Historic Districts Map
Leavenworth Convention &
Leavenworth Chamber of Commerce
Table of Contents are then united by the taut skin of shingles.
Soffit - The underside of an arch or lintel.
Spandrel - The triangular area between adjacent arches.
Spanish Colonial - Spanish Colonial revival is really a catalog of styles, unified by
Downtown Historic District Union Park Historic District the use of arches, courtyards, form as mass, plain wall surfaces, and tile roofs, all
written by John Krueger written by Mike Stephenson derived from the Mediterranean world.
p. 4 p. 73 String course - A horizontal course projecting from a wall, often moulded and at
times richly carved.
North Broadway Historic District Leavenworth Industrial Historic Stucco - A durable finish for exterior walls, usually composed of cement, sand, and
written by Lois Kastner & John District lime, and applied while wet.
Krueger written by John Krueger Terrazzo - A flooring material of marble or stone chips set in mortar and polished
p. 24 p. 82 when dry.
Transom - a window above a door (or a horizontal crossbar in a window or between
North Esplanade Historic District National Register ‘Stand alone’ a door and a window).
written by Bob Kennedy Triparite - a window composed of three parts
Tudor Revival - Tudor Revival derives its inspiration from early England. These
p. 33 Angell House,
buildings lavishly feature stone, ornate chimneys, half-timberings, thick walls, dark
interiors, and steep rooflines.
South Esplanade Historic District Santa Fe Depot, Union Depot Tympanum - The ornamental recessed space or panel enclosed by the cornices of a
written by Sally Hatcher Leavenworth County Courthouse, triangular pediment.
p. 42 Brewer House, Veranda - A porch or balcony, usually roofed and often partly enclosed, extending
Burt House, along the outside of a building.
Arch Street Historic District Carroll Mansion, Victorian-era - Being in the highly ornamented, massive style of architecture, decor,
written by Bob Topping Leavenworth Public Library and furnishings popular in 19th-century England.
p. 50 written by Bob Kennedy Voussoirs - One of the wedge-shaped stones forming the curved parts of an arch or
3rd Avenue Historic District Leavenworth’s Colorful Past
written by Bobbie Bower written by Kelvin Crow
p. 60 p. 89
Glossary of Architectural Terms
Designed & Edited by Megan Scheidt
This publication has been financed in part with Federal funds from the National
Park Service, a division of the United States Department of the Interior, and
administered by the Kansas State Historical Society. The contents and opin-
ions, however, do not necessarily reflect the view or policies of the United
States Department of the Interior or the Kansas State Historical Society.
Molding - An embellishment in strip form, made of wood or other structural materi- Welcome to Leavenworth! This booklet
al, that is used to decorate or finish a surface, such as the wall of a room or building describes the city's eight National
or the surface of a door or piece of furniture. Register Historic Districts and
Muntin - a strip separating panes of glass in a sash.
Newel post - the post at the top or bottom of a flight of stairs; it supports the handrail
eight additional National
Neoclassical - This style became wildly popular at the end of the 1800s and the Register properties associated
beginning of the 1900s. Its most distinctive feature would be the lavish use of with the early development of the
columns, usually Corinthian. Often features a classical pedimented entry with an first city in Kansas and the open-
entablature above the cornice line. Many Neoclassical buildings have windows ing of the western half of the United
grouped in twos or threes, with the main floor having semicircular arched windows. States.
Parapet - A low protective wall or railing along the edge of a raised structure such as
a roof or balcony.
Parquet floor - Inlay of wood, often of different colors, that is worked into a geomet- Throughout those early years, heroes and villains walked these streets and
ric pattern or mosaic and is used especially for floors. some of the more notorious will show up in association with the city's
Pilasters - A rectangular column with a capital and base, projecting only slightly early-built environment, but the stories of Buffalo Bill Cody, Wild Bill
from a wall as an ornamental motif. Hickock, Calamity Jane, George and Tom Custer and William Tecumseh
Portico - A porch or walkway with a roof supported by columns, often leading to the Sherman are told elsewhere, in volumes. This booklet examines examples
entrance of a building. of mid-to-late 19th and early 20th century buildings that help bring histo-
Prairie Style - Prairie houses were characterized by low, horizontal lines that were
ry to the present.
meant to blend with the flat landscape around them. Typically, these structures were
built around a central chimney, consisted of broad open spaces instead of strictly
defined rooms, and deliberately blurred the distinction between interior space and the Fort Leavenworth and the Eisenhower Veterans Affairs Medical Centers
surrounding terrain. Wide, overhanging eaves with enclosed rafters are common as are also National Register properties but, as federal reservation land, they
well. are independent of local historic preservation processes.
Quatrefoil - A representation of a flower with four petals or a leaf with four leaflets,
especially in heraldry. The districts are walkable. Most of them are compact and were drawn
Queen Anne - This is one of the most popular high Victorian styles. Developed in
Great Britain and displayed at the Centennial exposition in Philadelphia, the style is
around a common theme or construction era, except, of course, the down-
characterized by great compexity. Irregular massive, great variety of windows and town area. The Downtown Historic District reflects the eclectic nature of
sheathing material, complex roofs, filigree -- these are just some of the qualities that commercial development from decade to decade as times changed. It is
make up Queen Anne. also the largest geographic district and may require driving from parking
Richardson Romanesque - Of, relating to, or being a style of European architecture lot to parking lot if you want to take a close look at the surviving build-
containing both Roman and Byzantine elements, prevalent especially in the 11th and ings.
12th centuries and characterized by massive walls, round arches, and relatively sim-
Sash - the framework of a window in which panes of glass are set. If the locals are out, they are usually happy to speak to you about their
Second Empire - A heavily ornate style of furniture, architecture, and decoration homes, but please respect their privacy and their property. The sidewalks
that was developed in France in the middle of the 19th century. are public spaces, yard areas are not. Thank you for your cooperation and
Shingle style - The Shingle Style of building is uniquely American, melding various for your interest in our community. We are very glad you are here and we
styles popular in States in the late 19th century (1870-1890). Influencing the Shingle hope you will enjoy some of the finest examples of early architecture in the
Style were the Romanesque Revival, Colonial Revival and the Stick or Carpenter state.
Gothic Styles. Shingle Style buildings are often composed of complex shapes which
DOWNTOWN HISTORIC DISTRICT Doric - The oldest and simplest of the three orders of classical Greek architecture.
Dormer - A window set vertically into a small gable projecting from a sloping roof.
Leavenworth's 45-block downtown was planned in 1854, and in its first two Double-hung windows - windows divided into two main sections. One section can
decades, commerce boomed. Most of the City's early stores were built in slide up and down and past the other.
"blocks" with multiple storefronts and common upper areas. Many of these mag- Eaves - The overhanging edge of a roof.
nificent structures are gone and some that remain are the lower floors left after Ell - An extension at right angles to the length of a main building, giving to the
fire, tornado and neglect took their toll on their upper levels. Infill is evident ground plan a form resembling the letter L; sometimes less properly applied to a nar-
nearly everywhere and pavement replaced buildings as the demand for off street rower, or lower, extension in the direction of the length of the main building; a wing.
Entablature - The upper section of a classical building, resting on the columns and
parking grew, especially after World War II.
constituting the architrave, frieze, and cornice.
Fanlight - A semicircular window (often placed above a door or another window).
Examples of block-style development still evident today are the O'Donnell Block
Federal Style - popular in early decades of U.S history. Basically, Georgian style
at 100 South 5th Street, the Masonic Temple at 421 Delaware, the Yum block at with Adamesque enhancements. The main identifying feature is typically the fanlight
311-321 South 5th Street, and the intact block of commercial stores in the 600 entryway with classical (Greek) detailing.
block of Cherokee Street. Fenestration - The arrangement and design of windows and doors in a building.
Finial - A sculptured ornament, often in the shape of a leaf or flower, at the top of a
There are 65 contributing properties in the district, mostly constructed of red gable, pinnacle, or similar structure.
brick with cast iron and terra cotta trim features. Their architecture is described Frieze - A plain or decorated horizontal part of an entablature between the architrave
as "high style" with Colonial and Classical revival variations reflective of their and cornice.
era. Two were previously placed on the National Register of Historic Places Gable - The generally triangular section of wall at the end of a pitched roof, occupy-
(429 and 500 Delaware Street). ing the space between the two slopes of the roof.
Gothic Revival - Mostly popular between 1840-1860 for houses. Popular style for
churches nationally right up through the 1940s (WWII). Most abundant in the
Knights of Columbus Block Northeast. Style began in England 1749 to romanticize medieval styles.
331 Delaware Street Greek Revival - denotes rectangular buildings that have no arches, that depend upon
c. 1882; c. 1945 large columns for support and ornamentation, and usually have smooth exterior wall
This three-story building has a corner Hip roof - A four-sided roof having sloping ends and sides.
entrance that is canted at both stories. Italianate - Italianate houses draw their inspiration from villas in northern Italy. They
are squarish in shape, generally have low-pitched hipped roofs, large windows, and
The façade of this late 19th century
broad overhanging eaves. An excellent local example would be Ingleside.
building was significantly altered in the
Keystones - Central stone in an arch or vault.
20th century. Divisions are created
Lintel - A horizontal beam of stone or timber, bridging an opening. Often used in con-
through the use of brick stringcourses junction with the tympanum.
and by alternating different colors of Mansard roof - A four-sided roof having a double slope on all sides, with the lower
brick and large, cast stone tiles. slope much steeper than the upper.
Commercial storefronts occupy the first Mission Style - The Mission style originated in southern California and was the first
story and are divided into three bays on style to diffuse eastward from the West. The style includes Mission-shaped dormers
the Delaware Street façade. The c.1945 alterations have achieved their own sig- and/or roof parapet; wide, overhanging eaves, exposed rafters, red-tiled roof, stucco
nificance as a historic alteration and maintained the size, scale, and mass of the walls, arched windows/doors on ground level.
original building. Modillion - An ornamental bracket used in series under a cornice, especially a cor-
nice of the Corinthian, Composite, or Ionic orders.
Glossary McCaffree Short Title Co.
330 Delaware Street
2/2 windows - windows divided with two panes of glass on the upper and lower half. 1910
1/1 windows - windows divided with only one pane of glass on the upper and lower
half. This two-story building is a streamlined
Art deco - A decorative and architectural style of the period 1925-1940, character- adaptation of the Neoclassical Revival
ized by geometric designs, bold colors, and the use of plastic and glass. style, one bay wide and 12 bays long.
Balustrade - A rail and the row of balusters or posts that support it, as along the front Round inner columns and square outer
of a gallery. corner columns flank each window and
Beltcourse - usually an architectural separator between the first and second floors
support a simple frieze and cornice. The
Bulkhead - A horizontal or sloping structure providing access to a cellar stairway.
building terminates without ornamenta-
Carrara glass - as the architectural glass industry became especially creative, a new
tion. The west façade of the building
series of new glass products known as structural glass was introduced. This glass was
used predominately for wall surfacing and included glass building blocks, reinforced
has 12 bays separated by simple pilasters that support a frieze and cornice. Much
plate glass, and pigmented structural glass. of the building's original fabric is intact and in place and retains a high degree of
Casement - a window sash that opens on hinges at the sides. integrity. An original third story was removed after being damaged by a tornado.
Classical Revival - An architectural movement based on the use of pure Roman and
Greek forms, mainly in England and the U.S. in the early 19th century. First City Photo
Clerestory - a wall of a room or of a building that rises above the roof and contains 406 Shawnee Street
windows. c. 1865
Colonettes - A column of small dimensions.
Colonial Revival - The Colonial Revival style became popular in the late nineteenth The first story of this redbrick structure has four
century. It draws its inspiration from Georgian Colonial architecture. Buildings of this bays and an end (west) bay entrance to the sec-
type usually have strictly symmetrical facades and are usually rectangular in plan ond story. Display windows flank a recessed
with no or minimum projections. Eaves have classical detailing. Windows are usual- entrance. All of the original storefront treat-
ly double-hung sash except when Palladian windows are used for accent. ments are intact, including the cast-iron bulk-
Corbels - A projecting block of stone or timber to support a feature above. heads, transoms, and window enclosures. The
Corinthian - most ornate of the three orders of classical Greek architecture. second story has three bays. Above the second-
Cornice - A moulded ledge, projecting horizontally along the top of a building or fea- story windows and at the roofline, narrow, brick
ture such as a screen etc. stringcourses project slightly from the building. In 2003, a mural of early
Craftsman - Bungalows were designed by the British for use in colonial India.
Leavenworth and native son Buffalo Bill Cody was painted on the west elevation.
Therefore, they are fashioned for warm weather. The roofs are usually hipped, there-
by providing large attics for storage and for capturing the heat in the summer.
Windows are grouped for greater sunlight and for greater ventilation. Bungalows
have broad overhanging eaves, again to hold off the heat, as well as big porches to sit
on in the evening. The Craftsman style, of which Bungalows are a subset, is charac-
terized by simplicity and lack of the fanciful ornamentation one finds in Victorian
Cupola - A domelike structure surmounting a roof or dome, often used as a lookout
or to admit light and air.
Dentil - One of a series of small rectangular blocks projecting like teeth from a mold-
ing or beneath a cornice.
City Hall Kansas Volunteers and finally leaving to work as a buffalo hunter for the Kansas
100 North Fifth Pacific Railroad. Wild Bill Hickok lived in Leavenworth for a time, served with
1924 Leavenworth Redleg unit in the Civil War and rode his horse into a second-floor
pool hall on a bet. He wrote in his autobiography of meeting Calamity Jane while
Leavenworth's City Hall is a she was in Leavenworth.
detached, two-story, light gray terra
cotta building on a landscaped area The restaurateur Fred Harvey bought a mansion in Leavenworth at the height of
on the west half of Block 50. Feth & his success and lived here until his death. He created the chain of depot restau-
Feth, local architects, designed this rants called the Harvey Houses with their charming waitresses the “Harvey
and many other city halls, courthous- Girls.” Harvey was the classic American success story, coming to this country
es, and schools in the greater Kansas with little but the clothes on his back and rising to great wealth through hard work
City area. This building is an excel- and a good idea.
lent example of the Classical Revival architectural style favored by private and
public institutions during the early 20th century. A classical entablature wraps The list of Leavenworth residents and visitors who have been touched by fame or
around the building. Over the entrances and above the entablature are parapets infamy could go on and on. Academy Award winning actor Wallace Beery, the
clad in terra cotta. The spandrels on both elevations have classical garlands in glamorous June Haver and British writer Oscar Wilde represent the arts.
low relief. In 2004, all covered windows were reopened and an interior light Profesional baseball players Murry Dickson and Del Crandel started their careers
court was reopened as a significant architectural feature. here, while the first black heavy-weight champion of the world, boxing great
John Johnson, ended his as a physical education director for the Federal
O'Donnell Block Penetentiary. Generals like Custer, Sherman, MacArthur, Eisenhower, Patton and
100-108 South Fifth Street & Powell have walked the streets here, as have Prohibitionist Carry Nation and
501-505 Shawnee Abolitionist John Brown. Grammy award-winning singer Melissa Etheridge,
1905 (with parts dating to 1854) actor Richard Sanders (‘Les Nessman’ of WKRP), Randy Sparks of the New
Christy Minstrels and author Tom Oliver (To Watch the River) are current famous
This two-story brick building had deteriorated during the 1970s through the faces first seen in Leavenworth.
1990s and was scheduled for demolition. In the 1990s, it was rehabilitated as an
early example of a mixed use (commercial-residential) success. During the inte-
rior tear out, it was apparent that most of the foundation was original to a build-
ing built at this location in 1854, making at least a part of this building one of the
earliest in town. The east
elevation has five sepa-
rate storefronts that fea-
ture full arches that span
the width of the paired
windows and rise to the
roofline. Within the arch-
es is a terra cotta sun-
burst. A common element
in all of the sections is
the use of stone belt-
combined and intensified.” courses to visually separate the first and second stories. Brickwork, laid in a tex-
tured pattern, defines the entablature and projecting cornice of the different build-
D.R. Anthony served Leavenworth as mayor, post master, newspaper editor, mil- ing segments. Other common stylistic elements are cornice window heads, archi-
itary officer and horse thief. He was the veteran of many battles, and fought with trave window frames, and stone sills supported by brick corbels. This highly
words as well as weapons. In the Civil War, he was the executive officer of the ornamented two-part commercial block retains a high degree of integrity of loca-
7th Kansas Volunteers under the famous Jayhawker Charles R. Jennison (who tion and setting. The building retains all of its original exterior building materi-
also settled here in Leavenworth). Anthony shot it out in the street on at least- als. With a few minor exceptions, its original design, including its size, scale,
three occasions, once wounded so badly that his sister, Susan B. Anthony, massing, character-defining elements, and ornamentation are retained without
dropped her speaking tour and came to Leavenworth to nurse him back to health. loss, alteration or additions. The covered transoms and bricked-up entrances are
While Ms. Anthony was here, she ran his paper and gave a boost to the Kansas easily reversible and it remains an excellent example of a variation of popular
suffragettes. D.R. Anthony, Jr. was elected to the U.S. House, where he intro- early 20th century revival designs for commercial buildings.
duced the 19th Amendment to the Constitution which gave women the vote.
Horace Greeley, the famous New York newspaper editor, came through 500 Shawnee
Leavenworth in 1859. He marveled at the transportation empire of Russell, c. 1858
Majors and Waddell, strolled along the Leavenworth Landing and proclaimed the
town destined to become one of the three great urban centers of the United States. This former saloon survives from
His son-in-law settled here on his advice. Hyram Revels II, an early pastor of Leavenworth's early heyday and
Leavenworth’s historic Bethel AME church, later became the second U.S. retains its historic features including a
African-American Senator. The church was spiritual home to many Buffalo diagonal corner entry. The Fifth Street
Soldiers including Benjamin O. Davis, the first African-American U.S. general elevation has a continuous row of sym-
officer and Colin Powell. metrically placed, brick, arched open-
ings on the first and second stories that
The prisons in town have housed many well-known convicts. The Federal incorporate windows and entrances. The original storefront elements on Shawnee
Pententiary has been the home of Kansas City Boss Tom Pendergast, George Street (bulkhead, openings, transoms, and cast iron elements) are intact. Even the
“Machine Gun” Kelly, “Bugs” Moran, Manuel Noreiga and Leonard Peltier. rebuilt chimneys retain their original configuration.
Their most famous prisoner was Robert Stroud, known in the movies as the
“Birdman of Alcatraz.” In real life, he did all of his birdwork in Leavenworth, Nu Way
serving 28 years before being transferred to Alcatraz. The U.S. Disciplinary 510 Shawnee
Barracks on Fort Leavenworth was the site of the execution of Nazi prisoners of 1942
war who murdered POWs for collaboration. “Rocky” Graziano got his start in
boxing while incarcerated at the USDB. The Kansas State Penetentiary was This is one of two surviving "Nu Way"
home to Richard Hickock and Perry Smith whose crime was detailed in Truman drive-ins from the regional chain that
Capote’s “In Cold Blood.” dotted the south central states. It is sig-
nificant for its autocentric design as well
Wild West figures were common sites on the streets of Leavenworth in the 1800s. as reflecting the evolution of commercial
Buffalo Bill Cody is counted as a native son, having grown up in the Salt Creek dining facilities in the District from
Valley. His father was killed in the Bleeding Kansas troubles and he used to roam saloon to restaurant/café to drive-in. The secondary façades have several open-
the streets of town with his boyhood friends. He began his career here, working ings of different sizes cut into them to accommodate a drive-through window and
first for Russell, Majors and Waddell, then serving under D.R. Anthony in the secondary entrances.
Chamber Office A Town Full of Colorful Characters &
516-518 Shawnee Memorable Moments
This two-story, red brick building has Kelvin Crow
four bays. The first-story storefront is a
modern alteration that retains the original Leavenworth is so much more than just beautiful buildings, imposing prisons and
configuration of entrances flanking two wonderful, eclectic shopping. The history includes some of the greatest stories
display windows. Wrought iron balconets of our Nation’s past and some of the most interesting people, too.
span the width of the upper floor win-
dows. It houses the Chamber of The earliest recorded Leavenworth residents are the Kansas Indians and their
Commerce and several shops, offices and allies, the French, who traded in this vicinity. Lewis and Clark passed by in July
residences. 1804 on their great journey of western discovery. The Delaware and Kickapoo
tribes once had reservations covering most of today’s Leavenworth County.
Davis Funeral Chapel Delaware Chiefs Black Beaver and Panipakuxwe or “He Who Walks When the
531 Shawnee Leaves Fall” served as scouts and leaders for the Union Army in the Civil War.
David Brewer was a gold miner, Sunday School teacher and first United States
Mediterranean Revival influences of the early Supreme Court Justice appointed from west of the Mississippi River. He was a
20th century dominate this Carrara glass-front colorful man who enjoyed telling “Leavenworth stories” while back East. Mark
building. Flanking the two slightly recessed Delahay was a newspaper publisher who made people so mad with his editorials
arched entrances are rectangular casement that they chopped a hole through the ice to sink his printing press in the river.
windows. Wrought iron fretwork decorates Bishop John Baptist Miege was horrified to be appointed Bishop to the Wild West
panels below these windows. The Sixth Street and he sent the appointment back to the Pope and asked him to reconsider. He
side features a classical door surround incor- wrote he would be a thousand times more willing to go to Europe than to take on
porating cast iron panels coupled with slightly this task. But he went on to make his headquarters in Leavenworth and build a
recessed fluted columns resting on piers. cathedral here that was the largest house of worship in the United States. Mother
Above the lintel is an elliptical arch with sup- Xavier Ross was founder of St. Mary College, St. John’s Hospital, and the Sisters
porting brackets. The later application of of Charity of Leavenworth. She was the daughter of a Methodist minister who
Carrara glass panels has achieved significance converted to the Catholic faith as a teenager. Her brothers used to lock her in the
as a historic alteration. The modern windows are reversible and do not detract closet to prevent her from attending Mass.
from the building's importance.
Abraham Lincoln came to Leavenworth in 1859, seeking the Republican nomi-
nation for President. After having sparse audiences at earlier meetings, he was
delighted with his reception in Leavenworth where thousands gathered to hear
him speak. He stayed almost a week, sampling the famous Leavenworth beer,
converting his hosts to outspoken advocates of abolition and causing the town
authorities to close Mrs. Riley’s brothel for the duration of his visit. John Wilkes
Booth performed here in 1863 from the same stage Lincoln used. His perform-
ance was described as a “thrilling representation of hate, revenge and ambition
Alleyway between Second and Third Streets north of Immaculata High School
Choctaw Street 600 Shawnee
This historic alleyway runs east and west between Second and Third streets "Imac" as it is known locally, bills
behind the buildings facing Choctaw and Cherokee streets. Approximately 14- itself as a college-preparatory school
feet wide and extending about 312 feet, this road surface retains its original red in an effort to attract students from
brick pavers, as well as spatial relationships. This strip of alleyway is in good Leavenworth's government and mili-
condition and clearly conveys its defining historic characteristics. Although a tary employment centers. Its down-
small section at the intersection with Third Street has been covered in asphalt, this town location provides an additional,
surviving structural element contributes to the District. large scale institution which strength-
ens the downtown's stability. The
structure references Art Deco motifs, and geometric terra cotta ornamentation
creates "cuts" in the parapet walls for more definition. Upgrades have not spoiled
the building's high degree of original materials and architectural elements.
Biringer's, a locksmith and gun-
smith, is one of the oldest continu-
ous commercial operations in
Kansas, dating to 1864, and has
always been at this location.
Originally starting as a gunsmith,
the store still sells a wide variety of hunting gear but is heavily used by people
who need locksmith services. Although this is a simple two-story stucco build-
ing with significant alteration, it retains its original size, scale, massing, fenestra-
tion, setting and location. The storefront retains its original configuration, and
the original window and transom openings are intact. It still communicates the
commercial association it had with its period of construction.
607 Shawnee complex. The company's original building dates to 1874 and faces north. This
c. 1883 façade has seven bays. It is two-and-one-half stories tall with a raised full-length
clerestory. Other blighted, unsafe buildings in this complex were demolished in
This small, one-story structure is 1985. The surviving building dates from the earliest occupation of the property
recessed from the sidewalk. The cen- by the company and retains its corner location, size, scale massing, fenestration,
tral entrance bay has a gable roof with and roof form as well as materials and design features. The east and south
cross bracing. The façade contains a facades, which originally served as party walls, have been re-clad since the dem-
central entrance flanked by projecting, olition. In spite of these changes, its association with the industrial era has been
three-sided bay windows applied to a maintained. A new building designed similar to a circus tent is being construct-
brick building face. A copper hip roof ed at 101 Cherokee Street to house three antique carousels, two of which were
caps the bays and the transom and the manufactured locally by the C. W. Parker Carousel Co. Its design was approved
sidelights have polygonal lead windows. This building retains many of its archi- by the local Landmarks Board because it retains the size and scale of the other
tectural elements dating to the 1880s. Historic maps indicate a residence at this buildings while being quite unique and it is located on the cleared Union Stove
location prior to 1883. It is a unique component of the District and shows the Co. property.
mixture of land uses common to 19th century development.
Citizens National Bank 126-130 Cherokee Street; 211-217 South Second Street
601 Delaware 1900
The Savory Hotel was built to serve travelers associated with passenger train
This symmetrical, two-story build- service to Leavenworth. Its size dictates that it was probably never a major com-
ing has corner pilasters with stone petitor for this trade. By the 1920s it
capitals and bases that visually was a brothel. By the 1950s it oper-
support an oversized entablature, ated as Laura's Hotel. In the vernac-
cornice, and a stone-edged para- ular, it was an “after hours” and a
pet. The entrance has fluted very good bar-be-que “joint.” The
pilasters supporting a classical upstairs cribs were 8'x8' rooms. By
entablature. A wide entablature the mid 1960s Leavenworth Steel
and a projecting cornice wrap purchased the property for its pri-
around the building. Above this, a brick parapet with projecting, square, brick mary office building. Laura's raised
piers is directly above the pilasters. The building was the original sales office for throne platform upstairs was still
the Lambert Lumber Company. Citizens National Bank is the only financial intact in 1985 but gave way to the
institution located in a historic property downtown. conversion project that ensued in the
effort to save the building.
With the exception of the replace-
ment of the storefront windows, this
building retains all of its original
materials, workmanship, fenestra-
tion, and design.
Great Western Manufacturing Co. People's Telephone Co.
320 South 2nd Street, 200 Choctaw Street 529 Delaware
Originally connected to its neighbors to the west at 206-220 Choctaw Street, this This corner building is a two-story struc-
two-story building sits on a raised brick foundation on the northwest corner of ture with a brick and limestone façade that
Choctaw and Second streets and features a parapet coped with square-cut stone. features symmetrical massing and classical
The primary entrance shows a classical motif with heavy lintel. This building ornamentation. The end bays of the pri-
was converted to six loft apartments in 2003 and new metal, full-sized windows mary façade are composed of red brick
with transoms replaced the mid-1970s inappropriate metal window inserts. The flanked by stone quoins. The first-story
original painted "Great Western windows have stone lintels with keystones.
Manufacturing" signs were The central portion of the building has
repainted on the sides of the smooth limestone facing. The building was built for the People's Telephone
building during the conversion. Company, was converted to an outpatient hospital in the 1970s, and is currently
Even with the conversion, this occupied by a law office.
building retains a majority of its
defining historic architectural Wards Building
characteristics. The original 528 Delaware
materials, design, workmanship, 1908
size, scale, fenestration patterns
and massing remain. It has a This is the only remaining six-story commercial build-
high degree of architectural ing in the downtown. There is a three-bay front (south)
integrity and is a contributing elevation and a nine-bay side (west) each separated by
resource to the District. brick pilasters that terminate midway at the sixth story
with geometric, stone capitals. It was built for a tin or
Union Stove and steel fabricator and warehouse, and was converted to
Machine Works the Montgomery Ward Department store. In the inter-
117-121 Cherokee vening years, it has been a furniture, antique and col-
Street; 309-13 South lectibles shop. In 2003, the building was purchased and
Second Street will be converted to an e-business office complex that
1874, 1879 is projected to employ over 100 computer technicians
This building was the first
property to be converted to Sadtk's Furniture Store
other than industrial use in Delaware
1985. Accountants, abstractors, c. 1915
beauticians, dentists and other
professionals occupy the struc- Although infill covers the original first-story storefront, the original second-and-
ture. This led the way for the other projects to follow. This brick building com- third-story windows continue to be important character-defining elements of the
prises the remaining buildings from the original Union Stove and Machine Works building and its mass and style contribute greatly to the district.
520-522 Delaware Great Western Manufacturing Co.
1903 206-220 Choctaw Street
c. 1860, 1885, 1890, 1910
Ornamented cast iron brackets highlight this Colonial Revival structure. Other
stylistic elements include three molded, semi-circular, brick arches with key- This complex has three buildings sharing party walls and each facing south. The
stones, roundels centered within each arch under a shed roof supported by paired, earliest building is the central two-and-one-half story brick structure which may
ornamented cast iron brackets. These details, combined with the Colonial Revival contain 1860 elements on the interior. The exterior dates to an 1885 Great
motif, reflect an eclectic assembly of features that are each historic to their con- Western Manufacturing Company expansion and features embellished corbeled
struction era. The building has been used as a bank, a credit bureau and for asso- brickwork. An 1890 addition was originally a three-and-one-half story, hipped
ciated offices. roof structure, later reduced to two stories because of wind damage and fire
threat. A two-story brick addition to the east elevation of the central building
521 & 523 Delaware dates to 1910.
The large size, scale and massing of the buildings, as well as the common use of
These buildings contribute because of their mass, but otherwise have almost no materials and architectural details, brickwork and fenestration, visually link the
ornamentation. The oversized windows rise into an area that normally would various additions to the original complex. They continue to have a defined indus-
incorporate a third story. The treatment of the second story is consistent with its trial character and convey the commercial associations for which the District is
former use as a meeting hall. The window openings, transoms and casements are significant.
intact under the metal sheathing.
High Noon Saloon
512-514 Delaware gradually acquired,
c. 1890 converted and refur-
bished all of this prop-
As with 521-523 Delaware, these storefronts offer little architectural appeal, but erty during the 1990's.
they retain their original window, door, and transom configuration and contribute High Noon is a local
to the district by their mass. brewery and provides
a lively dining and
513 Delaware entertainment center
1899 for the community,
which has helped gen-
Despite storefront and window insert alterations, this building retains much of its erate interest in con-
original building material, ornamentation and Classical Revival stylistic idioms. verting historic ware-
It conveys clear associations with its period of construction and with its original houses to present day
commercial and organizational use. It retains all of the window openings, string- uses.
courses, attached columns and cornice - all of which are dominant design fea-
tures. The transom window appears to be intact under paneling. The inappropri-
ate infill can be easily reversed without damaging the building's original materi-
Great Western Stove Company 510 Delaware
402-410 South 2nd Street c. 1890
This two-story, brick building
This complex of brick buildings has an ornate brick cornice with
occupies most of the west side of two arched openings surrounded
South Second Street at Choctaw by brick voussoirs and project-
Street, forming an L-plan. The pri- ing pilasters resting on rounded
mary building, located on the stone bases. The first story of
northeast corner of the block, con- the building incorporates two
structed in 1874, is a four-story storefronts, both of which reflect
building with a stone foundation. It sensitive alterations and retain
has two primary facades facing their original configuration.
