Person Liable for by 5C60ay

VIEWS: 27 PAGES: 2

									                                                   Person Liable for                                                                                                                                                                                     Failure to                    Collection                      Future Toll
    State       Statutory Citation                                                           Notice                                      Penalty                                 Evidence Standard                Failure to Respond                                                                                                                            Citation
                                                     Toll Evasion                                                                                                                                                                                       Pay Penalty                    Measures                     Collection Efforts
                                                                                                                  Civil Penalty. $100 for the first violation, $250 for a
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Collection with vehicle
                                                                                                                  second violation within one year, and $500 for each                                             Registered owner deemed liable                                                                   Bay Area Toll Authority seeking
                                                    Registered owner, driver,                                                                                                                                                                            Denial of vehicle      registration, civil judgment if
                   California Vehicle Code                                          Issuing agency or processing   additional violation within one year. "Toll evasion                                            for the violation by operation of                                                               legislation to: tow vehicles, and
                                                  rentee, or lessee of a vehicle                                                                                                                                                                         registration after     over $400 (execution against
                Division 17, Chapter 1, Article                                    agency shall forward violation    penalty” includes, but is not limited to, any late      Notice of toll evasion admissible   law, toll evasion penalty and any                                                                revoke driver's license of vehicle
  California      4, sections 40250-40273
                                                     cited for a toll evasion
                                                                                   notice to the registered owner       payment penalty, administrative fee, fine,                     with Affidavit              administrative fees or charges
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             separate           assets, liens against property,
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             owner. (see
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            http://dmv.ca.gov
                                                  violation shall be jointly and                                                                                                                                                                          administrative         wages garnished, and other
                            (2007)                                                     (method not specified)     assessment, and costs of collection as provided by                                               shall be considered a debt due                                                                 http://www.thenewspaper.com/
                                                   severally liable for penalty                                                                                                                                                                              process;              actions may be taken),
                                                                                                                   law. Additional payments assessed for delinquent                                                           and owing                                                                                  news/21/2167.asp)
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                Collection Agency provisions
                                                                                                                                   toll evasion violation.




                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Reistered owner waives right to
                                                                                                                                                                                                                    hearing and a final order of
                43-4-506.5. Traffic laws - toll    Registered owner or vehicle     First class mail or by another   Not less than $10 or more than $250 in addition to                                            liability in default against the
  Colorado               collection                         operator                          equivilant                        any cost imposed by a court
                                                                                                                                                                                 Photo enforcement system
                                                                                                                                                                                                                 registered owner of the vehicle
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Registration hold
                                                                                                                                                                                                                     may be entered. Vehicle
                                                                                                                                                                                                                      registration then held.




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Any operator who refuses to
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   pay, or who evades or
                                                                                                                     Fine of note less than $24 nor more than $100, or                                                                                                          attempts to evade payment
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Payment of one toll, a
                                                                                                                    imprisonment for not less than 10 nor more than 30                                                                                                           of the Delaware Turnpike,
                21 Del. C. section 4127, 4129                                                                                                                                                                                                            $25 administrative
  Delaware                and 1320c
                                                   A person, owner, operator                                         days, or both. Enhanced civil enforcement includes          Photo enforcement system
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        fee, and civil penalty
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 may be arrested without a
                                                                                                                     fees and penalties for violations exceeding $1,000                                                                                                          warrant. The fine for such
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         of $25 per violation
                                                                                                                        and potential seizure of vehicle on-the-spot.                                                                                                          offense shall be not less than
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               $10 and not more than $100
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    in addition to costs.



                                                                                                                   (1) Within 30 days, $25 plus unpaid toll. (2) After
                                                                                                                  30 days, but not more than 75 days from the issue
                                                                                                                                                                              written report of a toll
                                                      Owner, unless owner       First class mail, or by certified date, range of $155.50-$176.50 civil penalty, three
                                                                                                                                                                        enforcement officer to photograph
                                                  establishes motor vehicle was mail, return receipt requested points assessed against driver's license, assessment                                                                                                                                                                                    www.sunpass.com/violatio
   Florida            Statute 316.1001
                                                   under the "care, custody or  within 14 days after the date       of court costs, suspension of vehicle registration
                                                                                                                                                                             of violation establishes a                     see penalty                     see penalty
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          nscustomers.cfm
                                                                                                                                                                            rebuttable presumption of
                                                    control of another person"    of issuance of the violation    and/or suspension of driver's license. (3) If request
                                                                                                                                                                                      violation
                                                                                                                    a hearing, and found guilty, fine may not exceed
                                                                                                                                        $500.00.




                                                                                                                     First notice, unpaid toll + $25/violation. 2nd/3rd                                           May seek collection as deemed
                                                  Registered owner (60 days to
                                                                                                                    notice for non-payment not specified. Limit of civil                                          appropriate. Registration hold                                   May seek collection as                                              http://www.georgiatolls.com/toll_v
   Georgia            Statute 32-10-64             prove that registered owner              Not specified
                                                                                                                     penalties is unpaid toll + administrative fee + civil
                                                                                                                                                                                       Not specified
                                                                                                                                                                                                                 permited if civil penalty not paid
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            see penalty
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   deemed appropriate.                                                       iolations.aspx#vmailtoll
                                                       was not the driver
                                                                                                                                   penalty of $70/violation                                                              within 30 days.




                                                                                                                      Upon 4th violation, subject has 30 days to pay,
    Maine                                                                                                                      appeal or request hearing.
                                                                                                                                                                                 Photo enforcement system           Suspension of registration



                                                                                   Citation sent no later than 60                                                                                                Motor Vehicles may not register
                                                                                                                       If owner fails to pay within 60 days, The
                                                                                       days after the alleged                                                                                                    or transfer any vehicle involved
                                                                                                                   Transportation Authority may collect the toll, civil
                MD Transportation Code Ann.                                           violation to each person                                                                                                   in a failure to pay toll violation;     same as failure to
  Maryland         Section 21-1414(b)(1)
                                                   Registered owner of vehicle
                                                                                   alleged to be liable. Total of
                                                                                                                     penalty and administrative expenses may be                  Photo enforcement system
                                                                                                                                                                                                                   may suspend registration if               respond
                                                                                                                  imposed by civil action in district court, or notify the
                                                                                    three notices- 1st requires                                                                                                    chronic offender (3 or more
                                                                                                                   Department of Motor Vehicles of the failure to pay
                                                                                   payment of toll due- 2nd toll                                                                                                     separate violations); may
                                                                                    plus administrative fee- 3rd                                                                                                   suspend or revoke account


                                                                                                                       Failure to response within 60 days, additional
                    ALM Spec L ch. S73,                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Civil or Criminal
                                                                                                                     penalty of $40, and notification to Department of                                             Civil or Criminal Action plus
Massachusetts     Miscellaneous; 730 CMR                Registered Owner                    Notice sent
                                                                                                                     Motor Vehicles for non-renewal of owner's license
                                                                                                                                                                                 Photo enforcement system
                                                                                                                                                                                                                          additional costs
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Action plus additional
                           7.04(5)                                                                                                                                                                                                                              costs
                                                                                                                                      and registration




                                                                                                                     Driving privileges, registration, resident plates, or
                                                                                                                        motor vehicle registration privileges may be
                                                                                                                    suspended. Administrative Fines not exceeding: 1st
                                                                                      Notification in writing to    offense, $250; 2nd offense within 12 month period,
New Hampshire       RSA 236:31, 263:56(f)               Registered Owner
                                                                                      owner by first class mail     $500; 3rd or subsequent within a 12 month period,
                                                                                                                                                                                 Photo enforcement system
                                                                                                                      $1,000. (NOTE: If Department takes suspension
                                                                                                                    action; owner must pay $100 for license restoration
                                                                                                                      and $25 for each vehicle registration restored.)




                                                                                                                                                                        Page 1                                                                                                                                                                                    Toll Enforcement Schemes
                                                   Person Liable for                                                                                                                                                                                       Failure to                    Collection                    Future Toll
    State         Statutory Citation                                                           Notice                                       Penalty                                Evidence Standard                  Failure to Respond                                                                                                       Citation
                                                     Toll Evasion                                                                                                                                                                                         Pay Penalty                    Measures                   Collection Efforts

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             Suspension or
                                                                                                                        Civil Penalty. An amount not to exceed $500; or
                                                                                        Regular Mail, address on                                                                toll collection monitoring system/                                            revocation of
 New Jersey       N.J. Stat. Section 27-23-34.2               Owner
                                                                                                record
                                                                                                                        imprisonment not exceeding 30 days or by both.
                                                                                                                                                                                             photograph
                                                                                                                                                                                                                           Liable after 30 days
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            registration and
                                                                                                                              May include cost of administrative fee.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           license certificate


