Kansas by linxiaoqin

VIEWS: 30 PAGES: 13

									                                                                                          Links
Kansas
                           Shall Issue          Must Inform Officer: NO              State CCW Site
                                                                                 State CCW Pamphlet
                                                                                   CCW Application
                                                                                   And Instructions
                                                                                     State FAQ Site
                                                                                      State Statutes
                                                                                   State Admin Rules
                                                                                 State Reciprocity Info
                                                                                 State Attorney General
                                                                                 Kansas Firearm Laws

                                                                                  Last Updated: 11/8/11

Permits/Licenses This State Honors

Alaska                Arizona               Arkansas               Colorado              Florida
Hawaii                Kentucky              Louisiana              Michigan              Minnesota
Missouri              Nebraska              Nevada                 New Jersey            New Mexico
North Carolina        North Dakota          Ohio                   Oklahoma              South Carolina
Tennessee             Texas                 West Virginia

Kansas Honors Non-Resident Permits/Licenses From the States They Honor.
How to Apply for A Permit

Please complete application fully by typing or printing in blue or black ink all requested information. You
must apply at the sheriff’s office in your county of residence. You must attach the following items:
1. For new applications or those which have permanently expired, you must attach two money orders or
cashier’s checks:
     (1) For $100 ($50 if retired law enforcement officer) payable to “Office of the Attorney General”
     (2) For $32.50 payable to “Sheriff of ____________ County,” (put your county of residence in the blank
         space)
2. A photocopy of a certificate or an affidavit signed by an instructor approved by the attorney general
showing completion of an approved training class. If you are a retired law enforcement officer as defined by
KSA 21-3110, completion of an approved training class is not required if you were certified by the Kansas
Law Enforcement Training Commission not more than 8 years prior to submission of this application. Proof
of retirement from the retiring agency must accompany the application – i.e., copy of an agency issued
retirement credential with date of retirement or a letter signed by chief administrator acknowledging your
retirement.
3. A 2” x 2” passport-type color photograph of the applicant taken within the preceding 30 days with no
sunglasses or hat. Photo must be a frontal view containing head and shoulders. Attach photo to page 2 of the
application.


www.handgunlaw.us                                                                                          1
After completing Sections I, II and III, and compiling the above listed items, submit your application and
attachments to your county sheriff. The sheriff will make a copy of your Kansas driver’s license or ID card,
take your fingerprints and mail the application packet to the attorney general.

NOTE: Answering “no” to questions numbered 1 through 4, or answering “yes” to any of the questions
numbered 5 through 16, in Section II of this application will likely result in a license denial. Answer each
question honestly and to the best of your knowledge. Should you answer “no” to a question numbered 1
through 4, or “yes” to any of the questions 5 through 16, explain you answer fully on a separate sheet of
paper and attach to your completed application.

New Provision, Read Carefully Before Continuing: Individuals with criminal histories which include
expunged felony offenses may now be eligible for licensure. Even if expunged, all criminal histories
inquired about in Section II must be disclosed by individuals applying for a concealed carry handgun
license (CCHL). The attorney general does have access to expunged adult records for licensing purposes. If
an applicant’s criminal history includes a felony level conviction or diversion, in order to be eligible for
licensure:
(a) the felony must be expunged from the individual’s record; and (b) 5 years must have elapsed between
the date the individual became eligible for expungement and the date the CCHL application is submitted. If
an applicant’s criminal history includes an expunged misdemeanor conviction or diversion for one or more
of the offenses found under question 8 in Section II, the applicant must wait to apply until 5 years have
elapsed since the date of conviction or placement on diversion. Applications which do not meet these
criteria prior to application will be denied. To ensure your eligibility, consult private legal counsel. The
attorney general cannot provide counsel.
The application process will take a minimum of 45 days from the attorney general’s receipt of
application but generally will be completed at about 60 days. If an applicant has been approved to obtain
a Kansas CCH license, the applicant will receive a “license approval notice” from the Office of the
Attorney General informing the applicant that he/she has been approved to obtain a license and directing the
applicant to go to a participating Kansas Department of Revenue state driver’s license station in order to be
photographed for the new CCH license card. The new CCH license will then be manufactured and mailed to
the CCH licensee at the licensee’s DL address.