Choctaw and Second Streets. A
two-story, one-bay connecting 509 Delaware
brick addition that links the main 1890
building to a double hip roof,
stepped gable, symmetrical brick structure was constructed in 1900. It mirrors a This two-story, painted-brick building exhibits Italianate features commonly
building across Second Street. Each bay contains a double-hung sash window found in commercial buildings of the late 19th century. Those defining elements
with a pedimented lintel and cast iron sill, except for the central bay, which con- include the extruded and bracketed cornice, exaggerated bracketed window
tains a garage door bay. The four-story building is part of Tire Town, while the hoods, and the symmetrical arrangement of the fenestration. Doors providing
connected structure houses an active plumbing supply company. access to the second story are on either side of the double storefront, in the end
bays. The rectangular windows have stone sills and window hoods with exagger-
The defining historic elements of the building are intact, including the design, ated, stylized brackets. Despite the alteration to the storefront and the exterior
size, scale, massing, and materials. The original fenestration is intact, although paint, this building retains its original storefront material and character-defining
many windows have been replaced with modern units that fill the original open- architectural elements.
ings. In spite of these alterations, this building clearly conveys its integrity and
contributes to the significance of the District. 505-507 Delaware
Great Western Manufacturing Co.
411-419 South 3rd Street This painted brick building maintains its historic integrity through the retention
c. 1899, c. 1940 of the original configuration of its storefronts, the dominant, second-story win-
dow treatment, the upper façade's original brickwork, stringcourses, and the elab-
Unified School District #453 purchased the Leavenworth Foundry in 1985 and orate cornice.
converted it to its Service Center. The primary building was erected in 1899. The
window openings have cast iron sills and arched brick lintels. The building has a
high degree of historic integrity, retaining its location, materials, size, scale,
massing, fenestration, and character-defining elements, including its spatial rela-
tionship to Three Mile Creek. Of note: the foundry, one of the oldest in Kansas,
made titanium parts for the F-111 fighter jets prior to closing in 1984.
504-506 Delaware Great Western Stove Company
1883 401-419 South 2nd Street
1882, 1887, 1901 and 1934
This building's roofline is dom-
inated by a heavy, elaborately The primary building, constructed in 1882, is a four-story, symmetrical structure
decorated entablature and cor- on the corner at 2nd & Choctaw. A distinctive cupola ornament (with flagpole)
nice. The cornice design embellishes the parapet at the northwest corner of the roofline.
employs a central gable front
dormer for each storefront sec- A double hip roof building to the south was constructed in 1901. This is actually
tion, flanked by a projecting two buildings, each with a central clerestory, one running north and south and one
cornice supported by scroll running east and west. The other building has similar windows, but has a large
brackets. This building retains a sizable portion of its original ornamentation, fen- semi-circular window on a stone sill centrally located in the upper level.
estration, materials and design.
A two-story, brick addition was also added in 1905 to join the double hip roof
501-503 Delaware building to an elevator tower which was built to serve a five story building built
1938 in 1885 as a stand alone property. A concrete block building added in the 1930s
connects the main building to the five-story building and creates two interior
Several geometric forms provide the design motif courtyards, a feature that has attracted developers to this active secondary market
of this structure. Original elements include a tire warehouse (Tire Town).
recessed corner entry and continuous display win-
dows. The most distinguishing characteristic is the The property retains its original configuration and has had no significant alter-
1938, Art Deco red Carrara glass panels aside a ation since the block building was added in 1934. All of its defining characteris-
one-story bay that services the upstairs offices. tics are intact and it is truly the anchor property in the historic district. It was used
This building is representative of streamlined 20th as a tire produc-
century designs of the 1920s and 1930s. tion and ware-
With the advent
of the Landing
and Three Mile
and the City's
around the block,
the tire operations
are being moved
into one of the
Historical Industrial District Hollywood Theatre
Welcome to Leavenworth's Historical Industrial District. This is a fine example 1937
of an intact 19th century industrial, manufacturing and warehousing center. Its National Register
wealth in coal, beer, metallurgy contributed to its success. Our natural resources Property 1989
and location on the Missouri River are perhaps our greatest asset. Leavenworth's
early history as last vestige of civilization before wagon trains headed west made This two-and-one-half-story, concrete
Leavenworth a powerful place for industry to flourish, and she grew from a few building represents the Art Deco archi-
hundred people in 1854 to over 5,000 by the time Abraham Lincoln announced tectural style of the 1920s-1930s. The
his candidacy for President, here, in 1859. central vertical definition on the build-
ing's symmetrical south elevation
The buildings in this district speak volumes of the city's early importance to the emphasizes the marquee-entry area.
young nation's westward expansion. The district is bound on the east by the The marquee shelters two recessed
Missouri, on the south by Three Mile Creek (3MC) and follows an irregular entries and the ticket booth. The City
boundary from Third Street to Cherokee Street There are seven contributing Seal was painted in the recessed circle
buildings and one contributing feature (a brick alleyway mid block between which was originally painted pink and
Choctaw and Cherokee streets which retains its original integrity and provides a green. Small shop areas on either side have recessed entries and display windows.
glimpse of the brick streets buried under the City's asphalt). There are no non- This is used as the city's Performing Arts Center and is one of a handful of art
contributing structures in the district although several unsafe structures were deco theaters left in the state. It was placed on the Kansas Register of Historic
removed, and the vacated lots are used for parking. Places in 1985 and had to wait two years before it was qualified for submission
to the National Register. This is one of only two buildings downtown that were
S. L. North Carriage & Buggy, Freighting (Russell, Majors & Waddell), Munson on the National Register prior to submission of the district.
& Burrows Wood Manufacturing, Leavenworth Steam Boilerworks, Brandon &
Kirrmeyer Soda (pop), Keystone Mills, Missouri Valley Bridge, Leavenworth Yum Block
Carpet, Brown Medicine & Manufacturing, Union Stove and above all Malson & 213-223 S. Fifth Street
Wilson (later Great Western) flourished in the state's first industrial park in the c. 1880
1860's and 70's. By 1865, the town was the largest in the region with over 20,000
people. As with so much of Leavenworth's built heritage downtown, buildings The building's primary façade faces
were lost to fire, tornado and neglect making preservation of what remains, so west and contains five storefronts. It
much more important today. had been covered with tin siding for
over 30 years. In 2001, a storm tore
off pieces of the metal exterior sid-
ing creating a public safety hazard.
The property owners initially sought
to replace the metal with a seamless
aluminum siding, but the local land-
marks board successfully negotiated a tuckpoint and painting alternative, which
the owners accepted…and saved almost $50,000 in cost differential when local
tax incentives and grants were factored into the price. The building contributes
to the district more so because of its mass than its detail.
430 Delaware Angell House
1921 714 South Broadway
This two-story commer-
cial building with a tem- The Andrew Jackson Angell House was built between 1883-85 by James
ple front, gray Indiana McGonigle, who also built the Veterans Affairs Center and many other structures
limestone and Neo- throughout the state. The Kansas City Star once called this home "the most
Classical features corner authentically restored historical house in the state of Kansas," and it possesses
piers with classical detail- great architectural significance. Situated on over six acres, this Queen Anne-style
ing and columns with brick home has a total of 88 windows, 48 of which are stained and leaded glass.
Corinthian capitals and In the front of the house is the original iron fence atop its stone wall. In the rear
low, square plinths sup- of the property is the 2,750 square-foot carriage house, which once housed ser-
port a wide entablature and pediment. The design of the pediment incorporates vants and horses.
dentils. Wrought iron fencing inhibits passage to the centralized entry.
The interior of the home is perhaps even more impressive than the outside. The
Corner Pharmacy front entry hall has two foyers, with solid cherry woodwork and floors of quar-
(AXA Building) ter-sawn oak with walnut and maple parquetry. Its original wallpaper had a wood
429 Delaware backing and was known as Lincrusta Walton. The ornate staircase is made of
1905 cherry, with a bridal balcony overlooking the stairs. Each room has its unique
National Register cherry, oak, maple, fir, or combinations thereof, with special carvings. The third
Property 1976 floor has 1,700 square feet, and originally served as a ballroom/studio and ladies
meeting and sewing rooms. Parquet floors, leaded glass windows, and embossed
This two-and-one-half-story, sym- brass are found throughout the house. The nine coal fireplaces have been con-
metrically massed, red-and-tan brick verted to gas.
building has an eclectic combination
of stylistic ornamentation. Classical A. J. Angell came to Kansas prior to the Civil War, and served in Company G, 1st
terra-cotta ornamentation decorates Kansas Volunteer Infantry during the war. In 1870, he purchased Cutts Lumber
the wide arch surrounding the main Company and renamed it
west side entrance. Upper elevation after himself. By 1883 he
windows are slanted bays with was making over $100,000
bracketed, arched hoods, or are rec- annually from this busi-
tangular openings with contrasting ness. His ownership of a
brick surrounds and cornices with successful lumber compa-
elaborate keystones. Contrasting ny explains the great vari-
brick also creates quoins on all of the building's corners. The upper half story ety and quality of woods
forms an entablature punctuated by regularly spaced windows between paired within the home.
scroll brackets that support a molded cornice. Dentils follow the upper line of the Unfortunately, Mr. Angell
entablature. This is Leavenworth's fanciest downtown building and currently died a scant three months
houses the Corner Pharmacy and old-fashioned soda fountain. after moving into the house
in 1885 from tuberculosis.
Leavenworth Public Library 427 Delaware
(Carnegie Library) c. 1905
601 South 5th Street
1902 This two-story, symmetrical, dark-red brick building is an example of early 20th
century Revival and Colonial Revival design idioms. On the classically designed
When the Leavenworth Public Library upper façade, brick piers frame a single bay and extend above the parapet to form
opened on May 1, 1902, it was the cul- posts for a wrought iron balustrade. A wide entablature and decorative cornice
mination of numerous literary efforts in complete the elevation's design. Despite modern renovation, the building's mass
the community over the previous forty- is important to the district.
one years. In 1861, Leavenworth estab-
lished the first public library in Kansas, Dollar General
yet in 1868 the city's library was con- 421-423 Delaware
sumed in the fire that destroyed most of 1914
the business district. The Whittier Club
organized the Leavenworth Free Public Library in 1895, and it opened a library This three-story, symmetrical brick
in a downtown building. In 1899, Leavenworth voted a tax levy for a public building has classical terra-cotta
library. Women's clubs raised $3,000 and steel magnate Andrew Carnegie con- ornamentation. The storefront
tributed $30,000 toward the construction of a new library. This library served the housed F.W. Woolworth Co. and fea-
city for eighty-four years, until in 1986 construction began on the new library on tures a recessed entry with classical
Spruce Street. This impressive edifice was built of gray brick and Bedford stone.. ornamented surrounds. The Masonic
It has two Ionic columns on either side of the door with a portico and wide stairs, Block includes another small shop
flanked by square columns leading to the entrance. The entablature has the build- with a recessed entry. Brick pillars
ing date in Roman numerals and "Public Library" inscribed, and a pediment with separate the upper story bays. The
a sculpted flame, open book, and foliage ornament in the center. The portico has brick pillars and the spandrels below the windows have terra-cotta tiles. A dentil
cornice molding and dentils, and all ornamentation is of terra cotta. The lot is course, brackets, an elaborate molded cornice, and ornamented parapet cap the
naturally elevated, and the structure dominates its surroundings. It is an outstand- building. This property has retained its architectural elements representative of
ing example of Classical Revival-style architecture at the turn of the century. period style with a high degree of integrity.
Initially, the first floor was for the books, and the second floor contained an audi- 417 Delaware
torium/club room. Prominent interior features include plaster work of bead edg- 1870
ing on arches; walnut woodwork on the columns, fireplace mantel and surround,
and window frames; and the front winding staircase. There were approximately This three-story, three-bay, symmetrical-painted brick building exhibits Italianate
sixty Carnegie libraries built in Kansas between 1900-1916. This was among the ornamentation above its remodeled storefront. A 1930 alteration changed the
first in the state and is a fine example of a surviving Carnegie Library. It is sig- original storefront configuration to a deeply recessed entry flanked by display
nificant for its visual integrity and its association with the philanthropist who pro- windows. A temporary panel runs above the storefront openings to the sills of the
vided most of the building funds. Its siting on high ground at 5th and Walnut second-story windows covering the transom area. The third story windows have
Streets add to its historical and architectural appeal. While modifications have a full arch and the arched window hoods have keystones. The building terminates
been made to the interior, most of the original architecture has been maintained. with a paneled entablature, elaborate brackets, corbelling, and a projecting mold-
Since 1987, the structure has housed the Carnegie Arts Center. ed cornice. With the exception of some minor storefront alterations, the building
retains a high degree of integrity.
414 Delaware Davis House
c. 1940 610 Olive Street
Late 19th Century
This two-story, buff-brick
building contains a grouping This late 19th Century two-
of four, tall, aluminum, story frame Victorian-era
stacked vent awning win- house has an asphalt-shingled
dows. The first story is com- front-gable roof. A west side
prised of storefront win- wing has a one-story bay win-
dows. The west section dow with decorative metal
retains its original, curved glass recessed storefront surrounded by Carrara glass. cresting and, on the roof
above, a steep decorative
Dix Office Supply gable with Gothic Revival-
409-413 Delaware style influence. On the east
c. 1900 side is a two-story bay win-
dow with tall windows on the first story. Other features include a stone founda-
This three-story building lost its tion, interior and exterior brick chimneys, and a one-story rear wing. A two-story
original cast-iron window hoods; a carriage house is a contributing structure to the district. It abuts the Harvey
recent restoration replicated them Carriage House.
in paint. The two-over-two light,
double-hung sash windows are For many years, this was the home of the Davis family. Mr. Homer Davis was a
original. Applied brick pilasters prominent lawyer who was very active in local organizations and politics.
rise past the cornice to a finial. Currently, his son, Judge Bob Davis, is a member of the Kansas Supreme Court.
