The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World - PowerPoint

Document Sample
The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World - PowerPoint Powered By Docstoc
					The Seven Wonders of the
     Ancient World
The Great Pyramid of Giza
    (Khufu’s Pyramid)

      2500 BC Approximate - Egyptians
• It would have taken over 2,300,000 blocks of
    stone with an average weight of 2.5 tons each.
    The total weight would have been 6,000,000
    tons and a height of 482 feet (140m).
•   It is the largest and the oldest of the Pyramids
    of Giza. It supposedly took 100,000 people
    working over a twenty year period to construct.
    Though originally thought to be a tomb –
•    No sarcophagi have ever been found - nor an
    inscriptions other than those added in recent
    centuries - not by the pyramid builders.
Hanging Gardens of Babylon

       600 BC - Babylonians – Destroyed by Earthquake
The Hanging Gardens of Babylon (also known as the
Hanging Gardens of Semiramis) and the walls of Babylon
(present-day Iraq) were considered one of the Seven
Wonders of the World. They were both supposedly built by
Nebuchadnezzar II around 600 BC . According to accounts,
the gardens were built to cheer up Nebuchadnezzar's
homesick wife, Amyitis.
She was married to Nebuchadnezzar to create an alliance
between the nations. The land she came from, though,
was green, rugged and mountainous, and she found the
flat, sun-baked terrain of the Mesopotamia (a region of
southwest Asia) depressing. The king decided to recreate
her homeland by building an artificial mountain with
rooftop gardens.
Temple of Artemis at Ephesus

     550 BC - Anatolians – Destroyed by in Fire 356 BC
• The Temple of Artemis (Greek: Artemision;
  Latin: Artemisium), also known as the Temple of
  Diana, was a Greek temple dedicated to Artemis
  completed around 550 BC at Ephesus (in
  present-day Turkey) under the Achaemenid
  dynasty of the Persian Empire. Nothing remains
  of the original temple, which was considered one
  of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.
Statue of Zeus at Olympia

                        435 BC - Greeks
                         Destroyed by
• It was carved by the famed Classical sculptor
  Phidias (5th century BC) circa 435 BC in
  Olympia, Greece. The seated statue occupied
  the whole width of the aisle of the temple that
  was built to house it. Zeus was carved from
  ivory then covered with gold plating and was
  seated on a magnificent throne of cedarwood,
  inlaid with ivory, gold, ebony, and precious
Mausoleum at Halicarnassus

     315 BC - Hellenized Carians - Destroyed by Earthquake
• The Mausoleum of Maussollos, or Mausoleum of
  Halicarnassus was a tomb built between 353-
  350 BC at Halicarnassus (present Bodrum,
  Turkey), for Mausolus a provincial king in the
  Persian Empire, and Artemisia, his wife and
  sister. The structure was approximately 45-
  metres (135 feet) in height, and each of the four
  sides was adorned by a frieze created by one of
  four famous Greek sculptors.
Colossus of Rhodes

                      292-280 BC - Hellenistic
                     Civilization – Destroyed in
                       224 BC by Earthquake
Pharos Lighthouse at Alexandria

   3rd Century BC - Hellenistic Civilization – Destroyed by Earthquake
• The Pharos of Alexandria was a lighthouse
 built in the 3rd century BC on the island of
 Pharos in Alexandria, Egypt to serve as that
 port's landmark, and later, a lighthouse. At its
 apex was positioned a mirror which reflected
 sunlight during the day; a fire was lit at night.
 Extant Roman coins struck by the Alexandrian
 mint show that a statue of a triton was
 positioned on each of the building's four corners.
 A statue of Poseidon stood atop the tower
 during the Roman period.
Modern Seven Wonders (Nat. Geo)

                              Christ, the Redeemer
                              Rio de Janeiro

    The Great Wall of China
         The Colisseum
         Rome, Italy

               Machu Picchu

Chichen Itza
Taj Mahal
Agra, India
CNN Destinations: The Seven Wonders.2 October 2007.
National Geographic: The Seven Modern Wonders. 2 October

Shared By: