Safe Web Browsing
Description of operation
When a user opens the browser, the first page they see requests them to click on one of
1. Go into Safe Web Mode (restricted to only trusted websites)
2. Browse the entire Internet
When in Safe Mode, the entire browser chrome will be a distinctive different color, such
as green. There should be a default color, but it should be adjustable by the user. A button
will appear in the chrome that says “Safe Mode, click to return to Full Internet.” When
not in Safe mode the button, will say “Full Internet Browsing, click to return to Safe
Once selected, the browser will stay in Safe Web Mode until the user either closes down
the browser, or clicks on a button in the Chrome that says “return to Full Internet”
Anytime a user is at a web site, the user should be able to “add” or “delete” that site from
Safe Mode. There should be a button in the chrome that allows this action.
To be added to Safe Mode, a site must be qualified. If a site is not qualified to be in
placed in Safe Zone, and a user attempts to add this site to Safe Mode, the browser will
return a message that says “This web page is not qualified to be viewed in Safe Mode”
To be allowed in Safe Zone, a site would have to conform to the requirements specified
in the Safe Web Browser Recommendation; namely, the site must be able to be
authenticated as a safe site (for example: page must be digitally signed with an
appropriate certificate and logo type, which validates the site has undergone appropriate
investigation and on-going auditing by an authorized authority, and the sites IP addresses
match addresses previously registered and signed by registration agent).
When in Safe Mode, besides the web page checking, the browser’s security settings will
be automatically set to maximum protection.