Signage panels cover the original
transom windows. The modern Farrell House
storefronts retain the original cast 608 Olive Street
iron posts. This building compli-
ments the Masonic block. This two-story home is identified
as the William H. Farrell House in
412 & 408 Delaware an 1869 illustration of
c. 1910 Leavenworth. Farrell first appears
as a resident of Olive Street in an
These two-story, buff-brick buildings have been modernized with wood panels 1872 directory and soon after is
over the original transoms and aluminum and glass storefronts and canopy style listed as the occupant of 608 Olive.
awnings. The retained, original architectural elements are sufficient to communi-
cate the building's original design, feelings and associations despite the 1980s
renovations. Twenty years from now, they might qualify as historic to their era,
but the modernization efforts are reversible.
carriage house is now home to 400-402 Delaware
the National Carousel 1860, 1905
Association. The property was
listed on the National Register of This two-story building is one
Historic Places in 1977 and of the downtown's original
serves as the paramount structure grand commercial properties.
in the district. It once housed Russell, Majors
and Waddell, the outfitters who
Several sources point to 1869 as later became the postal con-
the date of construction for this tractor that created the Pony
house, which was built for Express (albeit in St. Joseph,
banker and real estate broker Missouri). Prior to its use as a
Alexander A. Higginbotham. title company, it was the
The property's second owner was Manufacturers State Bank
Harvey D. Rush, who controlled (Commerce Bank today). The primary façade (south) ground floor has two
local flourmills and coal mines entrances. The eastern entrance contains a 1905 Colonial Revival style entry.
and is said to have operated one The eastern entry is a modern storefront. The fenestration and ornamentation on
of the largest grain elevators in the east elevation (Fourth Street) is similar to that of the south elevation. The
the West. Rush sold the house to early 20th century remodeled (eastern) storefront represents a historical "modern-
Frederick H. Harvey in 1883 who ization" characteristic of retail commercial centers at the turn-of-the-century.
made it the family home until the Despite the replacement of some of the window sashes, this building retains a
1940s. high degree of architectural integrity.
Harvey (1835-1901), a native of England, was appointed as western freight agent 600 Block Cherokee
for the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad in 1863 and came to
Leavenworth in 1865. Harvey grew dissatisfied with the poor quality of railroad The 600 Block of Cherokee Street was included in this district because the cen-
dining facilities and in the 1870s he began to purchase and operate restaurants. ter structures (604-612) are an intact 1880s block of buildings. The carnival
This was the origin of the Harvey House chain of restaurants which were located style, Spanish Colonial gas station on the west end of the block is a 1930s infill,
along the line of the Santa Fe Railroad and which established a national reputa- a style that is vanishing from the country's landscape. Although this was proba-
tion for quality fare and service. The chain eventually operated 50 Fred Harvey bly not the first gas station built to serve motorists, it is the oldest remaining such
Houses and 20 dining cars. The restaurants were staffed over the years by thou- structure from that early era.
sands of demure and immaculately dressed Harvey Girls who themselves became
fixtures in Western lore and motion pictures.
Fred Harvey's widow and daughter Sybil lived in the house after his death. In
1944, the house was given to Cushing Memorial Hospital for use as a nurse's
home and in 1949 it was transferred to the Leavenworth Board of Education for
use as administrative offices. The Leavenworth Historical Museum Association
now owns the Harvey House and is the process of renovating the building and
then converting it to a museum.
604-606 Cherokee Sybil Harvey House
1887 625 Olive Street
The Oasis Café is currently idle but
the owner restored the building for the This two-story house, which com-
restaurant with apartments on the bines Queen Anne, Romanesque,
upper level. This two-story, symmet- and Classical Revival stylistic
rically massed, red-brick commercial attributes, is constructed of
block has elaborate Italianate orna- smooth brick. Famed
mentation and multiple storefront Leavenworth architect William P.
bays. Huge brackets support the cor- Feth designed the house for the
nice and hood. All of the important Harvey family, who resided
character-defining architectural fea- across the street. Mr. Harvey ini-
tures and ornamentation remain. Originally constructed as the Cleverdon Drug tiated construction of this house
Company, the building has also housed the BPOEOW, known locally as the for his daughter Sybil.
Black Elks, before its conversion to a restaurant in the early 1990s. Unfortunately he passed away in
1901 before the house was com-
610-614 Cherokee pleted.
Sybil Harvey may have lived in the home for a short period, but she eventually
The size, scale, massing, much of the original material, setting, and association lived with her mother at the 624 Olive address. After her mother died, Sybil
with their era help these two buildings contribute to the district. remained in the home even after her marriage to banker Sylvester Parker in the
1920s. In 1927 the house was sold to Henry Kaufmann, who operated a grocery
630 Cherokee in the neighborhood.
Frederick H. Harvey House
This one-story, asymmetrically 624 Olive Street
massed, brick curved "L" plan 1869
building is on a corner lot at 7th
and Cherokee Streets. It is one of This two-story stone house is a premiere example of the Second Empire Style in
the few surviving examples of the Leavenworth and is nationally notable for its association with restaurant pioneer
"carnival" style of early auto-serv- Frederick H. Harvey, the first "chain" restaurateur in the western half of the
ice stations. Terra-cotta pilasters United States. The impressive architectural detail and cream-colored Junction
topped with urn-shaped ornamen- City limestone walls rise above a foundation of lighter colored stone. The build-
tation separate the three service ing boasts flamboyant masonry detail at the corners, roof and windows.
bays. The south end wall has arched, recessed garage door entrances with over-
head, incised lettering detailing the gas station services offered. This property Bands of buff-colored brickwork mark or fill the points of attachment for porch-
has had no exterior alterations over time. es that formerly extended across the front elevation and the west side. The
grounds preserve many historic and later features. Low stone retaining walls
topped by iron fences extend along Seventh and Olive streets and the two-story
Callahan House 700 Cherokee
802 South 7th Street 1865
Originally built as a grocery store, this three-story brick building was also the
This two-story frame Colonial Revival-style house was built by Drugstore owner Burlington Hotel and it recently reopened as the Market Place Bakery. It is one
J. H. Callahan in 1922. His architect was Myron K. Feth of the Leavenworth firm of a handful of three-story buildings remaining in the Central Business District,
Feth & Feth and his builder was Henry Grote. Callahan's pharmacy was located and it is one of the original downtown buildings.
nearby at 900 Fifth Avenue. The house is built on fill over a sunken area that is
said to have once had tennis courts. In 1889 several small buildings including a
meat market and a feed store stood on the lot. 702 Cherokee
720 South 7th Street This two-story, red-brick building reflects popular late 19th century commercial
1900 design idioms. A wood-frame storefront within the façade's brick framework also
features iron storefront posts. On the second story, slightly arched, four-over-four
This structure is one of the light, double-hung sash windows have stone sills and soldier course brick
finest residential properties in “hoods.” Brick stringcourses and dentils decorate the parapet wall. This build-
Leavenworth. The two-story ing retains sufficient integrity to be a contributing resource to the District. It
Queen Anne/Romanesque-style houses a European pottery store.
house of smooth brick construc-
tion has an asphalt-shingled hip Abierto Puerto
roof with pediment gable dorm- 704 Cherokee
ers and fish scale wood-shingle 1897
sheathing, battered sides, and
shield-like ornaments and dentil This two-story, brick commercial build-
moldings in the pediments. The ing features Jacobethan Revival-style
exterior has several types of details - steeply pitched parapet-front
decorative brickwork including gables, polychrome coat of arms orna-
banded, projecting brick below mentation in the gables flanked by verti-
the level of the first-story windows on the south elevation, a rectangular spandrel cal pilasters, cast stone trim, and tall,
with multiple recesses between the first and second-story windows. At the north- narrow, paired windows. Suspended
east front comer, sits two-story bay window with round comer piers and a large brick pilasters pierce a stone cornice and
first-story window with decorative upper sash. Other features include a stone terminate just below the roofline with
foundation, an interior brick chimney with a T-shaped cross section, cut-away small stone pediments. Centered above
front comers and a second-story balcony on the south elevation. Attached to the each paired window opening are two gable dormers that project above the
north side of the house is a 1990s two-story wing (the second story on level with roofline. Originally Ressmeyer's Grocery, it is presently owned by a retail import
the first story of the house) that harmonizes with the house architecturally. business.
Chauncey L. Knapp was the founder and owner of C. L. Knapp & Co. The pres-
ent house was probably built about 1900 and is similar to period designs by
Leavenworth architect William P. Feth.
Insley House & 900 Fourth Avenue
602 Seneca Street
C. 1860 This two-story frame Victorian-era
house has weatherboard siding and
The original brick structure at an asphalt-shingled hip roof with a
this location was built in the small shed dormer and a cornice
late 1850s. Major additions that incorporates dentil moldings
were made to the house in and modillion-like elements. The
1865-66. Quite possibly, many front entry has sidelights and a tran-
of the materials used were left som in a paneled embrasure. Other
over from the construction of features include a stone foundation,
the impressive Thomas C. interior brick chimneys, side entries, and tall (to floor) windows on the first-story
Stevens home on South Esplanade, which occupied the grounds between Arch front. The house appears on the 1876 Hunnius map and on the 1889 Sanborn
and Vine Streets. In 1883, interior changes were made to accommodate plumb- map, although a rear one-story section was enlarged to two stories between 1889
ing, for this was the first year it was available in the city. The home evolved into and 1897.
an Italianate style, and it is probably the best surviving example in Leavenworth
of this style of architecture. 700 Spruce Street
The Insley House has solid brick interior walls, which are substantial for an early mid-late 20th Century
building. It is a two-story structure with a stone foundation and a truncated hip
roof. The home faces south and has three bays, and an arched doorway contains This one-and-two-story commercial
an etched glass transom with the address number. The frame porch on the east is building evolved as the result of
of Italianate design. Side lights and a transom surround the door on the east side, two or more phases of construction
which was the main entrance until the 1866 alterations. All windows from the spanning the final quarter of the
1866 addition are double hung, solid plate glass units. Upper story windows have 19th Century and was architectural-
molded surrounds, semi-circular arched hoods, and keystones while first story ly unified by a single façade treat-
windows have molded surrounds and segmental arch hoods. An 1883 fountain ment towards the end of its evolu-
built on the northeast corner of the property no longer exists, although the origi- tion. The two-story sections along
nal c. 1866 brick outhouse is north of the property on the alley. West of the home South Seventh Street have stretcher-bond brickwork and metal-sheathed shed
and to the rear of the property is a c. 1874-75 carriage house. Brick sidewalks roofs behind parapets. The principal elevation along South Seventh, which wraps
and a wrought iron fence surround the property on the east and south sides. In a short distance along Spruce Street, has a parapet that incorporates brick cor-
1863 entrepreneur and banker John Kerr bought the house for $1,500, and he belling and cross-shaped recesses below a fringed wooden cornice with a canted
completed the major addition to the home in 1866. Later that year, Merritt H. frieze with an incised scrolling design. The two-story sections of the building
Insley, an entrepreneur and financier in town, bought the property for $20,000. appear in their present form on the 1889 Sanborn map. A grocery occupied the
Captain Insley was a partner in the banking firm of Insley, Shire and Company, south end and a meat market the north end. Porches or awnings formerly extend-
and treasurer of the Missouri River Bridge Company and the Leavenworth Cattle ed into Spruce and Fifth streets. The one-story additions were made to the west
Company. In 1894 Insley's investments turned sour in the depressed economic side between 1889 and 1897; the north addition contained a grocery warehouse.
climate in the late 19th century, and he sold the property. A retail store occupied the building in 1924 and 1949. Currently, the building is
used as apartments.
Hose House No. 2 Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe
903 Fifth Avenue Railroad Passenger Depot
Late 19th Century (Santa Fe Depot)
781 Shawnee Street
This two-story structure was originally 1887
Hose House No. 2 and the original vehicles
were horse drawn. In 1905 it was labeled This structure was built in 1887 as a passenger and freight depot, possibly by J.A.
Fire Department No. 2 and housed the city's McGonigle, a prominent Leavenworth builder. It was located west of the city's
first "hook & ladder truck." The fire depart- central business district, and near the north-south lines built in the 1870s for the
ment vacated the building in 1973. A local Leavenworth, Lawrence, and Galveston Railroad Company. It served as a pas-
dry cleaning firm occupied the structure senger depot for the Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe and as a station for the Fort
until the current owners acquired it. It is Leavenworth/Kansas City Interurban Railway until the early 1930s. It was then
currently used as an electrical supply store. converted to a freight depot, and an addition on the south elevation was construct-
ed at that time.
901 Fifth Avenue The architectural style of this pink sandstone building is Richardsonian
Circa 1880, 1930 Romanesque. It is 1 ½ stories tall, and is located on the east side of two pairs of
tracks. The primary façade faces west and has a circular bay with a conical roof,
This two-story commercial building was built in 1880. which was a room for the station master. The hip roof has three gable projections,
An 1889 map identifies the building as a grocery store, which on the north and east sides shelter entry arcades. On the interior, separate
a confectionery shop in 1897, a barbershop in 1905 waiting rooms were built for men and women.
and a stationery shop in 1913. It once contained the
Fields family drugstore. The tile-block addition was The depot is culturally significant, and maintains a high degree of integrity. The
made between 1924 and 1949 and was used as a original configura-
church in 1949. In the 1960s the building housed tion and architec-
Clark's Cleaners, which expanded into the adjoining tural elements
fire station at 903 Fifth Avenue in 1973 and connected the two buildings with a remain intact. In
small cinder block hyphen. The present owners acquired the building and 1982 it ceased
restored it using a photograph as their principal source. The restoration won an operation as a
award from the Kansas Preservation Alliance in 1999. It is currently a gift shop. freight depot, and
was bought by a
Callahan Building private investor.
900 Fifth Avenue The depot has
1940 been used since
then primarily as a
This two-story commercial building of smooth brick construction was built by J. restaurant. In
H. Callahan, who lived nearby at 802 South Seventh and operated a pharmacy 1986, it was added
here in the early 20th Century. The building also once contained the Putnam Drug to the National
Store. Currently, a jewelry store occupies this structure and operates as Lloyds Register of
of Leavenworth. Historic Places.
North Broadway Historic District Union Park Historic District
North Broadway Historic District contains some of Leavenworth's earliest man- The Union Park Historic District occupies approximately six acres just south of
sions anchored by St. Joseph's Catholic Church, the German parish built in an era the central business district. Its shape clearly marks this landscaped park as a
when segregation was not limited to races but included nationalities. Immaculate unique, attractive showpiece for the city. The district straddles two subdivisions
Conception (to the north and east) served the Italians, to the south and central, St. platted in 1857, the Clark and Rees Addition and Day's Addition, platted only
Casmir served the Poles, and Sacred Heart served the rest, and that was just the three years after the founding of the original town in 1854. The unusual shape is
Catholic faiths. The District is in the city's 1858 Western Addition with North attributed to a survey correction to properly align 7th Street north to south
Broadway Street serving as the main boulevard in the middle of the subdivision. because the original town plat was surveyed parallel to the Missouri River rather
Broadway Street is also in the center of the district. Developer Elijah Hughes than on a magnetic north grid. The result was a triangle-shaped parcel. In
intended for Broadway to be mansion-lined with smaller houses to be built on December 1870, local citizens dedicated this parcel "for a Public Park for the use
smaller lots on the cross streets (Miami, Osage and Ottawa). By 1865, when the of the Public forever." Eventually, the park became known as Union Park.
majority of the grand homes were built here, Leavenworth had five local brick- Though we are uncertain as to its origin, the park's name "Union" was common-
yards, the Phoenix Foundry, a cast iron manufacturer, granite and limestone quar- ly applied to public and commercial structures to commemorate the victory of
ries, and lumber in abundance. These resources enabled Leavenworth to build Union forces in the American Civil War. Leavenworth was home to several union
considerable structures at a time in the state's early history when many settlers veteran organizations, which probably influenced the widespread acceptance of
lived in sod huts. the park's name.
St. Joseph’s Church with its Gothic inspired details was designed and built by In the 1880s, a fountain, fence and trees were added to enhance the park. In the
Cyril Knoll, a Carmelite Father, who then received the parish in 1864 (a common late 1990s, the park began to seriously deteriorate until it became obvious that a
practice). High style Italianate, Queen Anne, Romanesque and Victorian styles major effort was necessary to save and rehabilitate this piece of Leavenworth his-
are noted in the ensuing descriptions. tory. In 1997, interest in the park gained momentum. A significant volunteer
effort returned the park to its former beauty and place among Leavenworth's
This seven acre, compact district is important because its 39 contributing struc- many attractions. Members from the Master Gardener program planted and
tures retain their integrity of location, design, setting, materials, workmanship revived the park's landscape. A replica fountain along with period-style lamps
and association with their era of construction. completed the work; this allowed the city to re-dedicate the park in 1999 helped
by a grant from the Kansas City 150th anniversary fund.
