doc 3

Document Sample
doc 3 Powered By Docstoc
					UCLA's Inaugural Nurse 21 Awards to Honor Champions of Nursing

     A nurse-leader recognized as one of the top 25 women in healthcare, a New                York Times Web

columnist, the dean of the Johns Hopkins School of                 Nursing, and the creator of the nonprofit

Nurse–Family Partnership are         among the diverse champions of nursing who will be honored by the

UCLA          School of Nursing at its first Nurse 21 Awards ceremony on May 12 at the         London Hotel in

West Hollywood.

       The event coincides with National Nurse Week and occurs on the             anniversary of the birthday of

Florence Nightingale.

         The profession of nursing has evolved significantly in recent years; and          the UCLA School of

Nursing, in establishing the new awards, hopes to        highlight this transformation to raise awareness of the

value of nursing         to society and to continue to redefine nursing for the 21st century,           said the

school’s dean, Courtney H. Lyder.

       “Today’s nurses are researchers, scholars, advocates, incredible            clinicians, administrators

and healers,― Lyder said. “The       individuals we are honoring with the inaugural Nurse 21 Awards are

   leading the transformation of nursing in ways that are making an       immeasurable impact on the health of

our nation and of the world.―

       Linda Burnes Bolton, who was recently named one of the “Top 25 Women in              Healthcare― by

Modern Healthcare magazine, will be the              event’s keynote speaker and will also receive this

year’s Nurse 21         Leadership Award.

       Bolton is vice chair of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Initiative on       the Future of Nursing at

the National Academies’ Institute of Medicine.         She serves as vice president for nursing, chief nursing

officer and      director of nursing research at Cedars–Sinai Medical Center and is a        past president of

the American Academy of Nursing and the National Black          Nurses Association.

                                                    Page 1/3
       Other awards recipients include:Media Advocacy Award – Theresa             Brown is an oncology nurse

at the University of Pittsburgh Medical        Center’s Shadyside Hospital and a writer whose book Critical

Care: A         New Nurse Faces Death, Life and Everything in Between chronicles the         challenges facing a

first-year nurse. Brown is also a regular      contributor to “Well,― the New York Times health blog.

          Global | International Award – Martha          Hill, dean of the Johns Hopkins University School of

Nursing, is       well known for developing and testing strategies to improve hypertension      care and control

among underserved urban African Americans, particularly             young men. She is a fellow of the American

Academy of Nursing and a          member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. From 1997

to 1998, she was the first non-physician to serve as president of the      American Heart Association.

            Community Award – In 1970, David           Olds began to develop a nurse home-visitation model

designed to help        young women take better care of themselves and their babies. Nearly 30       years later,

with support from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and                   others, the “Olds― model has

blossomed into the Nurse–Family              Partnership, a nonprofit organization serving more than 20,000

mothers         in 20 states across the U.S.

      Corporation | Foundation Award – The Johnson & Johnson Campaign               for Nursing’s Future is

a $50 million, multi-year national       initiative designed to enhance the image of the nursing profession,

recruit new nurses and nurse faculty, and help retain nurses currently           in the profession. Launched in

February 2002, the campaign works in              cooperation with professional nursing organizations, schools,

hospitals          and other healthcare organizations to promote opportunities in nursing          and increase

awareness of the value of the nursing profession to our         society and America’s healthcare community.

      In addition, the Nurse 21 Awards will honor three of UCLA’s nurse           leaders: Lorraine Evangilista

and Rosemary Carroll-Nash, selected as           2011 Alumni Hall of Fame inductees, and Alison C. Wagnor, a

master’s          entry clinical nurse student who will be honored as an “emerging leader.―

          The        UCLA School of Nursing is redefining nursing through the pursuit         of uncompromised

excellence in research, education, practice, policy and         patient advocacy. Rated among the nation’s

top nursing schools by U.S.        News & World Report, the school also is ranked No. 7 in nursing       research

funded by the National Institutes of Health and No. 1 in NIH         stimulus funding. In 2009–10, the school

                                                     Page 2/3
received $18 million in total       research grant funding and was awarded 26 faculty research grants. The

school offers programs for the undergraduate (B.S.), postgraduate                  (M.S.N. and M.E.C.N.) and doctoral

(Ph.D.) student.

       For more news, visit the UCLA            Newsroom and UCLA             News|Week and follow us on Twitter.

                                                         Page 3/3

Shared By:
mr doen mr doen mr
About just a nice girl