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Measuring

Return on Investment

in International

Student Recruitment





Cheryl Darrup-Boychuck

Owner and Chief International Education Officer

USjournal.com, LLC

cheryl@USjournal.com









Innovative Educators Webinar, 6 May 2009

Brief History of International

Student Recruitment

Then: No need for metrics

How can you possibly measure the value of international

students on campus, with dollar signs?



Now: Show me the numbers

Deans of Admission have morphed into

Vice Presidents of Enrollment Management



Soon: More “stealth applicants”

Increasingly, your first contact with a prospective student is

their online application.







Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

“International Enrollment

Management”

Nurture Connections with

• Domestic Admissions

• Particular Academic Departments

• Alumni and Development Office

• Current International Students

• Senior International Officers





Identify Recruitment Strategy

• Target particular countries and language markets

• Incentives for countries not currently represented





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

“International Enrollment

Management”

Resource Management

• Manage limited resources

• Define metrics and collect data

• Analyze the costs and benefits of specific initiatives

• Measure Return on Investment





Deliberate and Intentional Approach

• Integrated effort to maximize impact









Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

1st Poll:

Gauging Current Climate

At what stage do you consider your

campus, with regard to ROI?

• Advanced (We’ve defined our metrics; we just

want to see what peer institutions are doing.)

• Medium (We measure a few initiatives, but have

no coordinated plan to evaluate the results.)

• Elementary (We’re struggling with where to

begin measuring Return on Investment.)







Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

External Factors Shaping

International Education

Growth Industry

• By 2025, demand will double to 200 million seats

in global higher education

• Growth in emerging economies

• Proliferation of alternative structures

• Higher Education = Globally-traded Commodity

• Price competition will intensify









Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Studying ROI:

Corporate World vs Higher Education

Initial Investment vs Subsequent Profits



Recruiting Expenses vs Profits, where

Profits = Tuition

– Cost of Instruction

+ Expected Donations



Flaw: Tuition < Cost of Instruction,

so Profits are usually negative



Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Studying ROI:

Corporate World vs Higher Education

Business World

Feedback from market forces



Non-Profit Organizations

Driven by missions, not markets



“Delivering on the Promise of Non-Profits”

Harvard Business Review, December 2008





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Reasons for Reluctance

• Inertia; it’s never been done

• Fear of revealing weaknesses

• Intense focus on immediate results,

without regard to the future

• “International” marketing is de-

centralized on many campuses

• Differences with domestic

recruitment



Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Why Measure ROI?

• Justify expenses



• Compete with domestic

admissions



• Compare results with peer

institutions





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

ROI in its Simplest Form

-- Cost of Recruitment

+ Tuition and Fees Generated

-----------------------------------------

Return on Investment

Online Promotions:

Targeting Specific Populations

Model ESL Program

-- Cost of Advertising -- $ 1,195 / year

+ Student(s) Tuition + $ 2,850 / 10-wk session

+ Student(s) Fees + $ 465 Student Fees

------------------------------ ----------------------------------

Return on Investment $ 2,120 = 1st student



$ 15,380 = 5 students



$ 31,955 = 10 students





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Marketing Cost per Student

MCPS = Emt / St

Emt = Total marketing expense in

time period “t”



St = Total students enrolled in

time period “t”





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Marketing Cost per Student:

Online Promotion

MCPS = Emt / St

Emt = $1,195 for an annual campaign



St = 10 students enrolled



MCPS = $119.50 per student





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Marketing Cost per Student

Initiative MCPS

Online Promotion $119.50









Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Engaging Agents: Initial costs

must be greater than zero

-- Cost of Developing a Relationship

-- Commissions Paid

+ Student(s) Tuition

+ Student(s) Fees

--------------------------------------------------------

Return on Investment



Skipping the relationship part

may result in very negative consequences.



Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Marketing Cost per Student:

Engaging Agents

MCPS = Emt / St

Emt = $13,800 over four years



St = 4 students enrolled



MCPS = $3,450 per student / 4 years





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Marketing Cost per Student

Initiative MCPS

Online Promotion $ 119.50

Agent $ 862.50









Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Marketing Cost per Student:

Domestic Travel

MCPS = Emt / St

Emt = $1,200 in one year



St = 20 students enrolled



MCPS = $60 per student





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Marketing Cost per Student

Initiative MCPS

Online Promotion $ 119.50

Agent $ 862.50

Domestic Travel $ 60.00









Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Marketing Cost per Student

$1,000.00

$862.50

$900.00

$800.00

$700.00

$600.00

$500.00

$400.00

$300.00

$200.00

$119.50 $60.00

$100.00

$0.00

Online Promotion Agents Domestic Travel









Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Marketing Cost per Student

and Revenue per Student

$8,510.00

$9,000.00

$7,089.00

$8,000.00

$7,000.00

$6,000.00

$5,000.00

$3,195.50

$4,000.00

$3,000.00

$862.50

$2,000.00 $60.00

$119.50

$1,000.00

$0.00

Online Promotion Agents Domestic Travel



MCPS Revenue per Student





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Cost to Recruit one International

Student vs one Domestic Student

MCPSi = Emt / St

MCPSd = Emt / St

Emt = Total marketing expense in

time period “t”

St = Total students enrolled in

time period “t”



Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Cost to Recruit one International

Student vs one Domestic Student









10%

Measuring ROI by Student Type









Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

2008 NACAC

Admission Trends Survey

Average cost per enrolled student,

based on domestic recruitment





$2,895 = Private institutions

$2,366 = Overall average

$1,002 = Public institutions

Domestic Admissions Yield



Cost



Applicant $ 578.



Admitted $ 836.



Enrolled $2,366.



Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

“Stealth” Applicants

Students applying without prior

contact

Introduced into database as

“applicant”

Traditional enrollment funnel

dissolving

Accept lack of complete control of

your institutional message

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Online Inquiries

and the Impact on ROI

The Digital Divide

2009 World Population = 6.7 billion

24%



People without Internet

Connectivity





People with Internet

Connectivity

76%

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Targeted Online Campaigns

By Geography

Within a 20-mile radius of any metro area



By Key Words and Key Phrases

In targeted languages



By Device Manufacturers and Capabilities

Only target iPhones, for example







Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Sample of Key Phrases for

Google Pay-per-Click









Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Results in Italian for

Google Pay-per-Click

Sample of Statistics:

Google Pay-per-Click









Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Cost per Lead

CPL = TAC / TLG

$3.25 = $101 / 31 leads



CPL = Cost per Lead



TAC = Total Advertising Cost



TLG = Total Leads Generated



Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

2nd Poll:

Precision Marketing Techniques

What types of campaigns are you using

to generate initial inquiries?

• Pay-per-Click Campaigns (primarily hosted by

major search engines)

• Mobile Marketing (via handheld devices)

• Directory-type Ads (StudyUSA, Hobsons,

USjournal.com, others)

• We don’t pay for leads (Students just find us

organically online, or by word-of-mouth.)



Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Precision Marketing Factors

• Internal Analysis

• Domestic Admissions’ ROI Equations

• Academic Strengths

• Availability of Scholarships for Diversity

• Economic Realities

• Online Language Populations



Next Step:

• Study the habits of target demographic





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Know Thyself

S.W.O.T. Analysis

• Strengths

• Weaknesses

• Opportunities

• Threats



Clearly Define Objectives

• By citizenship or by geography

• By language market

• By academic program





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Economic Realities

Government-Sponsored Scholarships

• Iraq (500 students this year, eventually 10,000)

• http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/22/world/middleeast/22kurds.html





• United Arab Emirates

• Abu Dhabi Investment Authority

• rbm.sc@adia.ae





• Malaysia

• Public Service Department

• http://www.jpa.gov.my/





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Precision Marketing | Chair: cheryl@USjournal.com

Mobile Marketing

• 4.1 billion mobile subscriptions worldwide

• Up from one billion in 2002

• Europe

• Subscriptions exceed population by 11%

• Developed World

• Shared devices

• More than 90% of the global population

now has access to mobile phone technology

• How does your .edu domain look on the

small screen?



Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Full Screen Version

USjournal.com

USAcademics.com

Case Study

Mobile Marketing in Indonesia

• Landing Page: USAcademics.com

• Campaign ran from 26 Feb to 7 Mar 2009 (10 days)

• Apple, Blackberry, Nokia, Palm Devices

• 4,244,567 impressions

• 10,152 clicks (0.24% click-through rate)

• 4 cents per click = $406.08

• 148 actual inquiries

• $406.08 / 148 = $2.74 per lead









Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

In the rush to measure…

… any figures will do.



Cost of annual campaign = $6,696.

Number of inquiries = 933

So, $6,696 / 933 = $7.18 per inquiry ?



Not accurate.



Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Various CPL Models

One company (based in India) charges

$20 / qualified lead



How do you define “qualified”?



Pre-paid postage example







Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Outbound vs Inbound

Marketing

Outbound Inbound

• Cold Calling • Social Media

• Unsolicited eMail • Blogging

• Junk Mail • Search Engine

• T.V. Advertising Placements





Inbound Marketers =

61% lower cost-per-lead (CPL)

Smart Power

Hard Power

+ Soft Power

• Use data as political currency

• Simplify the argument

• Create catchy visual representations









Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Quantifiable Data

Related to Return on Investment

• Retention Rate



• Churn Rate



• New Student Gains



• Student Losses





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Market Growth

Gm = SI / SL

Gm = % market Growth



SI = Student increase this year



SL = Student increase last year





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Revenue Contribution

Rmi = Ri / ΣRt

Rmi = Revenue contribution for “i”



Ri = Revenue from segment “i”



ΣRt = Revenue from all segments





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Broader ROI Metrics,

based on audience considerations

Australia’s Access Economics

International Student Contributions

• $1 spent = $1.91 into economy

• 120,000 jobs in 2007-08

• $13.7 billion in 2007-08



Learning Boom Amid Economic Gloom

The Australian, 1 April 2009





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Comparative Exercises

Applicants from Campaign A

versus

Applicants from Campaign B





Appropriate for Extenuating Circumstances

• Student Visa Variables

• Severe Currency Fluctuations





Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Quantifiably Elusive Factors

in our simplistic ROI Equations

• The Prestige Factor / Name Recognition

• Word-of-Mouth Referrals

• Diversity Factors

• Follow-up Mechanisms

• Staff Time

• Foreign-born Faculty Members (+,--)

• Cost of educating that student

Murketing, rather than Marketing



Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Complexity Theory

1. Large numbers of interacting elements

2. Minor changes can produce

disproportionately major consequences

3. The whole is greater than the sum of its

parts; solutions cannot be imposed

4. Evolution is irreversible

5. Hindsight does not lead to foresight









Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Multivariate Likelihood Function

to Predict Customer Behavior









Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Defining the Investments

that are designed to yield students

• Travel (Domestic and Overseas)

• Agents / Commission-based Options

• Online / Print Promotions

• Purchasing Mailing Lists (≈30¢ / name)

• Financial Aid / Scholarships

• Staff Focus on Current Students / Alum

• Special Scenarios / Emerging Markets

• Long-term Prospects



Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | cheryl@USjournal.com

Internationalisering in het HO 72

Internationalisering in het HO 73

Internationalisering in het HO 74

Internationalisering in het HO 75

Internationalisering in het HO 76

Internationalisering in het HO 77

Internationalisering in het HO 78

Internationalisering in het HO 79

Internationalisering in het HO 80

Internationalisering in het HO 81

Internationalisering in het HO 82

Next Steps

• Collaborate with Domestic Admissions

 Define consistent parameters

• Recognize the complexity of

international student recruitment, along

with its quantifiably elusive factors

• Compare initial investment with

revenue generated from that initiative

• MCPS = Emt / St

• CPL = TAC / TLG



Innovative Educators Webinar, 6 May 2009

Better ROI Metrics

• Decide which metrics are

appropriate, and include specific

parameters for each

• Establish long-term policies for

tracking and reporting

• Always be prepared to present your

data, but insist on annual meetings

with those who hold the purse

strings

Measuring

Return on Investment

in International

Student Recruitment





Cheryl Darrup-Boychuck

Chief International Education Officer

USjournal.com, LLC

cheryl@USjournal.com









Innovative Educators Webinar, 6 May 2009


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