                                                                                                                        1st violation- not to exceed $50 or two times the
                                                                                                                        toll evaded whichever is greater. 2nd violation- (if                                         If no response after five or more
                 NY CLS Pub A Section 2985 (5);     Owner liable for failure of                                        within 18 months of the first) penalty not to exceed                                             noticed mailed within an 18
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           same as failure to
  New York        see also NY CLS Unconsol Ch      operator to comply with toll                                          $100 or five times the toll evaded, whichever is          Photo enforcement system                month period, vehicle
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               respond
                        157 Section 16-c              collection regulation                                             greater. 3rd violation (if within 18 months) not to                                          registration and operator license
                                                                                                                       exceed $150 or ten times the toll evaded, whichever                                              suspension may be imposed
                                                                                                                                             is greater
                                                                                                                        At 3rd Notice Date: Tolls +$6 (from 1st notice) +                                                                                                                                                                www.paturnpike.com/ezpa
North Carolina                                     Registered owner of vehicle               First class mail
                                                                                                                       $25 (fine) ($25 is restricted to once every 6 months)
                                                                                                                                                                                   Photo enforcement system                  Not civil offense                see penalty            Collections/Adjudication
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               ss/VES.htm

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Oklahoma Turnpike Authority
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     may: (1) file itemization of
                                                                                                                       1st violation- $25; 2nd violation within 18 months of                                                                                                       unpaid toll evasion penalties
                                                                                        Registered mail to each
                                                                                                                        first, $50; and third or subsequent violation within                                                                                                           and fees with the Tax
  Oklahoma       47 Okl. St. section 11-1401.2                Owner                   person alleges to be liable as
                                                                                                                        18 months of the first, $75. Suspension of vehicle
                                                                                                                                                                                   Photo enforcement system
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Commission for collection at
                                                                                                an owner
                                                                                                                                             registration.                                                                                                                               the time of vehicle
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    registration, or (2) contract
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      with a collection agency

                                                                                                                          1st notice- Toll due (lost ticket fare) plus $25.00
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Two collection agencies (1st
                                                                                                                         admin fee. 2nd (final notice) Toll due plus $40.00
                   Electronic Toll Collection                                                                                                                                   Photo of license plate with name                                                                     & 2nd placement) under                              www.paturnpike.com/ezpa
Pennsylvania       Legislation 36P.S.652p.1
                                                   Registered owner of vehicle               First class mail             admin fee. Payment due within 30 days for each
                                                                                                                                                                                 and address of registered plate
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                see penalty                   see penalty
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   provisions of contract under                                ss/VES.htm
                                                                                                                             notice. If not paid after 2nd notice, sent to
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       PA Attorney General
                                                                                                                                              collections.
                                                                                                                            payment of toll (not more than $10 for first
                                                                                                                         violation; not more than $25 for each subsequent
                                                  Owner and Operator is jointly
                                                                                       Type of notice mailed is        violation) plus administrative and court expense, not                                          Additional Civil Penalty not to
                  S.C. Code Ann Section 56-3-     and severally liable to pay toll,
South Carolina               1335                  administrative fees and civil
                                                                                      dependent upon number of                to exceed $25 dollars per each violation.            Photo enforcement system            exceed $50 dollars for each
                                                                                           prior violations                Department may suspend vehicle registration.                                                          violation
                                                             penalty
                                                                                                                          (NOTE: Department charge reinstatement fee of
                                                                                                                                                 $50).
                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Department may impose and
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Failure to pay toll or
                  Transportation Code section     Operator who drives or tows                                                                                                                                          collect toll and administrative
    Texas                  228.054                        the vehicle
                                                                                                                              Misdemeanor; fine not to exceed $250                 Photo enforcement system
                                                                                                                                                                                                                      fee, not to exceed $100. (each
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         administrative fee is a
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            separate offense
                                                                                                                                                                                                                        violation taken separately)

                                                                                                                        1st offense, $50; 2nd offense, $250; 3rd offense
                                                                                                                                                                                                                      Suspension of all registration
                                                                                                                        within a period of two years of the second, $500;
                  Va. Code Ann section 33.1-                                                                                                                                                                          and license plates issues for        same as failure to
   Virginia                 56.3
                                                   Driver or Registered Owner                                          and fourth offense and subsequent offense within a          Photo enforcement system
                                                                                                                                                                                                                      vehicles solely registered by            respond
                                                                                                                       period of three years of the second offense, $1,000
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 violator
                                                                                                                               together with an administrative fee




                                                                                                                                                                          Page 2                                                                                                                                                                Toll Enforcement Schemes

								
To top