This simple worksheet can be used to calculate
Fixed Cost = 60000 the Break-Even Point (BEP) based on Cost, Price
Variable Cost = 20
As it stands, it is not obvious to the user which
cells they should fill in and which cells contain
Break-Even Volume = 6000 Click on the BEP worksheet tab to see how Cell
Styles and Data Validation can be used to
Total Cost 180000 improve the interface, and make this application
more useful for end users.
Total Revenue 180000
Total Profit or Loss 0
Source: W. Stevenson, C. Ozgur, “Introduction to Management Science with Spreadsheets”, p. 26.
ets”, p. 26.
Fixed Cost = $ 60,000.00
Variable Cost = $ 20.00 Formatted as Input
Price = $ 30.00
Break-Even Volume = 6000
Total Cost $ 180,000.00 Formatted as Calculation
Total Revenue $ 180,000.00
Total Profit or Loss $ -
User now knows where to fill in the values to compute the Break-Even Volume.
Try using the Goal Seek tool to find optimal solutions.
! We've also protected
this worksheet so users
can only enter data into
the input cells and not
accidentally erase the
Good User Interface Techniques
* Use Cell Styles to indicate editable cells.
* Use Data Validation to maintain data integrity.
* Lock cells and protect the worksheets to keep the
user from making unwanted changes (not 100%