The new Law does not allow for Drivers License endorsement. You will be issued a separate CCHL ID card
that is your carry permit. Endorsements already in existence are still valid but upon expiration and you
reapply for a new permit/license you will be issued a separate CCHL card.

ALL FEES SUBMITTED ARE NONREFUNDABLE.

75-7c07
The major changes to this statute include allowances for (1) a Kansas resident to move to another state and
have their Kansas CCH remain valid for 90 days; and (2) a Kansas CCH holder who moved away may be
eligible to return and have their Kansas CCH license reinstated without penalty.

In order for (1) to happen, the individual MUST notify the Attorney General of their relocation to another
jurisdiction. Additionally, the new jurisdiction of residence MUST accept the Kansas license as valid (given
that the person is no longer a resident of Kansas). If the notice provision is met, the Kansas CCH license will
remain valid for 90 days; after that, it is up to the licensee to be sure that their new state of residence will
allow them to continue carrying.

In order for (2) to happen, notice to the Attorney General must be provided again. The Attorney General
needs to be made aware of the initial departure and of the pending return. If the notice provisions are not met
www.handgunlaw.us                                                                                              2
– then the licensee may comply with the penalty provisions (up to $100 fine or suspension of license up to
180 days). Finally, the license MUST still be within its most recent expiration period.

Non-Resident Permits

75-7c03. (d) A person who establishes residency in this state may carry concealed handguns under the
terms of this act until the person's application for a license under this act is approved or denied, provided that
the person has been issued and possesses a valid license or permit to carry a firearm from a jurisdiction
recognized by the attorney general under subsection (c) and carries with that license or permit a receipt
issued by the attorney general, which states the person's application for licensure under this act has been
received. For purposes of such application, possession of the valid nonresident license or permit to carry a
firearm shall satisfy the requirements of subsection (b)(2) of K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 75-7c04, and amendments
thereto. 75-7c03.
History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 3; L. 2006, ch. 210, § 1;L. 2009, ch. 101, § 1;L. 2010, ch. 140, § 3; July 1.

Kansas issues Non Resident Permit/Licenses to Active Duty Military Personnel and their dependants
stationed in Kansas. If you are active military or the dependant of active military and stationed in Kansas
even though you have residence in another state you can apply for a Kansas Permit/License to carry. Apply
the same as a resident. Information on Military Personnel from the KS AG.

From the KS AG concerning 75-7c03
This new subsection provides guidance for individuals moving to Kansas, on and after July 1st, if that
individual is already licensed by a recognized jurisdiction. These parameters, if met, would allow that
individual to continue carrying under their non-resident license while awaiting a Kansas license. In order for
this to occur, the following events have to have occurred:
(1) Residency in Kansas is established on or after July 1, 2010;
(2) The new Kansas resident has a valid CCH license issued by a jurisdiction whom Kansas already
recognizes;
(3) The new Kansas resident fills out and completes the application for a Kansas CCH license (including:
submission of all required materials to the sheriff in the county of residence)
(4) The new Kansas resident attaches to that Kansas application a copy of their nonresident/ recognized CCH
license as proof of training to bypass the Kansas training requirement; AND
(5) The individual has received and carries with them a receipt issued by the AG/Unit which shows that their
Kansas application has been received.


Places Off-Limits Even With A Permit/License

Note: Kansas just made major changes to their carry laws. Handgunlaw.us is still trying to sort out all the
changes. Do check on the State AG’s site for additional info. We will make updates as timely as possible.


75-7c10. Same; Restrictions on Carrying Concealed Handgun on Certain Property; Exceptions;
Penalties for Violations.
 (a) Provided that the premises are conspicuously posted in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by
the attorney general as premises where carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited, no license issued
pursuant to or recognized by this act shall authorize the licensee to carry a concealed handgun into the
building of:

