Equalities presentation_tcm44-193093 by xiagong0815


									   Derbyshire Accommodation & Support
           (Supporting People)

Quality Assessment Framework (QAF)

In relation to:

C1.4 Fair Access Diversity and
The Quality Assessment
  Framework (QAF)
Introduced in 2003, Updated in 2009

 Sets out the standards expected in the delivery
 of SP Services
Level C means that the service meets, and is
 able to evidence, the required minimum
 standard but there is scope for improvement.
Level B means the service can evidence good
Level A means excellence and is associated
 with providers striving to be leaders in their
       5 Core Objectives
C1.1 Assessment and Support Planning
C1.2 Security, Health and Safety
C1.3 Safeguarding and Protection from
C1.4 Fair Access, Diversity and Inclusion
C1.5 Client Involvement and
  C1.4 Fair Access, Diversity and
It now consists of the following three standards:
     Fair access, fair exit, diversity and inclusion
     are embedded within the culture of the service
     and there is demonstrable promotion and
     implementation of the policies.
     The assessment and allocations processes
     have been reviewed in the last three years and
     ensure fair access to the service.
     There is a commitment to ensuring fair exit
     from the service.
Please see paper copy for a more detailed
     breakdown of the requirements
                 In a Nutshell
Level C – Policies in place.
Level B – Policies in place and there is a periodic
  review of the policies and procedures which
  include equality access targets and equality
  impact assessments.
Level A – Requirements of Level C and Level B
  together with evidence that changes have taken
  place as a result of the review
What sort of things does a Provider
           have to do?
The QAF makes clear that achievement of
 Level B and Level A is not prescriptive, to
 allow scope for best practice.

A provider who was awarded Level A was
  able to demonstrate performance in a
  variety of ways as detailed in the following
  case study.
How can a provider demonstrate
   performance at Level A?
Achieving level 3 of the equalities standard for local
government along with the borough council;
Setting up an Equality and Diversity group, which
includes clients, that has within its remit the review of
policies and procedures across the organisation and a
wider scrutiny role;
Quality monitoring of performance including equality
targets on a regular basis;
Conducting Equality Impact Assessments routinely in
response to changes in or the introduction of new
policies, procedures or functions;
Arranging equality and diversity training and ensuring job
descriptions include a need to support the equality and
diversity policies of the organisation;
How can a provider demonstrate
   performance at Level A?
Supporting the diverse communication needs of clients – including
increased awareness of these needs through community profiling;
Ensuring that the key working process can support the clients’
understanding of key documents;
Signing up to the Respect Standard for Housing Management which
requires organisational responses to anti-social behaviour and hate
crime. In addition, the organisation demonstrates a multi-agency
approach to dealing with community safety issues;
Having a Board Champion for Equalities;
Updating the Equality and Diversity policy to conform to the new
Equality Act 2010;
Targeting itself within a specific timeframe to gain the “excellent
standard” for the new Equality Framework for Local Government.
        Outcomes Monitoring
All Providers have been sent client group specific
  targets for achievement of 21 positive outcomes
  for clients.
These outcomes cover objectives such as
  “reducing overall debt” or “participating in work
  like activities”.
The objectives within the Fair Access, Diversity
  and Inclusion section of the QAF do not directly
  link across, but provide the building blocks for
  clients to aspire to achieving the outcomes.

To top