Fred C. Schulte House
201 North Broadway The Union Park Historic District possesses a high degree of integrity both over-
c. 1930 all and in its constituent parts. There are 11 featured structures or sites in the dis-
trict. The majority was built to serve as single-family dwellings, but also include
This two-story frame Colonial businesses, a firehouse, carriage houses and the park itself. Today, most structures
Revival-style house has a rough are single family homes. The houses represent a variety of styles including
stucco exterior on the first Italianate, Second Empire, Queen Anne, Victorian, Romanesque, Craftsman,
story, wood-shingle siding on Classical Revival, and Colonial Revival. These vivid architectural representa-
the jettied second story, and a tives create a sense of time and community for the district and contribute to the
gable roof. The front entry has a 19th Century Greek Revival surround with side- rich legacy of early Leavenworth, the "First City of Kansas.”
lights, a transom, and pilasters with a checkered design on their faces (the sur-
round may have been reused from another dwelling). Exterior chimneys of tex-
tured variegated brick rise on the south gable end and the end of a two-story ell.
Carroll Mansion Martin House
1128 5th Avenue 217 North Broadway
c. 1857 c. 1888
The first section of this This story-and-a-half frame
house was built c. 1857, Victorian-era house of L-shaped form
and it was a two-story, with a front portch has vernacular
four room, frame house classical colonnettes and square-sec-
with a one-story rear tion balusters. Other features include
kitchen wing. In about a bay window on the south side and a
1867, owner John one-story rear wing. The house
McCullough Foster built appears in its present form on the
a two-story, eight room 1889 Sanborn map.
addition to the front
wing. It was constructed Apartment Buildings
of brick in the Italianate 219, 221, 223 North
style, and he also Broadway &
enclosed the original frame dwelling in brick. In 1882 the farm and property 767, 769 Miami
were sold to banker Lucien Scott and his wife Julia. They added the north wing, Late 1920s
cupolas on the roofs, the front and other frame porches, and installed plumbing
and gas lighting at a cost of approximately $50,000. The architectural style of the These two-story frame Craftsman-
home is Victorian, with Italianate influences still evident. The roof shapes style apartment buildings have
include hip, truncated hip, octagonal hip, and gable forms, and both roof projec- weatherboard siding and a hip roof
tions have iron fretwork. An upper story porch is centered above the wrap around with exposed rafter ends and a
porch in the south side. Almost all the windows have modified arch openings gabled dormer. There are double
with brick lintels and stone sills. Windows in the c. 1857 structure are 6/6, while two-tier front porches under hip
the others are mullionless. The foundation is stone, and of the four chimneys, roofs with modern posts and square-
only one is decorated and in full public view. Oak double entry doors open into section balusters on the lower tiers and original square-section wood columns and
a vestibule also with double doors and stained glass windows. square-section balusters on the upper tiers. The buildings were built as in-fill
apartment buildings and have been used for this purpose ever since.
George McKenna, Lucien Scott's architect, carved the beautiful and intricate
woodcarvings for the window and door facings in the parlor, foyer, library, and Garden
dining room. Other interior additions made by Scott include parquet floors, 300 North Broadway
extensive wainscoting, ornamental woodwork, and many stained glass windows.
This garden, occupies the corner of Miami and North Broadway. The garden has
In c. 1888 Edward Carroll, later President of the Leavenworth National Bank, a sandstone flagstone walkway, flower beds, and ornamental shrubs. There is an
purchased the property. He lived here until his death in 1917. In 1965 his daugh- ivy-covered grotto of rough sandstone construction that contains a Madonna and
ter, Miss Ella, donated the house to the Leavenworth County Historical Society. Child statue in a niche (1940 era) and a boulder to which is attached a
It is now the headquarters of the Historical Society, and can be visited for a mod- Leavenworth County Historical Society plaque. The garden has historically been
est admission charge. associated with St. Joseph’s Catholic Church and priory.
St. Joseph Catholic Burt House
Church 400 5th Avenue
306 North Broadway (1200 5th Avenue)
1868, 1891 c. 1895
St. Joseph's is a significant In c. 1895, Nathaniel
anchor near the south end of the Henry Burt purchased this
district. This Gothic Revival- property from the estate of
style nave-plan church is con- Edward Carroll, who had
structed of random-course lived just to the north, for
American-bond brick with pink $5000. Well-known
mortar joints and has a hip/gable roof with flared eaves. The dominant element architect William P. Feth
is a center entry tower with a metal-sheathed octagonal spire with a cross finial was hired for the design
above a belfry with clock. Below the belfry is a trefoil-arched niche with stone work. This structure is
trim, a large lancet-arched stained-glass window in a splayed opening with a representative of the
stone keystone and sill, and, at the base of the tower, a lancet-arched entry with architecture in the last decade of the 19th century. Constructed of dark red-brown
a painted molded stone surround. The corner piers of the church and tower proj- brick with a rough-cut stone foundation, this two-and-one-half story house has
ect above the roof eaves and have pyramidal caps. The church and tower have three bays and rounded corners on the front. The roof includes truncated hip,
cornices with a band of machicolation-like blind lancet arches. At the east end of gable, and conical forms. The rectangular window openings have double hung
the nave is a polygonal apse and lower flanking hipped wings. The church is units and smooth cut stone lintels and sills. The end bays of the first elevation
attached to St. Joseph's school, added in 1891 with Gothic Revival features have one story, Colonial Revival porches attached, connected by a balustrade
designed to match the main structure. wrapping around the circular central bay.
Thomas Helmers House The interior of this magnificent home boasts oak and maple woodwork; oak
307 North Broadway pocket doors leading from the foyer to the living, dining and music rooms; and
c. 1880; c. 1900; 1922 nine-foot ceilings. The house contains fourteen rooms, 3 ½ bathrooms, five fire-
places, five bedrooms, and from 5000-6000 square feet of living space. The
This two-story Richardson Romanesque- immense staircase features three large curved stained glass windows. Except for
style house is constructed or faced with the chandelier in the foyer that came from the Terrace des Italiens ("The Castle")
smooth stretcher-bond brick. An elaborate when it was torn down in the 1940s, and a few brass wall fixtures from the
front dormer has an arched brick and stone Rookery at Fort Leavenworth (the oldest home in Kansas), the light fixtures are
parapet with scrolled trim, a heavy keystone, original to the house.
and a round-arched window that opens onto a balcony with a brick and wood
balustrade. There are two other dormers, both hipped, with round-arched win- Mr. Burt was the President of the Great Western Stove Company, which by 1880
dows, a round-arched first-story window with projecting brick voussoir-like ele- was building 25,000 stoves per year. In 1915 he purchased the land to the west
ments in the arch, and an inset one-story porch. The porch was extended (prob- of the home and built a 1,500 square foot carriage house, which has since been
ably in 1922) by a porte cochere with paired Doric columns on stone pedestals. converted to living quarters. When he died in 1923, his oldest son Nathaniel Pratt
A one-story sunroom features casement windows. The property includes one of Burt inherited the home. He lived here until his death in 1960, and in 1962 it left
several extant limestone mounting blocks dotted around Northeast Leavenworth, the Burt family. This house retains a high degree of historic integrity, and is one
formerly used to mount passengers into carriages. of the most elegant homes in town.
Brewer House John & Mary
(Southeast Lamber House
corner of Middle 311 North Broadway
and 5th Avenue) 1863
This two-story frame Greek
The Brewer House is a Revival-style house features an
large, two-story, white entry with sidelights and a transom,
frame house. It was built and a one-story garage with match-
with an "L" variation, board doors dating to 1920. Rather
and has a bracketed roof. than convert a carriage house, the
Built c. 1870 by Judge garage was built for a horseless car-
Harvey Wellington Ide, riage.
he sold it to his friend
Judge David Brewer in
1880. It is the associa- Henry W. Gillett House
tion with this prominent man that primarily gives this home its historic signifi- 319 North Broadway
cance. 1867; 1895
David Josiah Brewer was born in 1837 to missionary parents in Smyrna (now This two-story Italianate is the oldest
Ismir), Turkey. He graduated from Yale University in 1856, and by 1859 he had structure in the district. The ornate
arrived in Leavenworth and soon became an accomplished attorney. In 1862 he bracketed cornice features paired brack-
was elected judge of the probate and criminal courts of Leavenworth County. In ets on foliated corbels, a dentil molding,
1864 he was President of the Leavenworth Board of Education and was elected a paneled frieze with lozenge motif, and
judge of the district court for the 1st Judicial District of Kansas. From 1870-84 a paneled soffit. The front entry has a
he served as an Associate Justice of the Kansas Supreme Court. In 1889 paneled embrasure and double-leaf nat-
President Benjamin Harrison nominated him to serve as an Associate Justice of ural finish wood doors with round-
the United States Supreme Court, the first man west of the Mississippi to receive arched glass panels. The windows have
this appointment. He served the nation in this capacity until his death from boldly projecting segmental-arched
apoplexy in 1910. For forty-eight years he was a public servant, all but two of cast-iron lintels with console-type corbels; those on the front second story have
these years on the bench. fleur-de-lis crests. The concrete front walk has a brownstone border, near it stand
two stone hitching posts with chamfered corners and iron rings. A brownstone
On constitutional matters he was known as a strict constructionist, believing it sidewalk flagstone survives at the corner of North Broadway and Osage.
was wrong to amend the Constitution by interpretation. In late 1907, Kansas
Governor S. J. Crawford wrote a letter recommending that Justice Brewer be
nominated for President. He was a dedicated Christian and was extremely active
in the Leavenworth's First Congregational Church. While in Washington, D.C.,
he taught a Bible class in the First Congregational Church there. In 1957,
Leavenworth dedicated the new David J. Brewer School at 17th and Osage
Streets in his honor.
Harry Jenkins House Vanderschmidt House
403 North Broadway 614 Middle Street
c. 1920 1890s
This one-story brick This two-story frame Victorian-era house with a gable roof has a two-tier front
Craftsman-style bungalow has porch that features a screened lower tier with Doric columns and square-section
a shed dormer and a hipped balusters and a partly enclosed, partly screened upper tier. The two-story front
extension that engages the wing has a round gable window in a decorative surround and a first-story bay
front porch. The house is con- window with a paneled apron with chamfered surrounds and a picture window
structed of Flemish variant that replaces the original double windows. The front entry has French doors and
five-course American-bond a transom. On the east gable end is a one-story bay window with Greek Revival-
brick. The porch has L-section style pilasters and panels with chamfered surrounds.
brick pillars and a brick half-
wall with stone coping. A partial enclosure has a segmental-arched entry with Continue on Middle Street one block and you will come to a T-intersection at
sidelights. Middle and 5th Avenue that features three National Historic Homes on your driv-
ing tour map. They are the Nathaniel Burt House, the Carroll Mansion, and the
Hillel Samisch House home of the first US Supreme Court Justice from Kansas, David Brewer. The
405 North Broadway homes are described in the National Register Properties part of this booklet.
c. 1920 From there, turn right on to Fifth Avenue and continue to Spruce Street where the
Union Park District begins.
This two-story frame Tudor
Revival/Craftsman-style house has a
stretcher-bond veneer of textured and
variegated brick up to the bottom of the
second-story windows with rough
stucco above. The hip roof has a
hipped dormer and two front gables
with diamond-shaped terra-cotta
accents in the gables. The front entry
opens onto a brick and concrete terrace and has a classical stoop with an arched
roof on consoles above Doric columns.
Labon and Julia Hopkins House Jacob & Christiana Gaiser
1132 Third Avenue House
early 1870s 406 North Broadway
This two-story Italianate-style brick house has
a hip roof with a bracketed cornice and origi- This two-story Queen Anne-style
nal or early gabled dormers. The one-story house of smooth stretcher-bond brick
front porch has chambered posts grouped in construction has a complex gable roof
twos and threes, a dentil cornice and a roof with elaborate gable ornament. The
balustrade. The segmental-arched front entry front gable ornament features a petaled
has sidelights and a transom, and windows are element with an inner ring of turned
a combination of segmental-arched 2/2 and spindles, a horizontal run of square-
round-arched 1/1. As you turn right on to section spindles below, and rake boards
Middle Street you will note the south side of with decorative appliques. The south
the house features a two-story bay window gable has a gridwork, a run of turned spindles below, pendant millwork with a
with projecting brick heads over the 2/2 win- heart motif, a decorative window in the gable itself, and rake boards with deco-
dows of the first story and a bracketed cornice with dentils. To the rear is a lower rative appliques. The property is bordered by brick sidewalks with pavers in her-
two-story wing with an entry stoop on triangular brackets that may be original. ringbone and basketweave patterns.
Julia E. Hopkins purchased this site in the early 1870s and evidence suggests she James & Louise
had the house erected soon thereafter. Julia's husband Labon E. Hopkins was an Davis House
attorney and city title examiner. 407 North Broadway
601 Middle Street
1865 This one-story frame house repre-
sents an unusual mix of Mission and
Across the street is a two-story Tudor Revival-style elements seen in
Victorian-era house of brick the juxtaposition of a rockfaced
construction. The one-story stone front gable end (containing the
front porch has chamfered entry in a round-arched recess) with
posts with molded bases and a stone and dark brick chimney with
caps, sawn brackets, and a weatherings, and in the small but-
bracketed cornice. The front tress-like element at the front south
entry has sidelights and a tran- corner. Other features include a round-arched window with diamond panes, a
som. An original one-story hipped dormer, and a telescoping rear wing with a small modern bay window.
brick wing extends across the
W. R VanTuyl House Ben Day School
410 North Broadway 1100 Third Avenue
Late 19th c. 1920
This two-story from the Late This two-story Tudor
Victorian-period is built of painted Revival-style school brick
seven-course American-bond building is basically rectangu-
brick construction has a hip roof lar in form. Two slightly pro-
with deck and two modern shed truding bays near the ends of
dormers on the north side. Other the front elevation have
features include two front entries, entries in plain stone sur-
a front gable with a pair of round- rounds below second-story
arched windows with decorative windows with false metal balcony railings with urn finials. Other front features
brick lintels, and an interior brick include sections of checkered brick and stucco frieze and octagonal stone plaques
chimney. in the parapets at both ends.