www.handgunlaw.us                                                                                                3
       (1) Any place where an activity declared a common nuisance by K.S.A. 22-3901, and amendments
       thereto, is maintained;
       (2) any police, sheriff or highway patrol station;
       (3) any detention facility, prison or jail;
       (4) any courthouse, except that nothing in this section would preclude a judge from carrying a
       concealed handgun or determining who may carry a concealed handgun in the judge's courtroom;
       (5) any polling place on the day an election is held;
       (6) any state office;
       (7) any facility hosting an athletic event not related to or involving firearms which is sponsored by a
       private or public elementary or secondary school or any private or public institution of postsecondary
       education;
       (8) any facility hosting a professional athletic event not related to or involving firearms;
       (9) any drinking establishment as defined by K.S.A. 41-2601, and amendments thereto;
       (10) any elementary or secondary school, attendance center, administrative office, services center or
       other facility;
       (11) any community college, college or university ;
       (12) any child exchange and visitation center provided for in K.S.A. 75-720, and amendments
       thereto;
       (13) any community mental health center organized pursuant to K.S.A. 19-4001 et seq., and
       amendments thereto; any mental health clinic organized pursuant to K.S.A. 65-211 et seq., and
       amendments thereto; any psychiatric hospital licensed under K.S.A. 75-3307b, and amendments
       thereto; or a state psychiatric hospital, as follows: Larned state hospital, Osawatomie state hospital
       or Rainbow mental health facility;
       (14) any public library operated by the state;
       (15) any day care home or group day care home, as defined in Kansas administrative regulation 28-4-
       113, or any preschool or childcare center, as defined in Kansas administrative regulation 28-4-420; or
       (16) any place of worship.

(b) Nothing in this act shall be construed to prevent:
       (1) Any public or private employer from restricting or prohibiting by personnel policies persons
       licensed under this act from carrying a concealed handgun while on the premises of the employer's
       business or while engaged in the duties of the person's employment by the employer, except that no
       employer may prohibit possession of a handgun in a private means of conveyance, even if parked on
       the employer's premises; or
       (2) any private business or city, county or political subdivision from restricting or prohibiting
       persons licensed or recognized under this act from carrying a concealed handgun within a building
       or buildings of such entity, provided that the premises are posted in accordance with rules and
       regulations adopted by the attorney general pursuant to subsection (f), as premises where carrying
       a concealed handgun is prohibited.

(c)    (1) It shall be a violation of this section to carry a concealed handgun in violation of any
       restriction or prohibition allowed by subsection (a) or (b) if the premises are posted in accordance
       with rules and regulations adopted by the attorney general pursuant to subsection (f). Any person
       who violates this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of: (A) Not more than
       $50 for the first offense; or (B) not more than $100 for the second offense. Any third or subsequent
       offense is a class B misdemeanor.
       (2) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) or (b), it is not a violation of this section
       for the United States attorney for the district of Kansas, the attorney general, any district attorney or
       county attorney, any assistant United States attorney if authorized by the United States attorney for
       the district of Kansas, any assistant attorney general if authorized by the attorney general, or any
www.handgunlaw.us                                                                                              4
       assistant district attorney or assistant county attorney if authorized by the district attorney or county
       attorney by whom such assistant is employed, to possess a handgun within any of the buildings
       described in subsection (a) or (b), subject to any restrictions or prohibitions imposed in any
       courtroom by the chief judge of the judicial district. The provisions of this paragraph shall not apply
       to any person who is not in compliance with K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 75-7c19, and amendments thereto.

(d) For the purposes of this section, "building" shall not include any structure, or any area of any structure,
designated for the parking of motor vehicles.

(e) Nothing in this act shall be construed to authorize the carrying or possession of a handgun where
prohibited by federal law.

(f) The attorney general shall adopt rules and regulations prescribing the location, content, size and other
characteristics of signs to be posted on premises where carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited pursuant
to subsections (a) and (b). Such regulations shall prescribe, at a minimum, that:
        (1) The signs be posted at all exterior entrances to the prohibited buildings;
        (2) they be posted at eye level of adults using the entrance and not more than 12 inches to the right or
        left of such entrance;
        (3) the signs not be obstructed or altered in any way; and
        (4) signs which become illegible for any reason be immediately replaced. 75-7c10.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 10;L. 2006, ch. 210, § 7;L. 2007, ch. 166, § 5;L. 2009, ch. 92, § 5;L. 2010, ch.
140, § 9; July 1.                                           Required Signage Per KS AG 2011 Edition

21-4204 (7)(b)(3) Allows someone with a valid permit/license valid in the state of Kansas to have a secured
firearm in a vehicle while dropping off or picking up children on school property.

21-4218. Unauthorized Possession of A Firearm on the Grounds of or Within Certain State-Owned or
Leased Buildings and County Courthouses.

