed by the Sun in its yearly cycle. Also
note, the presence of the Sun in the constellation Ophiuchus is 18.4 days
or longer than the existence of the Sun in Scorpio which is only 8.4
days. Constellation is then staying as a constellation to-13. Does this
mean the constellation Ophiuchus is new?

Ophiuchus is not a “new constellation” a new entry in the row of modern

Constellation Ophiuchus was known in Greece since ancient constellation
mapping and depicted in the constellations of Ptolemy as “snake holder”
or “The Serpent Bearer” in Al Magest Star Calogue. This constellation
also mapped dalamFarnese Globe, coffee atlas circa second century BC. In
Al Magest, Ptolemy this constellation is also identified as one of the
constellations which crossed the Sun but not accounted for in the zodiac.

In the past when the sign was made and mapped constellations, the
ecliptic is divided into 12 areas with 30-degree limit for each
constellation in every 30 days during the first year the circulation of
the Sun from the point of Aries and back to the point of Aries (Vernal
Equinox) in the following year. In fact every constellation does not have
the same area. But it became known later in 1930 when IAU set limits on
the constellation. Well at that time, although an estimated Ophiuchus
constellation known to exist but this is not a luminous constellation
than Scorpius constellation is indeed a bright and easily recognizable.

Zodiac in Astrology
Well, to do with astrology, the benchmark used is different because the
basis used is the tropical zodiac which divides the sky into 12 sections
that inhabited each constellation. Tropic here comes from the Greek words
meaning a turning point. And basically refers to the point when the sun
rises and sets and seemed to turn and move north in the northern or
southern direction in the southern hemisphere along the horizon
setelahWinter Solstice or the other direction after the Summer Solstice.

The astrologer is not unaware of the existence of the constellation
Ophuchus but their understanding is different from the astronomical
observations using a data base for reference. In addition, based on their
understanding of the Sun due to precession of the equinoxes shift is also
irrelevant. Therefore, the zodiac in astrology remains 12 and the time
span is not changed.

To be sure there never was any connection between the fate seseorang.Tapi
constellations constellations in the sky sightings at certain times it
may be associated with patterns of community life in both the
agricultural life of farming and maritime life.

To top