The school had been known as Third Avenue School for a number of years. It
Sol Cohen House served elementary students, then primary, and now early childhood programs;
411 North Broadway birth through kindergarten. In 1985, it was renamed Ben Day School. Following
1928 WWII, Mr. Benjamin Day was a teacher and coach at Lincoln, an all black
school, at that time. In 1970 he was appointed principal of this school, serving
This two-story Tudor Revival- here until 1978. He was elected the first black mayor of Leavenworth in 1972
style house has a jettied second and served four consecutive one-year terms (most mayors serve only one term).
story that is entirely false half-
timbered and, below, an entry 1128 Third Avenue
with a wood panel door under a 1868
shallow lancet arch. A one-
story shed-roofed sunroom on the south end appears to have been an open porch This two-story frame Victorian-era house with weatherboard siding and a hip
originally. The south exterior chimney has decorative brickwork panels. roof, has a five-bay front elevation. Other features lend support to the 1868 date
given by a wall plaque. The one-story front porch retains an original Gothic-
Daniel & Elizabeth inspired frieze incorporating quatrefoil motifs and a balustrade that repeats a
Anthony House fleur-de-lis motif. The original porch posts themselves have been replaced with
501 North Broadway Craftsman-style posts on brick pedestals. The front entry has an elaborate sur-
c. 1903 round with turned corner blocks, sidelights, and transoms with a diamond-pattern
under the sidelights are panels with cartouches. The 1/1 windows have molded
This two-story, wood-shingle-sided frame house is Queen Anne-style in charac- lintels; clusters of three colonettes to a side frame the center second-story win-
ter with Shingle-style and early Craftsman-style influence. The roof has over- dow.
hanging flared eaves, with elliptical arches over three one-light windows. The
one-story wraparound porch stands on rough stone pillars. The lot is bordered by
a stone retaining wall that was built about the same time as the house, and has
Lucien Baker House two carriage houses. A two-story
1036 Third Avenue frame carriage house contained an
1883, 1920s apartment with a full day room for
use by an employee. A one-story
This two-story Queen Anne- frame garage is referred to as an
style house has weatherboard "auto haus." on a 1905 Sanborn
siding and hip-and-gable roof. map. This may have been the first
The ornamental work in the "auto haus" built in Leavenworth.
front gable includes a fanfold The home is an exact replica of an
design. The screened one-story Atlantic Coast summerhouse
porch has Doric columns, where the Anthonys vacationed
square-section balusters and newels, and a roof balustrade. The present porch prior to moving west. Daniel R.
had replaced a wraparound porch (around 1924). There is a one-story bay win- Anthony, Jr., introduced the 19th
dow on the south side with a roof balustrade. Amendment to the US Constitution, giving women the right to vote.
U.S. Senator Lucien Baker and his wife Mary were the first occupants of this Allen-Anthony House
house. Baker came to Leavenworth about 1870 to practice law. In 1872 he was 519 North Broadway
elected City Attorney, followed by election to the state Senate in 1892 and serv- c. 1868; c. 1930
ice in the U.S. Senate from 1895-1901. Baker died in 1907 and his widow sold
the house in 1909. In 1910 it was acquired by Fred and Elnora Wulfekuhler, who This two-story Italianate/Classical
owned the wholesale grocery firm Rohling & Company. Revival-style house is constructed of
painted brick and has a hip roof with
517 Marshall Street a deck with an ornate metal
1920 balustrade. The bracketed cornice
has a paneled frieze. The corners of
This house is second from the corner. It is a two-story Craftsman-style the house are defined by stone
,Foursquare-form house with weatherboard siding, hip roof and hipped dormer quoins, and the segmental-arched
covered with modern fishscale wood-shingle sheathing. The one-story front windows have boldly defined sur-
porch stands on heavy square-section wood columns. Other features include 8/1 rounds, those on the front with key-
windows, a front entry with sidelights, and a three-part first story front window. stones. The front entry has a segmen-
tal-arched transom covered by a metal grille, and is contained within a surround
519 Marshall Street with fluted Corinthian columns and pilasters. The entry opens onto a concrete
1865 terrace with stone balusters and paneled piers. On the south elevation is a two-
story Classical Revival-style wing defined by monumental Doric columns. On
This two-story Victorian-era brick house has a one-story wraparound porch with the north elevation is a bay window with a bell roof, decorative windows, and a
a curved corner. There are segmental-arched 4/4 windows and a front entry with concrete base with panels ornamented with painted bas-relief figures of a lion,
an elliptical fanlight and double-leaf door. The one-story west side brick wing is urn, swags, ribbons, and plumage. Next to this feature is a round-arched stained-
either original to the house or a very early addition. The brick carriage house was glass window. A two-story wing on this elevation has a one-story bay window
built with segmental-arched openings with built-out garage type doors, and star- below a triple window. Visitors to this home included Susan B. Anthony,
shaped iron tie rod ends. President William Howard Taft and most recently, Melissa Etheridge. Daniel
Reed Anthony founded The Leavenworth Daily Conservative in 1861, the year Delahay House
Kansas became a state. As a free stater, Anthony dueled (and killed) pro-slaver 1029 Third Avenue
RC Slatterlee. Later that year he was commissioned a Lieutenant Colonel in the 1859, 1872
Union Army (7th KS Regiment). He was beaten, shot, and was always in the
thick of Leavenworth's early days. His epitaph reads: "He helped to make This two-story house has a five-bay
Kansas a free state, he fought to save the Union. He was no hypocrite." In his front, seven-course American-bond
time he was far more important on the local, regional and national platform than brick walls, gabled roof, and a num-
Buffalo Bill, George Custer or others who became more notable after they left ber of notable Greek Revival-style
town. features. Foremost among these is the
one-story front porch, which stands
Other North Broadway Homes on tapered round wood columns with
of Historic Interest rippled surfaces that evoke fluting.
Against the house walls are flat Doric pilasters with the original bases with
Two significant structures near the rounded-arch panels. The front entry has a Doric surround with a dentil cornice,
North Broadway Historic District are molded jambs, sidelights, and transom. A second story entry directly above is
worth noting. The Ado Hunnius similar but narrower and leads to the roof balcony.
House at 610 North Broadway is
under reconstruction (2004); Mr. The house was built by a Kentuckian named James B. Newland in 1859. In 1863
Hunnius was a draftsman, artist and Mark Delahay, a Republican activist, who is remembered for arranging Abraham
cartographer who created many of Lincoln's visit to Leavenworth in 1859, purchased it. His wife, Louisiana Hanks
the "Birds' Eye View" maps of area Delahay was Lincoln's second cousin. Following the death of Mr. Delahay in
communities from 1863 through the 1876, Mrs. Delahay and her younger daughter, Mary, moved into the house at
1880's. The Gothic Revival house 1021 3rd Avenue.
was built for Paul Rohe in 1864.
Samuel and Susan Atwood
The William Small Memorial Home, 715 House
North Broadway, was constructed after the 1037 Third Avenue
Spanish American War for the specific phil- 1865, 1880s
anthropic purpose of providing a boarding
house for war widows (see William Small This house was begun in 1865 and attained
House, 321 North Esplanade). The home its present form and Queen Anne-style exte-
later served female boarders and eventually rior by 1886. The house has weatherboard
became dilapidated and vacant. Transients siding and hip-and-gable roof. The front
set fire in the main floor of the house in gable is ornate, with intricate gridwork
1983. In 1985 the block was purchased by including a window with a peaked lintel. On the south side is a two-story ele-
V.B. Greenamyre and was converted to 26 ment with a bay window on the first story and a balcony with a bracketed over-
apartments for senior citizens. It was one of hang on the second story. While living here, Mr. Atwood served in the Kansas
the country's premiere examples of the use House of Representatives and in local government. In 1900, Edward H. Connor
of the 1984 Rental Rehabilitation Act pro- purchased the house. He was chief engineer of Missouri Valley Bridge and Iron
gram to support affordable housing for lower income households. Company. He helped to design and build the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge.
1021 Third Avenue NORTH ESPLANADE HISTORIC DISTRICT
The North Esplanade Historic District was designated as the first historic district
This two-story Italianate-style house is in the city on December 12, 1977. It consists of fourteen residences and the
of painted brick construction. The one- North Esplanade Park, stretching four blocks along North Esplanade Street from
story front entry porch has a Craftsman Ottawa Street in the north to Seneca Street in the south. Historically, this district
tapered post on a brick pedestal with has been a popular residential area for upper and middle class businessmen.
square-section balusters and beaded North Esplanade Street was originally known as Main Street, and it follows the
matchboard. The 2/2 windows have bluff line above the Missouri River. This area of Leavenworth was in the origi-
segmented arches with projecting brick nal 320 acre town plat that was filed in the Surveyor General's Office at Fort
drip moldings. At the front corner of Leavenworth on December 20, 1854. The individual lots in these four blocks
the south side are first and second- were originally twenty-four feet wide, and 125 feet deep, bounded on the west by
story false windows identifiable by an alley fourteen feet wide. The west side of the street has always been a resi-
window openings with permanently dential district, and the first houses on the street were relatively small, and served
closed louvered wood shutters. Also as working men's homes or boardinghouses. Larger structures were built from
on the south side is a one-story bay window with molded panels and segmented- the 1860s through the 1880s, and many of the owners were managers of commer-
arched 1/1 windows. cial and industrial enterprises. Many of Leavenworth's leading businessmen
lived here in the 1880s and 1890s. The structures listed below as a part of the dis-
1025 Third Avenue trict, are all set back approximately the same distance from the street and were
early 1870s built before 1900. The houses on North Esplanade are differentiated from others
in northeast Leavenworth by their size, well-maintained appearance and yards,
The original outer façade of this painted brick construction is identical to the prior and common relationship to the street and park. It is one of the most cohesive,
house. A distinct difference is the one-story entry porch with classical colonettes. unified neighborhoods in Leavenworth tied together visually by the North
The first and second-story false windows are also permanently closed with lou- Esplanade Park.
vered wooden shutters. The integral two-story brick ell has a weatherboard frame
extension with an upper level sleeping porch, an exterior stair, and a deck. North Esplanade Park
Part of the original town plat, the park is the oldest public park in Kansas. It is a
beautiful grassy expanse overlooking the Missouri River and into Missouri, with
trees along the street. Playground equipment is at the north (since 1973) and
south ends of the park, and a sidewalk with park benches and vintage-style lamp-
posts (c. 1999) runs throughout the length of the park.
Two historical audio way-stations are in the park.
The southern station documents Bleeding
Kansas and the northern one provides informa-
tion on the Anthony family, including Colonel
Daniel R. and Susan B. Anthony, who were
brother and sister. Colonel Anthony lived in the
house directly opposite this station at 417 North
Esplanade and his sister visited here often.
Winfield Denton House Thomas Jones House
515 North Esplanade 1013 Third Avenue
Mid 1880s 1870, 1930
This irregularly shaped house is This two-story frame house has
located at the southwest corner of Craftsman-style details such as a front
Ottawa Street and North entry stoop on triangular brackets and
Esplanade. It is a large, two-and- 4/1 windows, indicating a remodeling
one-half story white wood frame in the 1920s or 1930s. A one-story
structure with some of its wood porch extended across the front of the
detailing still intact. Winfield house but has been replaced by the
Denton purchased the property in present stoop. Bricklayer Thomas
1886. Together with Elmore W. Jones is the first known occupant at
Snyder, who owned 409 North this address, in 1872, although there is
Esplanade, the two men were the proprietors of Kansas Central Elevator, located evidence that the house may date to the
just down the street to the north of the district. preceding decade. Jones was listed as a contractor and builder in an 1873 city
directory and the Jones family lived there through the 1940s. Leavenworth
James McCahon House chronicler Agnes Murphy suggests that the next three houses (1017, 1021, and
507 North Esplanade 1025) were built by the owner of 1029 Third Avenue, Mark Delahay. Both 1021
Mid 1860s and 1025 are virtually identical and were likely built at the same time by the same
builder. The 1017 house is also closely related architecturally.
The McCahon home is a two-and-
one-half story clapboard structure, 1017 Third Avenue
formerly painted white. The one- early 1870s, 1920
story screened porch across the east
façade of the house is not original. Although remodeled in the Craftsman
James McCahon, an attorney at law, Style in the early 20th Century, the
bought the property in 1865. He house is similar to its neighbors at 1021
died in 1871 and his wife Martha and 1025. One notable difference is the
lived here as a widow until 1883. fact that this house has true windows at
Another well-known Leavenworth the front corner of the south side,
citizen who resided here in the early 20th century was Otto H. Wulfekuhler. He whereas the other houses have false
was born in Germany in 1865 and was a life insurance and farm loan agent. windows at that location. It was likely
more Italianate style in character origi-
nally. This two-story house of painted
brick construction has a hip roof and a
one-story wraparound porch with
Craftsman tapered posts on brick
pedestals. The segmented-arched 1/1 windows have protruding brick drip mold-
ings and the segmental arch over the front entry has a covered-over transom.
Nettie Hartnett School, USD 453 Alvin Woodworth House
1000 Third Avenue 501 North Esplanade
1923, 1990 mid 1860's
This two-story Tudor Revival-style brick school building has a rectangular form The Woodworth House is a two-story
and a flat roof behind a parapet. The projecting two-story entry bay in the center brick structure, with a hip roof and
of the front (east) façade has a Tudor-arched opening. Extending across the rear captain's or widow's walk. In the
(west) elevation is a two-story 1990s addition with a brick veneer that is designed 1890s, a large bay window was added
to harmonize with the original Tudor styling. On the south side of the school is to the dining room and a small bay
a playground that replaces two historic dwellings demolished in the 1990s. The window was added to the living room.
original school was built in 1862, improved in 1865, remodeled in 1897, and Two other prominent Leavenworth cit-
razed in 1923. The relatively plain two-story brick building featured a belfry with izens resided in this home. Adolph
rounded openings. This present building (Adolf) Lange, Sr. added the north
is thought to be the oldest continuous wing and the bay window off the sit-
school in the district. It was known in the ting room in the 1880s. The home remained in the Lange family until 1960. Mr.
early 20th century as the Congress Street and Mrs. Arthur J. Stanley, Jr. lived in the home for approximately 40 years
School. The present building was beginning in the 1960's. Judge Stanley served with distinction in the Armed
renamed after long-time school employ- Forces during two world wars and was a United States District Judge. He is
ee, Nettie Hartnett in the 1960s. Myron famous locally for his participation in the last actual cavalry charge during the
K. Feth of the Leavenworth architectural pursuit of Pancho Villa in the early 1900s.
firm Feth & Feth contributed to the
design of the building and the school on George Ross House
the next block. 417 North
Bullen-Johnson House early 20th Century
1007 Third Avenue
1898 The original two-story home
on this property belonged to
Beginning with the corner house directly across from the school property you will Daniel R. Anthony and was
note another two-story frame Queen Anne style home. It has weatherboard sid- built in the early 1870s. At
ing and a steep hip-and-gable roof with flared eaves. A small front gable has dec- approximately the same time, Samuel Cochran, a wholesale grocer and capitalist
orative rake boards, diagonal strips on its face, and a three-part window. The one- purchased a two-story home next door at 419 N. Esplanade. D.R. Anthony start-
story wraparound porch has Craftsman-style tapered posts on stone pedestals, ed in insurance and was an early editor and proprietor of The Leavenworth Times
square-section balusters, and screening. Above it is an inset second-story porch and an early postmaster. His sister, suffragette Susan B. Anthony, visited him
with tapered posts and square-section balusters. often on the Esplanade. Colonel Anthony, owing to his sister's fame, championed
women's suffrage as a U.S. Senator. By 1914, George Ross owned the Cochran
Contractor and bridge builder J.A. Bullen is thought to have built this house about home just north of the Anthony house. An architect determined that the Anthony
1898. In 1900 it was the home of Thomas L. Johnson, a newspaper editor, print- house was structurally sound and to make the home more suitable for the Ross
er, and justice of the peace. Johnson is also remembered for organizing a local family, the Cochran house was razed sometime after 1915. The north half of the
chapter of a typographical union, one of the first trade unions in the state. present structure was constructed as an addition to the Anthony home.
