Learning Center
Plans & pricing Sign in
Sign Out

Latest Changes in General Skilled Migration for Australia


									Skilled Migration"Skilled Migration" - What is it?Migration means to move
or travel. Skilled Migration? Simple!!!! It means your contribution of
work plays a vital role in the economic development of a country.Simply
saying - Adding to the Economy.Now let us go for a small journey about
the General Skilled Migration to Australia.Yes anybody whose travel is
going to be beneficial to the economic development of a country is called
as a Skilled Migration and it varies in different scenarios.The General
Skilled Migration (GSM) program is for people who move individually with
their skills in occupations that a country needs to fill labour
shortages. This is much welcomed in Australia. Applicants should be good
speakers of English and the age limit is between 18 and 49. They must
also have skilled work experience or a recently learned eligible
Australian qualification for an occupation listed on Australia's Skilled
Occupation List (SOL).Most important point to be noted is that the age
limits which is a maximum of under age 50.The recent announcement in the
Immigration Ministry and Citizenship is that Perth is to be added in the
Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS).1. Perth is included as a
regional area for family Sponsored application in the Regional Skilled
Migration Scheme.2. Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) includes
regional postcodes for Perth.The Visa processing has been prioritized to
increase the economy in the current required skills. They target the
industries which are in need of skilled migration to meet the economic
sectors.The New list of Skilled Occupation List (SOL) has 13 new
occupations added and 4 removed.The below link provides the information
about the occupations. Priority of Visa ProcessingThe Regional Skilled
Visas will be processed at high priority and grouped as per the
requirement.This updated process is applicable for the below Visas1.
Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) - These people get the First
Priority Group2. Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS) - Second Priority
Group3. Certain General Skilled Migration (GSM) - The General Skilled and
the people nominated by the state or territory government as prioritized
under the Third Group.4. People listed in the Schedule 1 Skilled
Occupation List are grouped as four and the others not included in the
first schedule are grouped as five.There are Two Types of Skilled
ApplicantsOffshore Visa Subclasses & Onshore Visa Subclasses where the
applicants are categorized as below.Onshore Visa: People who are in
Australia with an eligible visa.Off shore Visa: People who are not in
Australia or are in Australia but not on a qualifying visa.1. Skilled -
Regional2. Skilled - Sponsored3. Skilled - Regional Sponsored4. Skilled
Recognised GraduateThe Australian Government considers managerial,
professional, technical and trade occupations as skilled migrations as
which have great values for the economy.The applicant must qualify the
basic requirements of the Visa process such as age, English language
efficiency, occupation, skills, qualification, recent work experience,
health and character.1. Skilled - RegionalClearing a skilled visa is
quite challenging and the person needs to take up an assessment and the
score a maximum point of 65.The assessment score for the skilled
independent visa applicants should be a minimum of 65 percentage. They
need to ensure that they qualify the skill set of the jobs they apply and
the specifications in the Skilled Occupation List (SOL).There is no
necessity of Sponsorship for these skilled visa applicants and are
considered as permanent Australian Residents.Once a person is qualified
for Skilled Visa he is considered as a permanent resident of Australia
and empowered to enjoy the benefits such as, access to government-
subsidized healthcare certain social security facilities and find a way
to become eligible applicant who can claim for Australian citizenship.2.
Skilled - SponsoredThe individuals who fail to clear the assessment with
a score of 65 percentage but quite capable to the requirements of the
Skilled Occupational List (SOL) can avail the Skilled Sponsored Visa. The
only restriction is that he/she needs to be either sponsored by an
Australian relative or any of the State or Territory Government who
participate in the skill set programs.The sponsor must either be an(a) an
Australian citizen;(b) an Australian permanent resident; or(c) An
eligible New Zealand citizen.The applicant (or their spouse) must be
related their sponsor as either:(a) a non-dependent child - including a
natural, adoptive or step-child;(b) a parent - including adoptive or
step-parent;(c) a brother or sister - including adoptive or step-
siblings;(d) a niece or nephew - including adoptive or step-niece or
nephew; or(e) an aunt or uncle - including adoptive or step-aunt or
uncle3. Skilled Regional Sponsored VisaThis Visa is for a period of 3
years and the applicant must be prepared to work for two years. This also
gives a path to become a permanent resident.All of the above like the
age, qualification skill set and when the assessment score is not met
with 65 points then he can obtain a visa from his sponsor from residing
in that region.Australian Skilled Regional Sponsored Visa is a temporary
visa which admits the holder and the family to live, work or study in a
Specified Regional Area of Australia for three years of the Visa Time.4.
Skilled Recognised GraduateThis is for the engineering graduates which is
valid for a period of 18 months from recognized universities The
eligibility is an age limit of 18- 30, good English and health &
Character.This is just a small review about the recent changes and the
overview of the Migration Process.

To top