(a) Except as otherwise specified in this section, no person shall possess a firearm on the grounds in any of
the following places:
        (1) The state capitol building;
        (2) within the governor's residence;
        (3) on the grounds of or in any building on the grounds of the governor's residence;
        (4) within the state office building at 915 Harrison known as the Docking state office building;
        (5) within the state office building at 900 Jackson known as the Landon state office building;
        (6) within the Kansas judicial center building at 301 West Tenth Street;
        (7) within any other state-owned or leased building if the secretary of administration has so
        designated by rules and regulations and conspicuously placed signs clearly stating that firearms are
        prohibited within such building; and
        (8) within any county courthouse, unless, by county resolution, the board of county commissioners
        authorize the possession of a firearm within such courthouse.

(b) The prohibitions in subsection (a) shall not apply to:
       (1) A commissioned law enforcement officer;
       (2) a full-time salaried law enforcement officer of another state or the federal government who is
       carrying out official duties while in this state;
       (3) any person summoned by any such officer to assist in making arrests or preserving the peace
       while actually engaged in assisting such officer;
www.handgunlaw.us                                                                                                  5
       (4) a member of the military of this state or the United States engaged in the performance of duties;
       or
       (5) a person with a license issued pursuant to or recognized under K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 75-7c01 et seq.,
       and amendments thereto, except in buildings posted in accordance with K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 75-7c10,
       and amendments thereto, and in the areas specified in paragraphs (2) and (3) of
       subsection (a).

(c) For the purposes of paragraphs (1), (4), (5), (6), (7) and (8) of subsection (a), "building" shall not include
any structure, or any area of any structure, designated for the parking of motor vehicles.

(d) It is not a violation of this section for the governor, the governor's immediate family, or specifically
authorized guests of the governor to possess a firearm within the governor's residence or on the grounds of or
in any building on the grounds of the governor's residence.

(e) It is not a violation of this section for the United States attorney for the district of Kansas, the attorney
general, any district attorney or county attorney, any assistant United States attorney if authorized by the
United States attorney for the district of Kansas, any assistant attorney general if authorized by the attorney
general, or any assistant district attorney or assistant county attorney if authorized by the district attorney or
county attorney by whom such assistant is employed, to possess a firearm within any county courthouse and
court-related facility, subject to any restrictions or prohibitions imposed in any courtroom by the chief judge
of the judicial district. The provisions of this paragraph shall not apply to any person not in compliance with
K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 75-7c19, and amendments thereto.

(f) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, any county may elect by passage of a resolution that the
provisions of subsection (c)[*] shall not apply to such county's courthouse or court-related facilities if: (1)
Such facilities have adequate security measures to ensure that no weapons are permitted to be carried into
such facilities. For the purposes of this section, "adequate security measures" means the use of electronic
equipment and personnel to detect and restrict the carrying of any weapons into the facility, including, but
not limited to, metal detectors, metal detector wands or any other equipment used for similar purposes;
       (2) such facilities have adequate measures for storing and securing lawfully carried weapons,
       including, but not limited to, the use of gun lockers or other similar storage options;
       (3) such county also has a policy or regulation requiring all law enforcement officers to secure and
       store such officer's firearm upon entering the courthouse or court-related facility. Such policy or
       regulation may provide that it does not apply to court security or sheriff's office personnel for such
       county; and
       (4) such facilities have a sign conspicuously posted at each entryway into such facility stating that the
       provisions of subsection (c)[*] do not apply to such facility.

(g) Violation of subsection (a) is a class A misdemeanor.

(h) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the Kansas criminal code. 21-4218.

History: L. 1991, ch. 89, § 1;L. 1992, ch. 298, § 80;L. 1993, ch. 291, § 157;L. 2006, ch. 210,

§ 10;L. 2009, ch. 92, § 3;L. 2010, ch. 140, § 17; July 1.        Required Signage Per KS AG 2011 Edition.


From the Attorney General on Other Places Off Limits and Signage Requirements.

Federal Facilities (No A.G. Posting Required)
www.handgunlaw.us                                                                                                    6
Federal Lands (No A.G. Posting Required)

Corp of Engineers Land (No A.G. Posting Required)
As a general matter, these lands are “no firearms allowed” as per federal regulation (36 CFR 327.13) and
licensees should always call ahead to Corp authorities to find out any such property boundaries so as to avoid
crossing into such. This is especially important as often times, Corp properties may abut or be found within
State park areas (where carrying a firearm is generally allowed).