Elmore W. Snyder House Garrett-Cobb House
409 North Esplanade 1032 Second Avenue
Mid 1880's 1905
This Queen Anne-style home is a large, The house directly opposite Arch
two-and-one-half story wood frame (clap- Street is also a two-story frame
board) structure. It has a rounded tower Queen Anne-style house. Samuel
on the northeast corner and a one-story and Lettie Garrett purchased the
porch across the east façade. Elcana site in 1904 and are thought to
Hensley built the home in 1871. In 1885, have been the builders of this
banker E.W. Snyder purchased the home. home. It features a large off-center
Mr. Snyder came to Leavenworth in 1883 gabled dormer and arched recess
and worked in the grain business with the containing a double window that
firm of Snyder and Denton. In 1888 the opens onto a balcony. The one-
Manufacturers National Bank was organized, and Mr. Snyder became its presi- story wraparound porch has slender Ionic columns, a decorative balustrade, and
dent. Thirty-three years later he was the oldest bank president in Kansas. In modern fluted newel posts on the front steps. This home also features a two-
1893, he and Senator Vinton Stillings built the Terminal Bridge over the Missouri tiered back porch similar to the house to the south.
River for $1.2 million. This brought two railroads to town and made a highway
to Platte County, Missouri. Bishop Miege House
1028 Second Avenue
Lewis Burnes House c. 1860s
403 North Esplanade
late 1860's This unusual two-story frame house shows
the influence of the Greek Revival and
This two-story Federal-style brick Italianate styles. The one-story entry porch
home has a hip roof with wide has a sunburst design in its gable. The 1/1
bracketed cornices. Its original windows and the front entry have peaked lin-
red brick has been painted white tels with petaled bosses at their centers. Note
and it probably had cosmetic the front entry with diagonal board paneling
alterations in the early 20th centu- and a glass upper panel.
ry. The room on the north side of
the home was added in 1997, and In December 1865, Bishop Miege sold all of
the garage extension was added in 1998. Lewis Burnes, a lawyer, built the home the lots except for this one, suggesting the
c. 1865. Additionally, John C. and E.B. Ketcheson lived in the home between present house had been built or planned. In
1875 and 1881. In 1882, John built another home and moved into the house at 1879 the Catholic Sisters of Charity operated
309 N. Esplanade. a school in a rented house on Second Avenue, probably this dwelling. In 1995,
the house was rehabilitated into a single-family dwelling and featured on "This
Third Avenue Historic District William Small House
321 North Esplanade
Welcome to the Third Avenue Historic District. The area was platted in 1856 and c. 1871
became known as Day's Subdivision. The current houses were built between
1859 and 1920. All of the homes featured are two-story, either brick construction This two-story home was probably
or weatherboard siding, and have some type of porch. The majority are described built c. 1871 by Joseph C. and Mary
as Victorian or Queen Anne style. Some have had Craftsman-style updates in the H. Irwin, but underwent extensive
1920s-30s yet retain their original character. In some you will find Greek Revival exterior alterations in the early 20th
and Italianate influences. This district also includes two schools. century. In 1887, prominent busi-
nessman William Small and his wife
As you approach this district from Arch Street, you are viewing three homes that Zephy purchased the house. William
are in this district. They are on lots owned in 1857 by John B. Miege, Bishop of Small and Company was the largest real estate company in town. Mr. Small
Kansas. Stop for a moment at this intersection to note the houses and descrip- helped organize the Leavenworth and Mexico Agricultural Company, which
tions before turning right to continue the tour. If you are using this booklet as a owned and grew coffee on 1,100 acres in Mexico. After his death, his wife
driving tour reference, please note that many streets in the Arch Historic District founded the William Small Memorial Home for Aged Women at a cost of
are one-way. Please obey all traffic laws while viewing this historic district. $50,000. It still exists at 711 North Broadway Street and was converted to 26
apartments in the mid-1980s after years of neglect.
1036 Second Avenue
1910 L.G. Terry House
317 North Esplanade
This two-story frame house blends c. 1865
elements of the Queen Anne and
Shingle styles. The house has This two-story Victorian brick home
weatherboard siding on the first was built c. 1865 for L.G. Terry.
story and wood-shingle siding on Exterior features include a two-story
the second story. In the front bay window on the south side and a
gable is a three-part opening with widow's walk over the porch on the
a concave shell form to the arch, east façade. This wood porch with
Ionic colonettes, and a slightly four columns is not original to the
projecting pent roof in front. On house, and the entire house has been
the north side is a complex hip and painted white. Mr. Terry was the
gambrel-roofed element with a Superintendent of the Kansas Stage
polygonal attic window. The south side has an extension over the one-story bay and Omnibus Company and died in the early 1880s. In approximately 1884, his
window. A two-tiered back porch has an enclosed lower tier and a screened widow took over as the proprietor of Leavenworth Bus Transfer and lived in the
sleeping porch in the upper tier. Other features include 16/1 and 1/1 windows house until 1908.
with molded lintels and a one-story framed carriage house. Leavenworth archi-
tect William B. Feth was the designer of this home as well as the house to the
William Small House Booth House
313 North Esplanade 918 South Second Street
c. 1880s C. 1880
This smaller two-story wood frame home has a one-story wood veranda on the This Italianate-style house of painted
east façade. William Small, a dealer in dry goods with Small, Ramsey and Vories, brick construction features a hip roof
built the home circa 1883. with bracketed cornices. The wrap-
around porch has turned posts and
Ketcheson House balusters, sawn brackets, square-sec-
309 North Esplanade tion newels with ball finials, a spindle
c. 1882 frieze, a gable with beaded match-
board in its face aligned with the front
John C. Ketcheson, a printer, pur- entry, and a second gable over a cor-
chased the three lots that com- ner projection. This brick house is
prise this property in 1877 and distinguished by its decorative win-
built this large irregularly shaped dow heads which have peaked stone
two-story white frame Queen lintels with center roundels decorated
Anne-style house in 1882. The with six-pointed stars. The foundation, which is probably rough stone, is scored
structure of the home has changed to imitate ashlar masonry. Two brick wings extend from the rear, one of which
little since then. Its principal has a screened sleeping porch. A brick sunroom addition with decorative win-
exterior features include the dows and transoms with highly textured piers of irregular brickwork also extends
octagonal three-story tower on the east facade, the rounded veranda also on the from the rear. The home was made into apartments during World War II.
east facade, two-story bay windows on the east and south sides and leaded glass
windows in the original dining room. The property includes a two-story carriage
house that also has leaded glass windows. In 1895, Mr. Ketcheson sold the prop-
erty to Colonel James L. Abernathy, who had founded Abernathy Furniture
Company in the spring of 1856.
Edward Stillings House
303 North Esplanade
This two-story red brick home has a hip roof and wide bracketed cornices. It also
features an elaborate one-story wood veranda on the east façade. By the 1970s,
the home had been painted white with white trim. Judge Edward Stillings bought
the property in 1876. A later and very colorful owner was Ferdinand "Jesus"
Mella, born in Italy in 1857. As a co-proprietor of the National Hotel during
Carry Nation's visit to Leavenworth in March 1901, Jesus dissuaded her from tak-
ing a hatchet to the bar due to his "pleasant smile." He served three terms on the
city council, and was known for his optimism and helpfulness.
Michael & Johanna E. H. Durfee House
Przbylowicz Home 219 North Esplanade
201 Pine Street c. 1872
This two-story Italianate red brick
Polish immigrants Michael and home was originally built by Indian
Johanna Przbylowicz built this trader E.H. Durfee in 1872 as a rec-
home that his family lived in for tangular Italian villa with a hip
80 years. It is an Italianate-style roof, stone window accoutrements
brick house with a hip roof and and wide bracketed cornices.
bracketed cornice with paneled Probably during the 1920s, major
frieze that cost $5,000 to build. exterior alterations incorporated
The front, east, and back entries Georgian Revival details and included the application of stucco and the addition
have chamfered posts on chamfered bases and sawn brackets. The segmental- of a garage, a new and wider front stairwell and porch, and a sun room. The roof
arched front entry has a double-leaf door and a transom panel with a scrolling was replaced in 1984, and soffit and facia were restored. In 1998 a major addi-
incised design. The windows have flat arches with segmental lower edges and tion to the west side of the house added over 1,400 square feet to the home.
incised ornament between the arch and window head.
E.E. Henry House
On the street near the side and front entry are large flat "carriage stones" that 213 North Esplanade
served as a platform for mounting and dismounting a steed or vehicle, analogous c. 1880
to a mounting block. A 1995 octagonal gazebo with a cupola, chamfered posts
and sawn brackets with square section balustrades acted as a prop for wedding This two-and-one-half story frame house features a one-story veranda across the
setting. Michael & Johanna's granddaughter noted in a 1986 letter that she east façade, and a two-story bay window on the south. The original home was
remembered the tree peony by the back porch. the north portion of the structure and the south part was added at a later date. E.E.
Henry, the famous Leavenworth photographer, built the home c. 1880.
914 S. Second Street House
C. 1870 C.W.P. Collins Boarding House
203 North Esplanade
This Late Victorian-style house features weatherboard framing and a gabled roof. c. 1872
The porch stands on wooden posts with molded caps, sawn brackets, and square
section balusters. The front entry has sidelights and transom, peaked and mold- This L-shaped, one-and-one-half story brick apartment was built as a rooming
ed lintel, chamfered jambs, and a Queen Anne-style wood and glass door. house in 1872. it features a Mansard roof with gabled dormers and a one-story
wood porch on the east façade. In 1876, C.W.P. Collins purchased the building.
In 1882, ten people were listed in the city directory as boarders. The Planters
Hotel was southeast of the property on the east side of N. Esplanade, until it was
demolished in the 1950s. A replica of the "Lincoln" steps from the Planters build-
ing will commemorate his 1859 declaration as a candidate for the U.S.
Presidency. Up until Lincoln's Leavenworth visit in December 1859, he had been
met by less than enthusiastic support.
The Union Depot 216 Pine Street House
123 South Esplanade 1925
This Tudor Revival-style house of
The Union Depot was built in 1887 by James A. McGonigle. The total cost for stone, stucco, and brick features a
the structure was $100,000 and it opened in November 1888. This large brick steep complex gable roof juxtaposed
structure has a Romanesque architectural style. It operated as a passenger and with a slightly projecting gabled
freight terminal front wing and a brick chimney with
until 1963, when it a stone cap and weatherings. The
was purchased by east corner of the wing has a but-
V.B. Greenamyre as tress-like element with rough stone
a headquarters for quoins. The house features a sunroom off the west gable end, and an ell with an
his business. In enclosed porch at its end. The garage harmonizes with the house with its steep
1984, Mr. gabled roof.
the building to the 215 Pine Street House
city, and the follow- 1900
ing year a bond
issue was placed on This home features apparent Victorian characteristics and a hip roof. The front
the ballot to reno- porch has tapered square section wood columns. A wraparound section of the
vate the building east elevation was enclosed after 1949. The garage has novelty weatherboard sid-
and build additional ing, gable roof, and exposed rafter ends.
facilities. A half-
cent sales tax was approved by the voters to pay off the bonds to renovate the cen- Benedict House
ter. The depot opened in 1988 as the Riverfront Community Center. During the 211 Pine Street
Flood of 1993, citizens built sandbag walls to keep back the water but the build- 1900
ing sustained damage in its lower levels. The Union Depot was the largest and
finest passenger station of the three railroads that built depots in town. This Queen Anne-style house features a hip roof and front gables. The porch
stands on tapered square-section wood columns with molded caps and metal
219 Pine Street House Leavenworth County Courthouse
1914 300 Walnut Street
This Craftsman-style house with
brick veneer on the first story and The original Leavenworth County Courthouse was built between 1873-74 in the
wood-shingle sheathing on the Second Empire style. The three-story structure was built of red brick and lime-
second story features a hip roof stone for $120,415.75, and many local citizens believed it to be one of the most
with a hipped ventilation dormer. beautiful courthouses in the West. On March 22, 1911 a fire caused by faulty
The front porch has a gabled roof wiring destroyed this courthouse, and only the masonry walls were left standing.
and is constructed of irregular red Later that same year construction began on the current courthouse, and it was
and vitrified brown brick with completed on June 1, 1913 at a cost of $143,152.54. The three-story Classical
square-section pillars linked by a Revival masonry structure occupies an entire square block, and its style is indica-
brick railing with a concrete coping. A bay window rises on the west with a trape- tive of many government buildings constructed prior to World War I. The foun-
zoid-plan. The batten shutters have candle cut-outs. dation and walls are limestone, and in some places they face the soft brick walls
remaining after the original courthouse burned. Two-story pedimented porticos
The garage has novelty weatherboard siding, gable roof, doors with matchboard delineate the primary north and south entrances, with grand staircases leading
set diagonally. In 1999, a large pine tree died in the west yard so the owners com- past Ionic columns. One-story porticos define the east and west entrances, which
missioned a totem depicting a large eagle with draped feathers. also have grand staircases leading past Tuscan columns. On August 23, 1941 the
County Commissioners placed "The Doughboy" statue on the south side of the
218 Pine Street House courthouse. This World War I memorial of an infantry soldier charging with rifle
Late 19th Century in hand sits atop a rough-cut limestone base. On its bronze panel is the inscrip-
tion, "In Grateful Memory of Our Veterans of All American Wars." Like many
A Late Victorian-era house of weatherboard frame construction and gable roof. contemporary Kansas courthouses, the distinguishing feature is the central rotun-
The Craftsman-style front porch has tapered posts on brick pedestals, and porch da, open to the first two floors and crowned with a stained glass dome. A grand
and roof balustrades with turned balusters. The front gable includes a sawn and staircase on the south
pendant ornament. The 1876 Hunnius map shows a house at this location. side accesses each floor.
Also similar to other
217 Pine Street House Kansas courthouses of
1930 the era are the interior
embellishments such as
This Craftsman-style house with a clipped front-gable roof features a front entry the terrazzo flooring,
stoop with a bracketed gable roof and windows with batten shutters. marble wainscoting, oak
doors and trim, plaster
walls and ceilings, scagl-
iola columns, and iron
and marble staircases
with marble treads.
Original light fixtures
are in use throughout the
South Esplanade 1011 South Third Street
Historic District Late 19th Century
The South Esplanade A Queen Anne-style home of wood-shingled frame construction with front-
Historic District is an gabled roof, skylights, and a gabled dormer with exposed rafter ends. The front
1857 addition to the porch has turned posts, sawn brackets with turned pedants, and modern square-
City of Leavenworth. section balusters. A decorative frieze with turned bosses and projecting blocks
On the east side of the covers the front gable. A small gable gabled front wing has a decorative rake
street, travelers are board. A stone retaining wall with jagged coping extends across the front.
treated to an unobstructed
view of the first truly east- The garage with novelty weatherboard siding, gable roof, hinged matchboard
ward bend in the Missouri River doors, and a shed addition suggests construction about 1949.
and the valley extending to the bluffs
approximately four miles away. In earlier times, the top of the slope was wide George LeMay House
enough to permit baseball games on level ground. The flood of 1993, primarily, 226 Pine Street
caused extensive collapse of the hillside. This necessitated clearing the slope and 1900
building the terrace found midway down the incline which may one day be incor-
porated into Leavenworth's linear park and trail system. South Esplanade was This Victorian-style brick house with a hip roof features a wraparound porch with
originally named Main Street and was connected to North Esplanade via a bridge Doric columns. The back porch has classical columns and square-section balus-
over Three Mile Creek that still exists but is obsolete and structurally incapable ters. Transoms cover the front entry. Next to Third Street near the back of the
of bearing any traffic. The 3MC parkway may incorporate restoration of the house is a concrete mounting block beside an early 20th century hitching post
bridge as a part of the new pedestrian trail. Of interest in the area, one of fashioned from metal pipe.
