; USPS sign-on
Learning Center
Plans & pricing Sign in
Sign Out
Your Federal Quarterly Tax Payments are due April 15th Get Help Now >>

USPS sign-on


  • pg 1
									December 2, 2011

Hon. Patrick R. Donahoe
Postmaster General and Chief Executive Officer
United States Postal Service
475 L'Enfant Plaza, SW
Washington, DC 20260-3500

Dear Postmaster General Donahoe,

       We, the bipartisan Queens delegation to the New York State Senate, New York State
Assembly and the New York City Council, are writing today urging you not to close the Queens
Processing and Distribution Center currently located in Whitestone. The center employs 702 people,
many of whom live right here in Queens.

       Queens is the second most populous borough and the most diverse in New York City and
indeed, the nation. Shutting down this center would negatively affect millions of customers.
Collection pick-up and delivery times will be altered, seniors will have to wait longer for their
medications, and hundreds of workers will be displaced.

         Under the Postal Service’s universal service obligation, it must provide access to services,
facilities, and delivery frequency equally to all. Telling residents of Queens that they must now travel
an additional 26 miles roundtrip, seems to be a failure to meet this obligation.

       As legislators who represent this great borough, both Democrat and Republican, we ask that
you reconsider this proposal and look into other cost saving efforts.


State Senator Toby Ann Stavisky        Assemblyman Michael Simanowitz        Councilman Daniel Halloran
State Senator Tony Avella        Assemblyman Edwards Braunstein     Assemblywoman Barbara Clark

Councilman Leroy Comrie         Assemblywoman Vivian Cook         Councilwoman Elizabeth Crowley

Assemblyman Michael DenDekker Councilman Daniel Dromm                   Councilman James Gennaro

Senator Michael Gianaris         Assemblyman Phillip Goldfeder          Councilman Peter Koo

Councilwoman Karen Koslowitz       Assemblywoman Margaret Markey     Assemblywoman Grace Meng

Assemblyman Michael Miller       NYC Council Speaker Christine Quinn Assemblyman William Scarborough

State Senator Malcom A. Smith       Assemblyman David Weprin            Councilman Mark Weprin

To top