Docstoc

Booster Seat Blitz (6)

Document Sample
Booster Seat Blitz (6) Powered By Docstoc
					Booster Seat Blitz
Most parents assume child restraint laws apply only to infant and toddler age groups. Years ago, they
did. But, a new Colorado Child Passenger Safety Law now extends car seat or booster seat
requirements to all passengers 7-years-old and younger and also maps out requirements for children
up to age 16.
Previously, Colorado law required only children 5 years of age and younger to ride in car seats or
booster seats. But as of Sunday, Aug. 1, safety regulations encompass a much greater number of
young people riding in passenger vehicles.
According to the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, car wrecks are the greatest
cause of accident injury deaths for children between age 1 and 14. In an attempt to decrease this
statistic, the state's new passenger restraint guidelines address height and weight of child passengers
to at least the same extent, if not more so, as the child's age.
Because of the way automobiles are designed, a passenger's height directly relates to how well a
vehicle's lap and shoulder belts provide restraint during a car accident. A person who's 4'9" or taller is
tall enough to ride while wearing manufacturer-installed vehicle safety belts. Taking this into
consideration, the Colorado Child Passenger Safety Law maps out the following guidelines:
• A rear-facing car seat is required for children up to age 1 or up to the seat manufacturer's maximum
  specified weight.
• A rear or forward-facing car seat is required for children ages 1 to 3 or up to the seat manufacturer's
  maximum specified weight.
• A forward-facing car seat or booster seat is required for children ages 4 to 7 or up to 4'9" tall.
• A booster seat or lap & shoulder belt is required for children up to age 16.
Parents need to use the style of safety seats and manufacturer size limits to determine the best
method to safely restrain their children. Safety officials point out that only children who are noticeably
larger or smaller than average will not fall within the law's suggested safety guidelines.
The new law makes it a primary offense for any passenger who is 16 years old or younger to ride
unrestrained in a moving vehicle. This means law enforcement officers can pull over drivers for non-
compliance with the new regulations, rather than citing the driver for non-compliance in the course of
a traffic stop for another offense.
For one year, police will issue only warnings to vehicle operators not following the new law. Beginning
Aug. 1, 2011, tickets will be issued with a minimum $82 fine.
It remains only a secondary offense for passengers 17 and older to ride unrestrained in a moving
vehicle.
To help parents determine the right seat for their children, fitting events are being held all over the
state of Colorado, beginning with Cheyenne Wells, Colorado Springs, Denver and Lakewood on Aug.
5, 6 or 7. Booster Seat Blitz events are being held Aug. 13, 14 or 15 in Akron, Bayfield, Black Forest,
Broomfield, Commerce City, Cortez, Delta, Denver, Eagle, Fort Collins, Grand Junction, Greeley,
Ignacio, Lamar, Pueblo, and Silverton. Get location, schedule and activity information by visiting the
CDOT Booster Blitz press release.
Colorado's Child Passenger Safety Law is part of the CDOT Integrated Safety Plan that aims to
decrease traffic accidents and accident injuries within the State of Colorado by expanding safety
partnerships with government, law enforcement and vehicle safety education.

Dui fort collins

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Categories:
Stats:
views:6
posted:2/18/2012
language:
pages:2
Description: A forward-facing car seat or booster seat is required for children ages 4 to 7 or up to 4'9" tall.