Casinos (Tribal casinos: no A.G. posting required. Non-tribal: A.G. Posting required) Pursuant to the Tribal
Gaming Compacts, casinos located on tribal lands are areas where no firearms will be allowed to be carried
by the general public or concealed carry licensees. Some non-tribal casinos have begun and will continue to
develop throughout Kansas in recent years and beyond – those casinos will be governed by Kansas laws and
licensees should be aware of any signage restricting their firearms access into the casino.

Tribal Lands (No A.G. posting required)
As a general matter, tribal lands are independently governed by their own respective tribes and state laws
have no effect upon tribal laws. It is our understanding that visiting licensees will be recognized so long as
they are acting according to state laws. However, should a licensee be traveling onto tribal lands, it is always
best to contact the local policing authority and inquire as to the proper manner of carrying a firearm.

Race tracks (A.G. Posting Required)
The possession of weapons while visiting Kansas race tracks (par-mutual or otherwise) is prohibited per
Kansas administrative regulation (e.g., K.A.R. 112-11-21).

State Wildlife Areas and State Parks (A.G. Posting Required)
With the allowances for hunting in many State Park areas, as a general matter, assume that State Parks will
allow licensees to concealed carry. Any park buildings, however, will probably be posted and off limits to
carry within those structures. Additionally, KDWP has a regulation which allows them to regulate such an
activity through the posting of the park so licensees should again be on the look-out just to be sure.
Preemption of City & County Ordinances etc.

Note: In sum, all places enumerated under K.S.A. 75-7c10, except for federal properties, now require
A.G. approved signage in order to carry a violation of 75-7c10. As a general matter then, all Kansas, or
visiting, licensees should be on the look-out for A.G. approved signage in order to give them notice of not to
carry at that location. There is no need, therefore, to spell out in quite as much detail, the list of locations
previously enumerated with this document – for example, the ‘common nuisance’ locations of K.S.A. 75-
7c10(a)(1) – so some of those areas have been removed while others will remain.

K.S.A. 12-16,124 allows concealed carry licensees to take their loaded weapons off of their person while
they are traveling in their vehicles and not be subject to local ordinances or resolutions regarding the open
carry or unlawful transportation of firearms. With no requirement for vehicle occupancy, the changes made
to K.S.A.

12-16,124(b)(4) allows concealed carry licensees to leave their weapon, loaded or unloaded, in their
vehicle. Again, the purpose for preempting city and county regulations was to shield licensees from local
firearms violations in the event that they removed their weapons from their person while traveling
throughout the state. Cities and counties still have the authority to regulate the open carry of firearms “on
one’s person.” These local regulations apply to concealed carry licensees as well as the general public.
www.handgunlaw.us                                                                                               7
Do “No Gun Signs” Have the Force of Law?

 “YES”

               Posting of certain properties
       -The requirements for “no concealed carry” signage also changed with the passage of HB 2528. In
       order to bring charges of unlawful concealed carry against a licensee, those properties previously
       enumerated under K.S.A. 75-7c10 (schools, bars, churches, school & professional athletic events,
       churches, etc.) must now be posted. One exception to this is the provision regarding carrying in or on
       areas prohibited by Federal law; these areas are under no obligation to post their properties.
       -Also changed with HB 2528, business owners (both public and private) may continue to post their
       buildings to restrict the concealed carry of firearms, but parking lots are no longer allowed to be
       posted.
       - Cities and counties may continue to post their buildings, but parks, greenways, etc., are no longer
       allowed to be posted.
       - Employers, both public and private, may continue to restrict a licensed employee’s ability to carry
       concealed while they are performing the duties of their employ, but licensed employees are allowed
       to store their firearm in their private means of conveyance, even if parked on company property.

 When posting the sign, it must be placed at all exterior entrances to the prohibited building; posted at eye
level of adults using the entrance and not more than 12 inches to the right or left of such entrances; not
obstructed or altered in any way; and immediately replaced if it becomes illegible for any reason.