Leavenworth's early coal mines was on Second Street south of the Missouri
Valley Shipyards dry dock which is still visible from the Esplanade Bluff. The This home was also a dance studio during the mid-1900's.
coal mines created a demand for low cost and frequently, "company" provided
housing, mostly in the form of "shotgun" homes. These still dot the older half of Washington C. Zentmeyer
Leavenworth, mostly in close proximity to the mines. The shipyard built landing House
craft during World War II and launched several tugboats a year for river barge 222 Pine Street
navigation. The last tug boat splashed into the river in June, 1983. Thereafter the 1872; 1950
Shipyard merged with Missouri Valley Bridge & Steel, the general contractor for
the San Francisco Bay Bridge, the longest single span bridge of its day when Cabinetmaker W.C. Zentmeyer build
completed over 50 years ago. The Missouri Valley works finally closed their this modified two-story frame house
doors in 1987 and sold their production facility at 790 Thornton Street to the City with weatherboard siding and a hip
for use as its Public Works Service Center. The tour begins at 2nd and Olive roof. He lived in a house on the north
streets a little south of the boundary of the Historic District; South Esplanade is side of Pine Street between 2nd and 3rd
a one-way street south. between 1868-69. He bought the prop-
erty in 1866. Records are unclear if it
is the same home as the one you see
Wilson House Drechsel-Wiley House
221 Arch Street 800 S. Second Street
John Wilson, President As you approach South
of Great Western Esplanade, note the beautifully
Manufacturing, built the restored Stick-style house on the
original home on this site. southwest corner. It was built in
His son Samuel remodeled it 1895 by William Drechsel, a shoe
as a Classic Revival-style store owner. The three small cot-
home in 1914 covered with rough tages north of the house were
stuccoed brick and a hip and deck roof built for coal miners
with barrel-vaulted dormers, and dentil cornice.
The front entry has a pedimented surround with fluted Doric columns and
pilasters, a paneled frieze, and elliptical fanfold motifs. The entry opens onto a Albert Doege House
full length brick terrace and windows with decorative balcony-like grills, round 108 Olive
arched transoms with fanfolds panels, and keystones with acanthus-leaf carvings. 1864
A pergola-like colonnade extends from the east elevation. A porte-cochere with
smooth round Doric columns covers the brick-paved drive. Although not presently within the
boundaries of the district, this 1864
Folk lore for the home includes a transfer of ownership through a poker game, house is significant because of its age
filming of the HBO Truman Movie, and a reception for Colin Powell during the and blend of Federal and Italianate
dedication of the Buffalo Soldier Monument. It has been a bed and breakfast features. Mr. Doege was the owner of
since 1998. the National Soap Co., manufacturers
of laundry and toilet soaps, violet
Craftsman-Style Bungalows starch, sal soda and blueing. This
1013 & 1015 S. Third Street house was saved from the wrecking ball by Jeanette and Manny Craig.
Armilda Miller built this pair of mirror- Joseph Eble House
image Craftsman-style bungalows of rough 100 Olive
stucco with gabled roofs and front shed 1924
dormers. They are typical examples of the
bungalow form at its height of popularity. At the corner of Olive and South Esplanade, on the left, is a 'kit' house from the
The engaged and screened front porches Gordon-Van Tyne Co. of Iowa. It arrived on two-rail road flatcars and was con-
have square-section and stuccoed pillars. structed by Joseph Eble in 1924. He and his family lived with his in-laws, the
Other features include stuccoed chimneys with shoulders at the first-story level, Doeges, while construction was taking place.
poured foundations scored to simulate masonry, decorative exposed rafter ends,
and one-story shed-roofed bay windows. Both bungalows have basement-level
garages and stone retaining walls.
T.W. Judge House Christian Meeth House
810 South Esplanade 218 Arch Street
c. 1890 1865
This house marks the north end of the present Historic District. The original This house site was given to
porch posts have been replaced on the shingled story-and-a-half house. Note the Elizabeth E. Fackler "with love and
flared eaves and cornice returns. affection" by her father as part of
the Fackler's Addition in 1858.
George William Combs House Elizabeth built the house in 1865.
814 South Esplanade This Italianate-style, hip roof house
c. late 1800's with weatherboard siding is thought
to be the oldest in the district.
This two-story frame Queen Anne style Flared eaves with corner brackets
house features decorative stained glass accentuate the hip roof. The front
around the front window and a transom entry stoop has a gable roof with an arched cut out in the pediment and modern
above the front door. The front porch is a posts below. You can still notice the remnants of a "fire marker" above the
1920s Craftsman style replacement of the entrance that told responding firemen if fire insurance was up to date. The 1919
original. G.W. Combs came to tax rolls for this property was $81.66.
Leavenworth as a child. He became the Superintendent of Milling and Pattern
Making at the Great Western Manufacturing Co. His flour sifting invention was Lynn and Nellie
a forerunner of sifters still made by that company for mills around the globe. Millis House
Leavenworth sifters sift the world's flour. 220 Arch Street
Josephine Norton House
818 South Esplanade Lynn and Nellie Millis purchased
c. 1870 two lots at this location in October
1897 and they borrowed $2,400
This two-story frame house has Greek Revival influence in the peaked lintels from a local lending institution the
above the windows and front door. The porch is a later Craftsman style replace- same month. The house was pro-
ment, similar to that at 814 South Esplanade. vided with water service in 1898,
suggesting completion of construc-
Findlay and Mary Hathaway House tion. It is a Queen Anne-style house
822 South Esplanade with weatherboard siding and a hip-
and-gable roof. The porch features
This small house has been drastically altered from its beginning as a simple four- turned posts with chamfered bases, large curved brackets that create an arched
room house. The Hathaways lived here from 1888 to 1920. Only plaster and effect on the ends of the porch, a bracketed cornice, a spindled frieze, and a hip
lathe remnants in a crawl space under the eaves are left to indicate its early life roof with a small gable aligned with the front entry. Other features include an
as a single-story house with ten-foot ceilings. A mid-20th century remodel elim- interior brick chimney, a rectangular vent in the front gable with a decorative sur-
inated the Victorian-era interior. Two small dormers from that change became the round and molded lintels, a large front window, and a lower two-story ell with a
large second story shed dormer in the 1960s. kitchen wing and a sun porch on the east side.
William A. Tholen House Charles F. Dassler House
206 Arch Street 826 South Esplanade
1909 c. 1876
William A Tholen and his brother Webster operated the Tholen Brothers Supply Originally, this story-and-a-half build-
Company. William built this Craftsman-style home clad with wood shingles and ing had an L-shaped front porch and a
featuring a front-gable roof with gable brackets and shed dormers. The front back porch, both of which had been
porch, which is partially inset, has stepped rectangular-section brick pillars that removed by 1949. Chas. Dassler was a
project through the roof on lawyer and lived here for much of the
the front and have heavy tri- first half of the 20th Century. It was
angular brackets, square sec- modified later to accommodate a full
tion balusters, and concrete second story.
front steps with brick cheeks.
Quarter-round windows in the James McGee House
gable flank a front bricked 830 South Esplanade
chimney. The Craftsman style c. 1886
continues on the inside with
bold but simple quarter-sawn The McGee House is a two-story, frame
oak timbers, and molding Queen Anne. The wrap-around porch
with typical built-in furniture with a gazebo is a 1990s replacement.
components. Mr. McGee was an insurance agent. On
a stage coach trip to southeast Kansas,
O'Donnell House he and the other passengers were con-
214 Arch Street fronted with an “unusual and unreason-
1885 able” request from the Jesse James gang
to hand over their cash and valuables.
This Italianate and Queen Anne- After giving up a total of $700, the jour-
style brick home features a front- ney continued to Pleasant Hill. The car-
gabled roof with diagonally set riage house on the alley behind the McGee house is over a century old. It is one
boards that create a half-timbered of the few old frame carriage houses still existing in Leavenworth.
effect above a spindle frieze and
sawn brackets adorning the front
gable and the gable of the north
wing. The one-story wrap
around porch has a curved corner,
sawn brackets, a spindle frieze,
and deeply chamfered posts. The segmented arched windows with keystones are
linked at their tops with by a projecting belt across the flat elevation. An inter-
esting feature on the north elevation includes an angled wall in a second-story re-
entrant corner supported by a fan-like corbeling.
John and Harriet Thomas Braidwood House
Gimper House 200 Arch Street
114 Spruce Street 1883; 1990
This home was built by Thomas Braidwood, a foreman of the Great Western
This small one-story brick Victorian no Stove Company. It is a Gothic Revival-style brick home with Italianate influence
longer has its across-the-front porch. and a front gable roof. A gable ornament on the east side has a chamfered stan-
Note the small dormers and the old chion that resolves into a turned finial at its top and a turned pendant at its base.
stone wall topped with a low metal The corner entry tower has a hip roof with gabled projections, a bracketed cor-
fence. Mr. Gimper was superintendent nice, and an entry with a transom in a segmental arch and double-leaf front doors
of the Leavenworth Gas and Light Co. G.W.Combs bought the property in 1910 with rounded arch glass panels. The interior finishes have been meticulously
as a gift for his son, Dr. Frederick C. Combs. Dr. Combs' son, George, grew up restored while the exterior undergoes long-term development.
here. His widow, Mary, and granddaughter, Kathy Green, still reside here.
The composter along the alley evokes the architecture of the Braidwood House
W.D.Evernghim House and personality of the owner. It has multiple gables on the roof, wood shingles,
118 Spruce Street irregular sawtooth verge boards, and heavy ornamentation of found art.
The present house started out as a simple, clapboard-covered frame house. 211 Arch Street
Around 1920, the owner decided to have a Craftsman style porch built and to 1868; 1920
veneer the whole house with brick. The house was known for many years as the
home of Dr. Channell. This remodeled Tudor Revival home
with features a stucco exterior and
Thomas Templeton hip-and-gable roof. The Tudor
Reyburn House influence is most evident in the false
900 South Esplanade half-timbering of the gables and on a
c. 1918 one-story shed-roofed sunroom on
the east. A historic brick pier fence
The Reyburn family operated a hardware extends along the back alley with
business in Leavenworth for many years. alternating projecting and inset
Thomas built this house for his bride. It courses. The garage with hip roof
replaced one on the site that had burned. and multiple hipped dormers suggest a former upstairs apartment. Other features
Later owners have found remnants of the of the garage include a small ventilation cupola on the ridge, exposed rafter ends,
earlier house, including a coin silver spoon. and historic wood and glass doors. The garage occupies the same general loca-
The house was originally a single story tion as a 19th century outbuilding (probably a carriage house) and may incorpo-
home. Sometime between 1924 and 1949, rate it.
the second story was added. Around 1970, This home forms the cornerstone for the Great Western influence in the Arch
the rear garage addition was constructed. Street district. Mr. Willson owned Great Western Stove Company.
Arch Street Historic District George Tobey Anthony HOUSE
912 South Esplanade
As an ensemble, the houses of this district embody the distinctive characteristics c. 1975
of a number of architectural types and periods. The majority posess a high degree
of original integrity. The district is located on 10 acres in Fackler's Addition to George and Rosa Anthony built this gable-
Leavenworth, platted in 1857. The Fackler Home, known as the house on the front Italianate about ten years after coming
hill, is at 222 Vine and worthy of a one block detour. The district retains the pat- to Leavenworth from New York state. He
tern of development that characterized it during the priod of significance in that was a second cousin of famed local publish-
its streets and block layout has not been significantly altered since platting and it er, D.R. Anthony and his sister, Susan B.
retains its stock of historic single-family dwellings. Anthony. He was the seventh governor of
Kansas, serving from 1877 to 1879. He
The earliest homes are Italianate and date to the late 1860s and 1870s. Other championed locating the Old Soldiers
early styles include Gothic Revival, Queen Anne, and Victorian. By the 1910s Home, now the Eisenhower Veterans
and 1920s homebuilders were erecting and remodeling houses in eclectic idioms Administration in Leavenworth in the
such as the Classic Revival, Tudor Revival, and Craftsman styles. The Wilson 1880s. Matthew Ryan, Sr. and his wife
House at 221 Arch Street is a notable local work of the Kansas City architectur- were the second owners of this house.
al firm Wight & Wight. One theme of note in the development of the district is
an association with the Great Western Foundry and two companies created from Dakotah Skinner Ryan House
it, the Great Western Manufacturing Company and the Great Western Stove 920 South Esplanade
Company. The stove company's first president was Edward P. Willson, who lived c. 1908
at 211 Arch Street. His next-door neighbor at 221 Arch street was John Wilson,
the president of Great Western Manufacturing. The neighborhood developed into This house is an example of the Prairie
something of a managerial enclave for the two companies over the following Four Square style, considered to be the
decades. In 1883, Thomas Braidwood, a foreman with the stove company built first purely American home design. Mrs.
his house at 200 Arch Street. Frank A. Pickett, chief engineer with the manufac- Ryan was the widow of Matthew Ryan,
turing company built his house at 1012 3rd Street in 1908. Jr. The Ryans’ owned several businesses
in Leavenworth and cattle interests in
May Millis, daughter of Lynn and Nellie Millis, married in 1910. Her letter of Wyoming or Montana. Her widowed
1952 recalls the relationship of the Arch District with the Leavenworth mother-in-law was still residing next
Downtown and the Soldier's Home (VA Center). Her parents “always strictly door at 912 South Esplanade. Note the
cautioned her to lock the doors at night since many 'old soldiers' would try to cantilevered bay window on the north
walk back to the Soldier's Home after using their month's pay drinking in town.” side.
Today you can rest along the terrace of 2nd Street and Arch Street where "the 'Old
Soldiers' would set and rest a spell."
Ambrose and Janet Reno G.J.Bub House
House 1008 South Esplanade
928 South Esplande late 1800's
This one-story frame Folk Victorian-
The two-story brick home has some of style house has vinyl siding and
its original Italianate features such as replacement windows. Although the
the brackets at the cornice. The front front façade appears typical of the
entry pediment on the south side and the era, the rear additions are from later
porch overlooking the river are likely c. years and the modifications render
1930s Colonial Revival influences. It is the house a non-contributing struc-
thought the original owner was a ture in the district.
Quaker from New Orleans involved in
the iron trade. He came to Leavenworth Orlando D. Coppedge House
to escape the Civil War. Clarence Ryan 1016 South Esplanade
lived here in the early 1900s, next to his brother's widow. c. 1925
This is a Mission-style house reflecting its later construction. Of particular inter-
Smith-Lange House est is the arched recess for the front door. It is framed with terra cotta blocks and
1000 South Esplanade columns and was designed by
c. 1868 Myron Feth. A tile fountain is
in the rear. The garage and liv-
Attorney and journalist Nicholas ing space above it are from a
Smith built the Tudor-looking house. 1980s renovation. Mr.
It was said he was inspired by Coppedge owned a glove fac-
Washington Irving's home in the tory at 4th and Seneca. He
Catskills. It was originally a Gothic died while driving to his sum-
Revival, built of brick and embel- mer home in Minnesota. He
lished with gingerbread at the cor- was reading a newspaper, as he
nices. His second wife was Ida usually did while driving, and
Greeley, who was the daughter of collided with a pig causing his
Horace, the famous New York editor vehicle to overturn.
and writer. Horace frequently visited Leavenworth, as have his descendants in
recent times. During Prohibition, Adolph Lange, a pharmacist, acquired the
house. Myron Feth, architect, redesigned the residence around 1920 making it a
Tudor Revival. The renovation was most likely funded by the sale of “medicinal
spirits” sold during prohibition (by prescription only, of course!).