Docstoc

System Restore

Document Sample
System Restore Powered By Docstoc
					System Restore "restore points" are missing
or deleted
View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q301224
Expand all | Collapse all

SYMPTOMS
When you start the System Restore tool and view the "Select
a Restore Point" pa...
When you start the System Restore tool and view the "Select a Restore Point" page, some of
your restore points may be missing.
  Back to the top

CAUSE
The deletion of restore points may be caused by any one of
the following by-des...
The deletion of restore points may be caused by any one of the following by-design conditions:

                                    You run out of disk space on the system drive or on any
                                     one of the available non-system drives, and System
                                     Restore stops responding and stops monitoring your
                                     system.

                                     This behavior causes the system to delete all restore points
                                     in an attempt to free up disk space. However, you have
                                     probably already received a warning about running low in
                                     disk space prior to this point. In this case, when sufficient
                                     disk space is freed, System Restore starts to monitor the
                                     system again. At this point, it creates an automatic System
                                     Checkpoint.

                                     Note If you have a multiple-partition computer with a
                                     drive that has almost no free space, this drive may cause
                                     System Restore to stop responding all across the system
                                     and to delete restore points. However, this only occurs if
                                     you have reached the minimum disk space that is allowed
    and if you perform operations on monitored file types.
    Examples of such operations are upgrading, uninstalling or
    installing programs, moving, and deleting or renaming
    files. If your drive has almost no free space but you only
    perform operations on non-monitored files, System Restore
    does not stop responding.
   You manually turn System Restore off.
        o If you manually turn System Restore off on the
             system drive, all restore points are deleted, and you
             receive the following warning message:

           You have chosen to turn off System Restore. If you
           continue, all existing restore points will be deleted,
           and you will not be able to track and undo changes
           to your computer.
           Do you want to turn off System Restore?
           Yes No

       o   If you manually turn System Restore off on any
           non-system drive, all restore points on that specific
           drive are deleted, and you receive the following
           warning message:

           You have chosen to turn off System Restore on this
           drive. If you continue, you will not be able to track
           or undo harmful changes on this drive.
           Do you want to turn off System Restore on this
           drive?
           Yes No

   When you turn System Restore on again on the system
    drive, it immediately creates a System Checkpoint. When
    you turn System Restore on again on a non-system drive, it
    does not immediately create a restore point on that drive,
    but monitoring resumes immediately on the drive.

   You upgrade from one operating system to another or you
    reinstall the operating system. The upgrade might be from
    Microsoft Windows Millennium Edition to Windows XP
    or from Windows XP to Windows XP.

    After you run the Setup program, you will have to run
    System Checkpoint, but the restore points you had under
    the previous operating system are gone. Windows does not
    let you return to an older version of the operating system
    by using System Restore.
                                  Note When you upgrade, you might still see some restore
                                  point files and folders in the <drive letter>:\System
                                  Volume Information in Windows XP or under the <System
                                  Drive>:\_RESTORE folder in Windows Millennium
                                  Edition. However, these restore points are obsolete and
                                  cannot be used as they do not appear on the Select a
                                  Restore Point list on the System Restore page.

                                  If you start the Disk Cleanup utility and you click the Disk
                                  Cleanup tab, a System Restore: Obsolete Data Stores
                                  entry is available. These are files that were created before
                                  Windows was reformatted or reinstalled. They are obsolete
                                  and you can delete them. If you choose to clean up and
                                  delete these files, you will no longer see them under the
                                  folders that are mentioned earlier in this article, and the
                                  option to delete obsolete data stores will no longer appear
                                  on the Disk Cleanup utility.
                                 You start the Disk Cleanup utility, click the More Options
                                  tab, and then click Clean up under System Restore. When
                                  you do this, all restore points (except the most recent one)
                                  are deleted.
                                 You are running low on disk space, but not so low that
                                  System Restore stops performing. System Restore deletes
                                  some of the restore points, but not all of them. This occurs
                                  because System Restore uses a First In First Out (FIFO)
                                  process to decrease the size of the data store to
                                  approximately 75 percent of its maximum size when the
                                  data store reaches approximately 90 percent of its
                                  maximum size. The maximum size may be the default size,
                                  or it may be set by the user. System Restore performs this
                                  deletion regardless of how much disk space you have.
                                 A restore point reaches an age of 90 days. The restore
                                  point is then deleted because 90 days is the default time to
                                  live.
                                 You manually reduce the data store size. This triggers the
                                  FIFO process to delete some restore points to
                                  accommodate the newly-resized data store.

 Back to the top

STATUS
This behavior is by design.
This behavior is by design.
 Back to the top

MORE INFORMATION
System Restore uses the FIFO process on restore points
consistently across driv...
System Restore uses the FIFO process on restore points consistently across drives and always
deletes full restore points. System Restore keeps restore point information about all drives. So
when one drive causes System Restore to use the FIFO process on restore points because of low
disk space, the restore point information is deleted on all drives. For additional information, see
the following Microsoft Knowledge Base articles:
299904 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299904/ ) System Restore suspended on system drive
although enough disk space
300044 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/300044/ ) System Restore and hard disk space
  Back to the top


APPLIES TO

                                      Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
                                      Microsoft Windows XP Professional

				
DOCUMENT INFO
Tags:
Stats:
views:3
posted:2/17/2012
language:
pages:4