In sum, all places enumerated under K.S.A. 75-7c10, except for federal properties, now require A.G.
approved signage in order to carry a violation of 75-7c10. As a general matter then, all Kansas, or visiting,
licensees should be on the look-out for A.G. approved signage in order to give them notice of not to carry at
that location. There is no need, therefore, to spell out in quite as much detail, the list of locations previously
enumerated with this document – for example, the ‘common nuisance’ locations of K.S.A. 75-7c10(a)(1) –
so some of those areas have been removed while others will remain.
Required Signage Per KS AG 2011 Edition

Carry In State Parks/State & National Forests/WMA/Road Side Rest Areas

Carry Allowed in these Areas:

State Parks:     YES If not Posted
State/National Forests:      YES
WMA’s:       YES 301 KAR 3:010.
Road Side Rest Areas:      YES If not Posted

RV/Car Carry Without A Permit/License

Weapons Transportation (From the KS State Patrol FAQ’s)

Kansas law does not prohibit the "plain view" transportation of weapons in passenger vehicles. However,
certain jurisdictions within our state have restrictions in this regard. Some cities and / or counties require
weapons to be unloaded. Others prohibit transportation of weapons inside the passenger compartment. In
order to comply with local laws pertaining to weapons transportation, you need to contact law enforcement
officials in the area(s) you plan to travel.
www.handgunlaw.us                                                                                                    8
From the Kansas Attorney General FAQ on Firearms.

Q. How Can I Legally Transport a Firearm in My Vehicle Anywhere in Kansas?

 Answer: K.S.A. 2005 Supp 12-16,124(d) provides that “no person shall be prosecuted under any ordinance,
resolution or regulation for transporting a firearm in any air, land or water vehicle if the firearm is unloaded
and encased in a container which completely encloses the firearm.” Again, concealed carry licensees are not
subject to local ordinances or resolutions regarding the manner of transporting a loaded firearm.

K.S.A. 12-16,124 Firearms and Ammunition; Regulation by City or County, Limitations.

 (a) No city or county shall adopt any ordinance, resolution or regulation, and no agent of any city or county
shall take any administrative action, governing the purchase, transfer, ownership, storage or transporting of
firearms or ammunition, or any component or combination thereof. Except as provided in subsection (b) and
subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 75-7c11, and amendments thereto, any such ordinance, resolution or
regulation adopted prior to the effective date of this 2007 act shall be null and void.

     (4) prohibit a city or county from adopting an ordinance, resolution or regulation requiring a firearm
transported in any air, land or water vehicle to be unloaded and encased in a container which completely
encloses the firearm or any less restrictive provision governing the transporting of firearms, provided such
ordinance, resolution or regulation shall not apply to persons licensed under the personal and family
protection act.

Note: You can open carry in a vehicle but cities can prohibit the open carry of firearms inside and outside a
vehicle. It is very difficult to know what cities have ordinances against open carry. Use Caution.

State Preemption

75-7c17. Legislative Findings Regarding Uniform Standards for Licensing and Regulation;
Certain Local Ordinances and Resolutions Inapplicable to Licensees; Limitations on Authority of
Attorney General; Liberal Construction of Act.

(a) The legislature finds as a matter of public policy and fact that it is necessary to provide statewide uniform
standards for issuing licenses to carry concealed handguns for self-defense and finds it necessary to occupy
the field of regulation of the bearing of concealed handguns for self-defense to ensure that no honest, law-
abiding person who qualifies under the provisions of this act is subjectively or arbitrarily denied the person's
rights. No city, county or other political subdivision of this state shall regulate, restrict or prohibit the
carrying of concealed handguns by persons licensed under this act except as provided in subsection (b) of
K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 75-7c10, and amendments thereto, and subsection (f) of K.S.A. 21-4218, and
amendments thereto. Any existing or future law, ordinance, rule, regulation or resolution enacted by any city,
county or other political subdivision of this state that regulates, restricts or prohibits the carrying of
concealed handguns by persons licensed under this act except as provided in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2010
Supp. 75-7c10, and amendments thereto, and subsection (f) of K.S.A. 21-4218, and amendments thereto,
shall be null and void.

(b) Prosecution of any person licensed under the personal and family protection act, and amendments
thereto, for violating any restrictions on licensees will be done through the district court.

www.handgunlaw.us                                                                                               9
(c) The legislature does not delegate to the attorney general the authority to regulate or restrict the issuing of
licenses provided for in this act, beyond those provisions of this act pertaining to licensing and training.
Subjective or arbitrary actions or rules and regulations which encumber the issuing process by placing
burdens on the applicant beyond those sworn statements and specified documents detailed in this act or
which create restrictions beyond those specified in this act are in conflict with the intent of this act and are
prohibited.

(d) This act shall be liberally construed. This act is supplemental and additional to existing constitutional
rights to bear arms and nothing in this act shall impair or diminish such rights. 75-7c17.

History: L. 2006, ch. 32, § 17;L. 2007, ch. 166, § 7;L. 2010, ch. 140, § 13; July 1.


Deadly Force Laws

Chapter 21: Crimes and Punishment
Article 32: Principles of Criminal Liability

21-3201   Criminal intent.
21-3202   Criminal intent; exclusions.
21-3203   Ignorance or mistake.
21-3204   Guilt without criminal intent, when.
21-3205   Liability for crimes of another.
21-3206   Corporations; criminal responsibility.
21-3207   Individual liability for corporate crime.
21-3208   Intoxication.
21-3209   Compulsion.
21-3210   Entrapment.
21-3211   Use of force in defense of a person.
21-3212   Use of force in defense of dwelling.
21-3213   Use of force in defense of property other than a dwelling.
21-3214   Use of force by an aggressor.
21-3215   Law enforcement officer's use of force in making arrest.
21-3216   Private person's use of force in making arrest.
21-3217   Use of force in resisting arrest.
21-3218   No duty to retreat
21-5220   Use of force; construction and application. [Amends K.S.A. 2010 Supp. § 21-3220]
21-5221   Use of force; definitions. [Amends K.S.A. 2010 Supp. § 21-3221]
21-5222   Use of force in defense of a person. [Amends K.S.A. 2010 Supp. § 21-3211]
21-5223   Use of force in defense of dwelling. [Amends K.S.A. 2010 Supp. § 21-3212]
21-5224   Use of force; presumptions. [Amends K.S.A. 2010 Supp. § 21-3212a]
21-5225   Use of force in defense of property other than a dwelling. [Amends K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-3213]
21-5226   Use of force by an aggressor. [Amends K.S.A. 2010 Supp. § 21-3214]
21-5227   Law enforcement officer's use of force in making arrest. [Amends K.S.A. 2010 Supp. § 21- 3215]
21-5228   Private person's use of force in making arrest. [Amends K.S.A. 2010 Supp. § 21-3216
21-5229   Use of force in resisting arrest. [Amends K.S.A. 2010 Supp. § 21-3217]
21-5230   No Duty to Retreat; exceptions. [Amends K.S.A. 2010 Supp. § 21-3218]
21-5231   Use of force; immunity from prosecution or liability; investigation. [Amends K.S.A. 2010 Supp. §
          21-3219]

www.handgunlaw.us                                                                                               10
Knife Laws State/Cities

To access State/Local Knife Laws Click “Here”

Carry in Restaurants That Serve Alcohol

   YES

Note: A “YES” above means you can carry into places like described below. “NO” means you can’t.
Handgunlaw.us definition of “Restaurant Carry” is carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Places
like Friday’s. Chili’s or Red Lobster. This may or may not mean the bar or the bar area of a
restaurant. But you can carry your firearm into a restaurant that serves alcohol and sit and eat
without consuming. Handgunlaw.us recommends you not sit at the Bar or in the Bar area of such
restaurants. In some states it is illegal to be in the Bar area of such restaurants. Handgunlaw.us
believes you should never consume alcohol when carrying your firearm. In some states it is illegal to
take even one drink while carrying a firearm. If you want further info on carrying in places that serve
alcohol check your state laws.

Chemical Sprays/Stun Gun/Higher Capacity Magazine Laws

Stun Guns/Electric Weapons:              72-89a01 Not allowed in schools. Same as a firearm.

LEOSA State Information

  Information on LEOSA

  Additional LEOSA Info

  KS AG Opinion on LEOSA

Attorney General Opinions/Court Cases

  KS AG Opinion- Carrying While Hunting
  KS AG Opinion- City Preemption and Open Carry

Airport Carry/Misc. Information

Airport Carry:      No laws found.

