Commonly Asked Questions RESOURCES aign Champ Can I have my criminal record at Urba VICE na- expunged after I plead guilty to a DUI? ity of Illinois GA L SER Illinois Secretary of State Univers LE ENT No. A first offense DUI is a class A misdemeanor http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com STUD and, upon conviction, will give you a permanent criminal record which can never be expunged, even Student Legal Service 333-9053 if you receive court supervision. http://www.odos.uiuc.edu/sls If I’m convicted, how long will I lose my license? You will lose your license for a minimum of one year on a first offense DUI (2 years if you were under the age of 21 at the time). Full driving DUI privileges are lost for a minimum of five years if a The information contained herein driver receives a second conviction for any of the is not intended as a substitute for following: DUI; leaving the scene of a personal legal advice. Students who are injury or fatal crash; reckless homicide, or any combination of these offenses in a 20-year period. confronted with legal problems or RISKS who need specific advice are and If a driver receives a third conviction for any of these offenses, regardless of the length of time encouraged to seek assistance RAMIFICATIONS between convictions, full driving privileges will be from a licensed attorney at lost for a minimum of 10 years. Student Legal Service. If a driver receives a fourth or subsequent conviction, his/her license will be revoked permanently. If my license is from out of state, can Illinois take away my driving privileges Images courtesy of: http://www.freedigitalphotos.net + http://www.usdoj.gov/dea if I’m convicted of a DUI here? http://www.freeefoto.com Yes. If you are convicted of a DUI in Illinois, your http://www.ace-clipart.com privilege to drive will be revoked by your home state. If you have an out of state driver’s license, Illinois will create an Illinois record for you within STUDENT LEGAL SERVICE STUDENT LEGAL SERVICE its own motor vehicle department and will note 324 Illini Union 324 Illini Union that your driving privileges are revoked. If you are Office Open: an Illinois resident and you are convicted of a DUI 8:30am-Noon, 1-4:30pm M-F Office Hours: 8:30-Noon & 1-4:30pm, M-F in another state, your Illinois driving privileges will http://www.odos.uiuc.edu/sls http://www.odos.uiuc.edu/sls be revoked by Illinois and the other state. PAID FOR BY S.O.R.F. PAID FOR BY S.O.R.F. substantially. You will be required to Driving Under the Influence Penalties for DUI carry high risk insurance which costs (DUI) an average of $1500.00 more per year If convicted of a DUI, you can expect the than regular insurance. You will be In Illinois, a person is considered to be following penalties: required to carry such insurance for a driving under the influence when: minimum three years. Loss of Driving Privileges for a minimum the driver has an alcohol concentration on of one year (2 years if under age 21) The cost of a DUI can be staggering the breath of .08 or higher because you will be forced to pay high Possibility of 0-364 days in jail fines, high court fees, you will have to the driver has an alcohol concentration on (Mandatory 5 days in jail or 30 pay for reinstatement of your license and the breath of less than .08 but the officer hours community service if it is a for alcohol evaluations and counseling, considers him to be incapable of safe driving second DUI conviction within a 5 and if you are not eligible for service from year period) the Student Legal Service, you will have the driver is under the influence of any drug to pay to hire an attorney. or combination of drugs that renders him Community Service of a minimum unfit to drive of 100 hours for a first offense Over time, the average cost of a DUI is estimated to be about $14,660.00 the driver is under the influence of any Fines from $0-$2,500.00 according to the Illinois Secretary of amount of cannabis or any other illegal drug State. A police officer must observe a legitimate traffic violation in order to stop a driver for a suspected Certain professions discriminate strongly DUI. This means the driver must commit some against those who have received a DUI, traffic offense which would allow the officer to pull including childhood education and the driver over (for example: speeding; running a aviation to name just two. red light; having a burned out headlight). Secondary Consequences of a DUI An officer must have probable cause to suspect that a driver has been drinking in order to ask the A person who submits to chemical breath driver to submit to field sobriety tests. Probable testing which reveals greater than .08 blood cause can be based on many circumstances but is usually satisfied by the officer smelling the odor of alcohol concentration receives an automatic alcohol on the driver and/or noticing the driver 3 month driving suspension. has slurred speech or bloodshot eyes. A person who refuses to submit to chemical Based on probable cause, the breath testing receives an automatic six- STUDENT LEGAL SERVICE officer may also request that the month driving suspension. 324 Illini Union driver submit to chemical breath Office Open: testing to reveal the presence of 8:30am-Noon, 1-4:30pm M-F After pleading guilty to a DUI, your car alcohol in the system. http://www.odos.uiuc.edu/sls insurance rates are certain to increase PAID FOR BY S.O.R.F.
Pages to are hidden for
"DUI"Please download to view full document