Training Valid for: Can’t find time period in KS Law. The Concealed Carry Licensing Unit in KS
                    States it will only honor certificates for 4 years from the date of the training.

Time Period to Establish Residency: No Time Period. An individual who is a new resident to Kansas as
of July 1, 2010 or after, may be eligible to bypass the Kansas training course AND carry concealed during
their pending Kansas application. In order for this to happen the applicant must have a valid concealed carry
license or permit that was issued by a jurisdiction that Kansas recognizes. If in possession of such a license
or permit, they must attach a photocopy of that license or permit to their Kansas application when they turn
in their materials at the county Sheriff’s office. Once the Unit has confirmed the validity of the recognized

www.handgunlaw.us                                                                                           11
license then the Unit will respond to the Applicant with a receipt that the Applicant must keep with them
when carrying under that recognized license.

Minimum Age for Permit/License:                         21

Permit/License Info Public Information: NO

State Fire arm Laws:                 75-7c03 thru 75-7c26

State Deadly Force Laws:                    21-3201 thru 21-3217 & 21-5220 thru 21-5231

State Knife Laws:             21-4201

Chemical/Electric Weapons Laws:                           72-89a01

Body Armor Laws:                  Unknown

Does Your Permit Cover Other Weapons Besides Firearms? Kansa Law states it both ways.
                   K.A.R. 16-11-4. states Concealed Weapon and then goes on to say, The Attorney
                   General’s “concealed carry handgun license program. Unknown at this time.

Is carrying of a Concealed Firearm with Permit/License
for Defensive Purposes Only While Hunting Legal?                                            Yes           32-1002. (3)

Notes

What Does KS Consider A Loaded Firearm?

Kansas law does not define Loaded. Its firearm laws are full of the word Loaded or Unloaded but does not
give a definition. In an email from the KS AG this is confirmed. They do not have a definition for what is a
loaded firearm. Minimum in most states is no rounds in the chamber or cylinder. No rounds in the firearm
outside the chamber in a tube or attached magazine. A court/jury would make this decision on what is loaded
to them if arrested on a charge of possession of a loaded firearm without a permit/license to have possession
of it.

Permit/License Image
                                I do not know if there is any information on the reverse of this License.




This image has been digitally assembled from 2 or more images. It may not be 100% accurate but gives a good representation of the actual Permit/License. I have
                                     also been told there are security seals on the KS License that do not show up in a copy.
Updates to this Page
7/20/09 – Reciprocity link updated.
8/20/09 - All links checked and updated if needed.
8/31/09 – NE now honors a KS Permit.

www.handgunlaw.us                                                                                                                                           12
11/5/09 – AG Opinion added on Carrying While Hunting.
3/17/10 – Links Checked and Repaired.
4/19/10 – No duty to retreat law added to Deadly Force Law Section
5/23/10 – Places Off Limits Updated. Preemption Section Updated. ND added as state that honors KS. Non-
          Resident section updated.
8/10/10 – All links checked and repaired if Necessary.
1/1/11 – IA Now Honors KS. Notes Section Added. Permit/License Image Added.
1/5/11 – RV/Car Carry Section info added on transporting firearms from AG FAQ’s. License Image Back Added. Loaded firearm
         wording updated.
1/14/11 – Links Updated.
1/24/11 – Places Off Limits updated with new law links and wording. Links Repaired.
1/28/11 – Law Links Updated to newest KS Law edition with wording changes in Places Off Limits and Preemption.
3/14/11- Info added on Moving into state with a Valid CCW KS Honors. Moving out of state and Permit term info added.
3/18/11 – AG Opinion Added on City Preemption and Open/Concealed Carry
3/29/11 – RV/Car Carry KS St. Patrol FAQ added.
4/5/11 – Link Repaired. All Links Checked.
4/17/11 – Information about carrying while hunting added.
7/8/11 – Wording on How to apply updated to show that separate Permit/License to be issued.
9/2/11 – Deadly Force Laws Section Updated with New Law Sections.
9/9/11 – All Links Checked and Repaired if Needed.
9/16/11 – Required Signage link updated with new AG Info as of 2011.
11/1/11 – WI Added as State That Honors KS.
11/8/11 – New Mexico Now Honors KS




www.handgunlaw.us                                                                                                      13

								
To top